We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful anniversary thanks to the Radisson Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
Ranked #42 of 201 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

You could start by not incorrectly attempting to charge us for parking when we initially arrived when we had clearly paid for a romantic package which included parking. Next, we arrived at 4:00 pm and the room that we were suppose to have was NOT ready, and instead of telling us, you put us in a room of lesser value hoping that we would not know the difference. In addition, none of the "romantic package" items were in the lesser valued room that we were placed in. When we notified the hotel, we had to then waste an additional hour of our time waiting on them to address the issue. Then once we were taken to our proper room, which was a king suite, the room had a standard mattress instead of a sleep number mattress when it states clearly on the website that "all suites would have a sleep number bed". Also, the package advertises a "chocolate amenity" which only included 4 small pieces of chocolate. Let me add that this was our wedding anniversary weekend, and we drove from Fort Hood, Tx to Austin in order to enjoy a nice get away, that was ruined due to our Radisson Hotel experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels
Thank Charles J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Charles J,

Thank you for sharing your experience. It will help us to ensure that future guests have a better experience. We're very sorry that the inconveniences you faced at our hotel negatively impacted your wedding anniversary.

If you would like to further discuss your stay, please do not hesitate to contact hotel management.

Radisson Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,118)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,537 - 1,543 of 2,118 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

Horrible experience and no one did anything. Reserved a lake front room and they gave me a parking lot view. Someone came in the room with a key while my wife was in bed and I was at the work our room. I told the management and they did nothing, the rooms need updating and the bed was terrible.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels
Thank Jerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Jerry P,

Thank you for your review. We're very sorry for the unpleasant experience that you had at our hotel, particularly the intrusion on your privacy. Please do not hesitate to contact hotel management if you would like to further discuss your stay.

Radisson Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Nice hotel with good views of the water if your lucky enough to get a view, pool, starbucks and great happy hour. I stayed in the older tower of the hotel (there are two towers) my co-worker stayed in the newer tower where the rooms are newer. Next time that's where I'll stay, Austin is a great town and I'll return for sure.

Room Tip: Choose the tower on the right as you walk in...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Rob C,

Thanks so much for your 5 star review! We're happy that you enjoyed your experience at our hotel and that you plan to return. We'll save you a lake view!

Happy travels,
Radisson Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I loved the smell of the lobby (mesquite fire)! All the staff, to include front desk, concierge, cleaning and valet staff were very helpful and they always responded with a smile. The bed was very comfortable. The location was perfect! Easy to walk to anything downtown and a beautiful Lady Bird Lake view.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels
1  Thank Kristin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maegan H, S at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Kristin S,

Thanks for your review - nothing puts a smile on our face like a great review of our staff! We're happy they exemplified our genuine Texas hospitality. You're welcome to sit by our fire anytime.

Happy travels until next time,
Radisson Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

This hotel is perfectly located next to the lake. Downtown is within easy walking distance to clubs, restaurants, museums. A great place to relax or to enjoy all the many fun activities available in Austin.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

LisaC937,

We're happy to hear we offered you the "perfect location!" Thanks for your review.

Radisson Austin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Pleased to stay in Radisson. It was walking distance to conference I attended. It is close to Colorado river and bridge settled by amazing bats. So many restaurants and activities nearby. Nice customer service. I stayed in Radisson before. Thanks.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Radisson Hotels
1  Thank Fakhriddin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Fakhriddin P,

Thank you for your review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed our customer service and that our location was convenient for you. We hope you'll stay with us again in the future.

Happy travels,
Radisson Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The room was clean but outdated. However the a/c was broken in our room and the temp wouldn't go below 72. I called and asked to have some one come look at it while we were out, but they never came to fix it. I finally called and had them bring me a fan, and they brought a dirty busted box fan. The parking is really expensive $25!
Definitely not worth the money $300 price tag they charged.
However, their bar/restaurant was AWESOME!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank mae v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maegan H, Social Media Account Manager at Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Mae V,

Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please accept our apologies for the broken A/C in your room that would not allow temperatures colder than 72 degrees.

We're sorry that you did not consider our hotel to be a good value. Our rooms rates, as well as our parking rates of $25 a night valet and $18 self-park, are quite competitive for the Downtown Austin area.

We're pleased that you enjoyed chavez restaurant and lounge.

Radisson Austin Downtown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Austin Downtown
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#16 of 201 in Austin
2,146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Austin Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.2 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#18 of 201 in Austin
1,206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Austin
Hilton Austin
#27 of 201 in Austin
1,712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown

Address: 111 E Cesar Chavez St, Austin, TX 78701-4001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Austin
#59 Family Hotel in Austin
Price Range: £146 - £428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 413
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel And Suites Austin Downtown
Radisson Hotel Austin Town Lake
Radisson Austin
Austin Radisson
Radisson Hotel & Suites Austin Downtown Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing