We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly Awful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodeway Inn University / Downtown
Ranked #175 of 199 Hotels in Austin
Leeds
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Truly Awful”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights after staying in Austin for a week elsewhere then driving around Texas for a few nights. It was quite cheap (80 dollars a night) but i m sure I could find a lot better for less. I am in no way fussy & look at a hotel as just somewhere to sleep & shower but this hotel disgusted me. The sink was really rusty and black dirt came out of the taps in the bath. Don't get me started on the pool it was right next to a very busy interstate, felt like we were sat in the middle of the road & it wasn't fit for purpose as it hadn't been cleaned for months. We stayed in a super 8 & a days inn before this & this place made them look like the hilton. Take my advice & look for somewhere else

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    7
    12
    9
    41
See reviews for
11
11
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

While I did not actually stay at the hotel, I was treated very rudely by a man that claimed to be the owner. I got a flat tire and pulled into the parking lot to get off of the highway access road. A woman came out of the office and told me that I had to move my car off of the property. I asked for her to be a good samaritan and give me 15 minutes to change the tire. She went back to the office and sent a man out who told me that I was trespassing and needed to leave his property. He said that he was the owner but would not give his name. He threatened to have me towed. I said that I would call the police and he said that I would be charged with trespassing. Not knowing the law, I left the property, driving on a dangerously deflating tire.
As a stranded traveler seeking assistance, and/or understanding, I was shocked by the rudeness that the owner of a hospitality based business would display to another human being. I will not patronize this business and have filed complaints with the BBB and the Choice Hotels Corporate office.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gingerale36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Manager and Staff are rude, rooms are dirty! If you need to stay in this vicinity stay at the Days Inn next door!

Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank baw6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 March 2011

It was just a place to lay our heads for the night and we didn't really stay in the room but from the initial looks of the place we had our doubts. Our friends bed had a used tissue in it and when we requested new linens the room they were stored in was outside and dirty as all HE**!!! I would pay the extra money and stay somewhere nicer next time. Didn't see any roaches but wasn't doubting they were there.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crytle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 February 2011

First I had an issue with checking in, my parents (who were not with me but were paying) had to fax over their credit card information and drivers license which was a pain. Who still faxes things when there is email? Next they did not have service enough to bring me toothpaste but rather they made me go to the front desk and get it. When I asked them for a trash bag they told me they would bring it up. 30 minutes later I walked down and got it myself because they didn't bring it up. Their iron ripped a brand new dress shirt and when I asked for a new iron, it once again took me walking down two times, once to request it and when they didn't bring it up once again to remind them. Overall a very poor hotel with poor service. I would not stay here ever again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelReview31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warner Robins, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Conveniently locate to DKR but not worth the accomidations. Reserved with travelforecaster.com they charged 20.00 but reserved the incorrect month. So of course the price for the room was double...120.00 a night due to game weekend. If it wasn't for the fact that we were tailgating and didn't stay in our room at all I would have declined to stay there. A bit smelly, bathroom light/fan sounded like it was taking off, toilet loud, pillows yuck.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iyrae00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SA
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2010

Checked in for AI audtions because it was walking distance from Frank ErwIn Center. HUGE MISTAKE! HUGE! Crickets everywhere, hair on bed, roaches everywhere. Staff was rude and lied. They stole money that was in room , when I went back for it they said they did not have it Their storys were conflicting.....Manager/Owner was the worst ever! His wife/partner is 2nd in line ! Lies Lie! Lies! They took what was not theirs. Placed police report. DO NOT STAY AT THIS FILTHY GOD AWFUL PLACE. IT IS NOT WORTH IT! They are scum on scum!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LZAPATA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
East Austin
DoubleTree by Hilton Austin - University Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University of Texas
Days Inn Austin/University/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn University / Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn University / Downtown

Property: Rodeway Inn University / Downtown
Address: 2900 North I-35, Austin, TX 78705-3404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 199 Hotels in Austin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rodeway Inn University / Downtown 1.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn University / Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn University / Downtown Hotel Austin
Rodeway Inn University / Downtown Austin, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing