We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good services, carpet so so”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn University / Downtown
Ranked #174 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Reviewed 19 April 2013

This hotel have many advantages:
1) Good situation (downtown 10 minutes), safe place
2) Big room, very confortable beds
3) Excellent price
4) Microwate, fridge, iron
5) Pool
6) Minimun breakfast (milk, coffe, juice, cereals and two kind of cake)
7) Bathroom: OK
8) TV OK

Disadvantages:
Only one: the carpet smells very very bad. The room smells smoke. In fact, I had to open de windows all the day to have a cleaner air.

In my experience, the proximity of the highway is not a problem if you close the windows (other travelers said that this was the main problem; for me, it is no so noise place)

Room Tip: If you smoke, this is your perfect place as well as if you do not mind it smells not very well. It h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jc C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 March 2013

The motel is situated just next to the very busy highway so it was quite noisy during the night. The rooms are facing the road. Our room was clean, but modest and smaller than in other standard american motels. The breakfast was quite poor: just coffee/ orange juice and a couple of muffins. There were just 2 tables to sit and take a coffee for the all motel's guests. It's true it's not very far from downtown.

Room Tip: All the rooms are facing the highway so they are quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karolina99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

It's old. It's clean enough. The prices are low enough. The parking was limited.
Skip the free "Continental breakfast" and go to the little café one block north on the East side of I-35. Austin is still weird!
Yeah, watch out for parking where you are not welcome. Towing is always rampant in crowded towns with lots of out of town visitors.
In town for the F1 race. Staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Most rooms face the freeway. You might try the ones on the South side, but I have actual experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Worst Hotel I have ever stayed at, I booked a standard queen double online, was told at check in, I booked a single, ummm no I booked a double why would I book a single for me and my daughter, I asked is it a king was told no it was a full, I'm like really WTF, anyway I was tired it was late, go in the room and Oh My God it was horrible, big [--] dead roach on the floor was the first thing I noticed, second thing I noticed was a musty smell in the room, do not take your shoes off in room uless you want the bottom of your feet or socks to get dirty.
This place is a DUMP, the picture they use must be 20 years old when the place was new, because it does not look like this. Mattress looks like something they found on side of the road, and it is the cheapest mattress made, the springs pop and make noise with every movement. I booked 2 nights, but I left after the first night, as I said before this place is a DUMP!!! I could not wait to get home to scrub the dirt off me that was picked up from this crap-hole of a hotel.
And the traffic noise from I-35 will be heard all night long, I wouldn't put my Mother-In-Law up in this motel hell.
Do yourself a favor and shell out a few more bucks for a decent place to stay, because this place just sucks major booty, I don't know how anyone could give this place 1/2 a star rating.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeepz1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

It was the only hotel left for our stay so we really had no choice. There wasn't enough parking so we asked if we could park at the Eithiopian restaurant next door. We were told we could as long they were closed. They were!!!! Woke up and our truck had been towed!! Cost us $200 to get it! Try had a credit care on file for our rooms and took the number for another card for " incendentals". They charged that card instead and said there was nothing they could do! We will never stay here again and I do NOT recommend!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Me20122008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Let's be honest, this was the cheapest, I mean the cheapest hotel to come up on travel bundle sites. So I went to this hotel expecting the worst. Even brought my own bed sheets lol. You can't get rooms this affordable and expect a Presidential Penthouse suite lol

What you do wish for is no bugs, clean sheets/towels, nice staff, no prostitutes, no Johns, no drug addicts, and no unsavory folk crawling everywhere, And those are the simple things you can wish for that you will get it at this place.

When I first got there the room they gave me was severely worn as far as furniture and there was a smoking stench in what was supposed to be non smoking room. But they kindly switched me to better room. If you go, get room 114, room 135 was the worn one. But most importantly, no bugs anywhere in the room. And it was clean and they do change sheets and towels regularly. And the place is very quiet in the rooms, you don't hear traffic at all..

If you're on a budget, this is the common sense place to stay at without compromising basic amenities. There's no safe so of course I would recommend taking expensive belongings like jewelry, money, papers, etc. with you when you leave the room, why risk it? You can't fault management for unpredictable human nature of cleaning ladies, good people,bad people everywhere. I left only clothes and bathroom stuff since they're too petty to steal. And it worked.

I'm sure the college kids in town and truckers use the place for their desires but trust me there's no open carousing. In fact I'm saying that because it has to be true but I guess people are so discreet I never got to see anything like that. All I saw was Asian and European tourists. For the price, it's a decent spot.

Room Tip: The room around the pool probably in better shape than parking lot outer rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sozzey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Americas Best Value Inn
#160 of 202 in Austin
175 reviews
Northwest Austin
Econo Lodge Austin
Econo Lodge Austin
#151 of 202 in Austin
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Austin
Extended Stay America - Austin - Arboretum - Capital of Texas Hwy.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn University / Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn University / Downtown

Address: 2900 North I-35, Austin, TX 78705-3404
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 202 Hotels in Austin
Price Range: £48 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rodeway Inn University / Downtown 1.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Rodeway Inn University / Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn University / Downtown Hotel Austin
Rodeway Inn University / Downtown Austin, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing