We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic elegance on 6th Street”
Review of The Driskill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Driskill
Ranked #26 of 203 Hotels in Austin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The Driskill represents old time elegance. Built in 1896, the building is spectacular. The bedrooms were clean and quiet although a bit of the activity on 6th Street makes it in at night if you're on the side of the building. As you walk into the bar you can feel the spirits of the oil barons who built and used the place. Throughout, the high copper ceilings and dark wood maintain the atmosphere of 'oil money.' Overall a great place to stay in the middle of everything.

Room Tip: Rooms away from 6th street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelsOffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,357 - 1,363 of 2,107 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2014

For me, staying in a historic hotel is a trade off. I give up some modern amenities in exchange for character. And the Driskill has lots of character. It felt very Texas-y in the lobby and bar areas. My room was nice sized and had a comfy bed. It was a bit dark and overlooked a bunch of air conditioners, but was quiet. Walking distance to lots of music, restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sidk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I stayed here in January of this year with friends and we had such a nice time. We had some travel problems and the friend we were celebrating arrived without the rest of us. When hearing about this, the hotel staff upgraded her room and then sent treats for all of us once we arrived. They really went out of their way to make our stay special and we really appreciated it! I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Austin and I hope to go back myself.

Of course, the hotel location is in a very busy area, so you can expect some street noise, but it wasn't too bad.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rszj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Austin sure lives up to its claim to being the music capital of America. In the middle of the action is the historic Driskill Hotel which dates back to 1886. It has been lovingly restored and even though a Hyatt you would never know. Feels more like a grand old piece of history.
it is grand old Texas hospitality with the modern day conveniences. Loved the quirky rooms and had difficulty picking which type we wanted to stay in. Right in the middle of all that is music particularly on a Saturday night this was a fun place to stay.
Clubby bar with good music and loved the terrace on 6th Street where you watch the world go by.

Room Tip: If you get a chance ask them to show you .....and then you choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julles18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Manager at The Driskill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Hello From Austin Julles18,

The music scene here is alive and well. The music in the bar really makes for a great atmosphere. I'm glad to see you were able to experience genuine Texas hospitality. When you return, we will be ready to show you a few rooms.

We can't wait to see you again.

Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We girls spoiled ourselves with a weekend stay at the Driskill. Enjoyed the beautiful lobby where we sipped the complimentary morning coffee and tea while classical music played. The lively cattle-decorated lounge got us in the Texas spirit. The location on 6th is ideal for enjoying the music scene and good restaurants with minimal effort as it's an easy walk to them. And the hotel staff was pleasant and friendly - from check-in, to helping us with restaurant recommendations and sightseeing, to check-out. Our room on the 11th floor was fine. Happily it wasn't haunted and the street noise didn't reach us. However the air conditioning unit was loud and the daily rate for parking our rental car at the hotel equalled the daily rental rate for the car itself. (A car was necessary to go to a spa in Hill Country and to go to dinner at Uchi). But overall, it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DStravelbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Manager at The Driskill, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear DStravelbugs,

It is great to see you enjoyed your stay here in Austin. You couldn't be more accurate in your feedback. There are tons of music venues and restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. If you have a moment, next time you return you will have to try our 1886 Cafe. The food is quite tasty.

We cannot wait to welcome you back to Austin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

While attending a family members wedding in Austin we stayed at the oldest and grandest of the hotels in Austin, Texas. The Driskill was built in the late 1800's by a cattleman and all that that implys. Two restaurants and a grand ballroom are complemented by probably the best true western bar in the state.

I enjoyed some of the finest cognac available anywhere in the world with friends sitting around this bar. Martell's Cordon Bleu was brought up from behind the bar rail as if it was just waiting for my call. Louis XIII was also in attendance and was a very smooth addition to the night.

The rooms were of the original atmosphere expected from a cattle baron's design but the renovations done over the years have added all of the amenities you would expect from a hotel of this stature. You will not be disappointed.

One other mention of note. The staff could not have been more attentive. My daughter had to take her SAT exam during our time in Austin and they arranged for a limousine to take her to and from the exam so as not to disturb our family time. All in all the type of experience you expect from the best of the best. Made me want to buy a Stetson.

Room Tip: The rooms over the street will make you want to go down for the night life.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Innomed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Manager at The Driskill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Hello Innomed,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. It is great to hear you really enjoyed the selections at the bar as well as the service. We definitely work hard to try to personalize each and every stay. When you come back to visit we will be sure to have Louis and Martell waiting.

Until we see you again.

Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We are on our first and last stay at The Driskoll. Beautiful historical place, staying in the Governor's Suite (fourth floor, including the huge balcony on the front), but it appears that our floor and walls will be vibrating for the rest of the night. Wife has migraine, I'm working on a headache of historic levels. Way too much money for this much aggravation and literal pain. Apparently a big nasty out of control party in a ballroom jus below us.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else nowhere near this place, or maybe ask if they were holding any parties during yo...
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
5  Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joe G, Manager at The Driskill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Paul A,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am sincerely apologetic for what you experienced during your stay. It is always our goal to ensure you have a tranquil and enjoyable stay. I am sorry that this did not happen. I hope you and your wife are feeling better. If you would like to discuss further please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly. I can be contacted at 512.439.1234.

Sincerely,

Joe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 mi away
InterContinental Stephen F. Austin
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Austin
Hyatt Regency Austin
#13 of 203 in Austin
2,304 reviews
0.4 mi away
W Austin
W Austin
#23 of 203 in Austin
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Austin
0.1 mi away
Omni Austin Hotel Downtown
9.3 mi away
Archer Hotel Austin
Archer Hotel Austin
#2 of 203 in Austin
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Driskill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Driskill

Address: 604 Brazos St, Austin, TX 78701-3212
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Austin
#17 Romantic Hotel in Austin
#35 Business Hotel in Austin
Price Range: £172 - £421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Driskill 4*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Driskill Hotel. Built in 1886 as the showplace of a cattle baron, The Driskill remains a landmark of legendary Texas hospitality. Located on Sixth Street in the heart of downtown Austin, the luxurious, historic hotel is convenient to all that the city has to offer, including the Texas State Capitol, convention center, opera, symphony, fine dining, shopping, and Austin's 6th Street music scene. Known as the "Live Music Capital of the World,®" Austin is home to nearly 200 music venues, many within walking distance of The Driskill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Driskill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Driskill Hotel Austin
Driskill Hotel Austin
Driskill Austin
The Driskill Austin, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing