We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,290)
Filter reviews
2,290 results
Traveller rating
1,325
527
229
126
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,325
527
229
126
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful historic hotel driskill bar cafe bakery live music sixth street heart of downtown street noise hotel bar luxury hotel valet parking visiting austin texas lobby haunted elevator senate concierge
Filter
Updating list...
807 - 812 of 2,290 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

My boyfriend was in town from the marines and we wanted a little get away. We choose the Driskill based off recommendations from friends. The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating. The room was beautiful. The bar and the food was fantastic. We wish we could've stayed longer. We will be back!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Caitlin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, Public Relations Manager at The Driskill, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Hello! Thank you so much for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled you chose The Driskill for your weekend getaway. Our team will be so happy to read you found all to be friendly and accommodating throughout your time here. We are over-the-moon to read that you plan to return - we can't wait to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016

My family stayed here for fun, as we always wanted to stay in a 'haunted' hotel and also do some fun downtown Austin things. Right from the moment you walk in your are blown away by the beauty of the lobby and can feel the history of the building.

The staff was always on point, from the valets to checkin, to the cleaning service and coffee bar attendants. Everyone was patient, welcoming, and more than happy to help in any way they could, even before their normal job roles.

The rooms were plush, well appointed, clean, and roomy enough. We stayed on the 5th floor(reported to have high paranormal activity) and the rooms were very nice. The only drawback was the pillows, they were overly soft and provided no support, but we always bring our own because I am picky with pillows, so that could just be a personal view that you might not share.

Now...the ghosts or whatever...we had a blast firstly, freaking each other out with the thought of paranormal activity happening around us and did have some odd unexplained events, like lights and fans turning themselves on and off, as well as the TV turning off on its own a few times. Could just be someone's fan remote(yes they have fan and light remotes!!) affecting our room or something more otherworldly!!

Regardless if you believe in that or not, we have a great stay, got to walk and see a lot of sights in downtime due to the great location, and had a wonderfully pampering time at the Driskill! My daughter can't wait to go back and bring afriend.

Room Tip: If you want a high chance of paranormal activity, ask for a room on the 4th or 5th floors as they are the most "active".
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 80summerw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, Public Relations Manager at The Driskill, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Hello! Thank you so much for staying with us and for sharing your sentiments with fellow travelers. We are so happy you enjoyed the service, history and overnight accommodations while you were here. Thank you for sharing your thoughts regarding the pillow as well - we will share your feedback with our leadership team so they may also know and evaluate this area for improvement. It is wonderful to read that your daughter is looking forward to returning with a friend - we hope to welcome you back for another stay very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Beautiful hotel with history in a great location right on 6th street! Steps away from tons of bars! The hotel has a great breakfast restaurant with delicious pastries! The rooms are on the small side, but are clean with great decor! The bar is very neat as well as all of the other structural components of this historic hotel. Only downside is hotel parking is I think $30 a night, so we parked at a garage down the street for a little less. Great location and will definitely return! Great place if you want to be located near everything!

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gaila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, Public Relations Manager at The Driskill, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Greetings and many thanks for sharing your kind words regarding your recent Driskill stay. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay - namely breakfast in 1886 Cafe & Bakery and our location in heart of Austin. We are equally grateful to know your thoughts regarding our overnight valet parking and will share that with our leadership team for review and consideration. We are so thankful we had the opportunity to welcome you and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

My daughter and I enjoyed a fabulous time at The Driskill! Our rooms were well appointed, comfortable and charming. Breakfast quiche with cherry compote is terrific in the 1886 Bakery & Cafe. The bar is warm & pleasant. The staff is topnotch! Location is within hip downtown and movie stars--James Bond, The Matador--hang out in the lobby between takes for shows they are filming on the mezzanine. WHAT could be MORE FUN???

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Patty L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, Public Relations Manager at The Driskill, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Hello and thank you so much for sharing your insights. We are so happy you and your daughter enjoyed a fabulous time here - from people watching in the lobby to breakfast in 1886 Cafe & Bakery and beyond. We are so happy you chose to stay here and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back, soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016

Everything about this place is spot on! The historic hotel is gorgeous, the rooms are clean with quirky Victorian decor meets cattle baron. The food at 1886 is great, and the bar ambiance is great. Don't care for country music and that's what was going on, but hey - if you are visiting Texas - that's a treat. Location is RIGHT in the midst of things in downtown Austin.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jill W, Public Relations Manager at The Driskill, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2016

Hello! Thank you so much for sharing your experience with fellow travelers. We are so happy you chose to stay at The Driskill and we are thrilled to read that you were pleased with your stay. We are so happy to know your thoughts on the hotel's decor, accommodations, food in 1886 Cafe, location and beyond. We hope you'll plan to return for another stay - it would be our pleasure to have you with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews