We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great week of Skiing in the Utah Rockies”
Review of Alta Ski Resort

Alta Ski Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 things to do in Alta
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Alta turns 70 next winter. Alta's place in the ski world is unique, its history storied. Alta's culture blends this past with the future as it presents, along with Snowbird Ski & Summer Resort, America's first lift-served interconnect. Alta and pure, unspoiled skiing are synonymous. Alta's wide variety of terrain, breathtaking alpine scenery and superb snow conditions combine to create a unique setting. Alta continues to offer a ski-only experience.
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great week of Skiing in the Utah Rockies”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I had the pleasure of taking a California church high school youth group skiing in the park city area for a week. I brought my California powder jacket and 501 blue jeans to ski in :-) 400 bucks later I was looking good in my new jumpsuit and staying very warm. Californians be aware it is 50 degrees colder than Big Bear and China Peak.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank DarrylSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    76
    10
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roy, Utah
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Five Reasons We Enjoy Skiing After 3 PM at Alta”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

1. Skiers only!
2. 1 ½ hours of skiing for only $5 (your first time you will also need to purchase an Alta RFID card for $5 which is reloadable for future trips)
3. Amazing snow
4. Amazing views
5. The Sunnyside Detachable Triple Lift provides easy loading and unloading
Alta offers skiers an opportunity to enjoy a choice portion of the mountain for $5. Beginner runs are primarily available with the After 3 Pass, but there are also intermediate runs and one expert run. Additionally, there are off-run areas where you can ski through trees and find pockets of powder.
Our family has enjoyed After 3 skiing at Alta for several years. We can usually get in four to seven runs while we are there. The short timeframe has been ideal for some of our younger family members who are plenty tired after skiing for 1 ½ hours.
I’d recommend first-timers try another ski area with a shorter learning hill. If you’re just getting started consider buying used equipment. Once you are somewhat comfortable with turning and stopping come to Alta. Some of the runs require that you build and maintain speed or you’ll end up expending extra manual power ski walking.
If you ski Tuesday through Thursday you will likely find sparse crowds. Use the Albion Base parking area which sits above the Wildcat Base parking area.
We have found it helpful to assist our younger children with getting their ski boots on before we make the short drive up Little Cottonwood Canyon. That trick makes getting on the mountain much quicker.
Thanks to Alta (if you have your own ski gear) you can do something active, enjoy amazing scenery and spend time with family and friends for less than the cost of a movie ticket.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
86 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Still a classic”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

There is not much that has not been said about ALta. There is something there for everyone. The vertical is a little les than some experienced skiers may prefer, but the snow quality and variety of terrain are first rate.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rob k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrick, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“LOVE THIS MOUNTAIN”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I loved the fact that there were no snowboarders. The trails were groomed to perfection. While it was a rather warm day (early April), my husband and I did some of our best skiing. Can't wait to come back next year.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JANE1119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Perfect for a day of good skiing”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I can definitely recommend Alta for a day of good skiing. Enjoyed it a lot every time I went.

Do note that snowboarders are not allowed so if you are a snowboarder, Snowbird is the closest resort to visit.

Will definitely come back!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingfinn1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alta Ski Resort also viewed

 

Been to Alta Ski Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing