We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Goldminer's Daughter Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2013

I think the staff were nice, rooms and food are very good. And you obviously can't beat the location. The hot tub is kinda lame, it's downstairs in the basement and wasn't the greatest. Ping pong tables are a plus.
I think the Alta Lodge is overall a nicer place with much better food, service, and bar, but it's also pricier.
You can't go wrong with either.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dwfresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2012

The hotel is right by the lifts at Alta.
The hotel only offers rooms with breakfast and dinner included and in season this is expensive. That said, it is worth it to wake up actually in the mountains and walk a few steps across the snow to the lifts. The ski hire shop is in the hotel building.
Our room was not enormous but had room for the kingsize bed and two armchairs. The decor was a little tired but anyway totally outclassed by the view.
The meals were excellent - four course dinner with several choices, delicious buffet breakfast.
I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Alta!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lucy042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

GMD is a skiers lodge, at the base of the hill. Ski in and ski out. Rooms are rustic. Building needs upgrading. Room rate includes a full, amazing breakfast. Dinners are excellent. Several options for entrees. Mahi mahi and wild salmon entrees very good. Wait staff is friendly. The current female manager runs a "tight ship" but takes no attitude from the clients. The skiing was fabulous helped by great snow. Lots of black runs, some blue groomers. Lift tickets are cheap compared to other resorts. No snow boarders allowed. Great place for pure skiing.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmjohnson60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I have stayed at the GMD twice, each of the last two years. I believe it is a pleasant atmosphere and the staff is great, The food is good and the location is as good as it can be. The value is very good. If you want Deer Vally you are in the wrong spot however. This is a great place to stay if you are focused on skiing,

Good for family , friends, and couples. It is most likely not a great business destination.

Room Tip: Both times I have been there the rooms have been good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naddatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I've come to realize that what irritates me most are those hotels that pretend to be what they are not, but charge a room rate commensurate with their pretensions. GMD is a happy exception. They were upfront when I booked the room noting that GMD was "just a ski lodge." That sounded great to me. Location was a perfect 100' from the base Collins lift at Alta. But it is GMD's staff that really makes this place shine. From the greeting at check-in, to the early morning departure, the tone is authentic and friendly. There's a busy end-of-day bar crowd, and upstairs from 4-6pm there are free snacks and tea/coffee for guests -- which suited me, with my 18yr old son, just fine. Dinner and breakfast also are included in the room rate. Dinner runs 4 courses with meat and potatos my son attacked with gusto, crisp vegetables and varied-lettuce (thankfully none of those garden weeds served back east) salads that would have pleased my wife. The food was excellent and the waiters were pleasant and attentive. The February weekend crowd we saw was mostly serious skiers, with an occasional family thrown in. GMD facilities are perfectly adequate. Our room had an adjustable thermostat which controlled the electric heat. There was plenty of storage area in the room for ski equipment. The bathroom was ample, as was the hot water. If I were to quibble, there was some plumbing noise, and now and then we heard a neighbor. My biggest gripe was with the bed mattress, which sagged with age. But, except for the effect of altitude, I would have been sound asleep the moment I hit the pillow -- as I suspect most serious skiers who stay at GMD are. On price, GMD is not inexpensive. But the quick research I did placed it in line with the local competition. And the meals were excellent and included. Worth a visit.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank disappskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

IThe beauty of Alta and its skiing is Legendary. The GMD has been a legend at Alta since Jim & Elfrieda Shane built the place to lodge the true skier's of the day.

You will always find great Storyteller's in the Bar at the end of the day. The GMD will make you feel like family the very first time you stay. The staff is the most gracious around. My pick will always be the GMD, I found my family there back when Jim & Elfrieda had the place, and my Soul will never leave;

The GMD is a Keeper.......

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Altaaaaaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

This lodge is only 100 feet from the chair lift. It has a rustic feel to it.. One big dining room surrounded by windows to look out. One bar.

For $250 a night you get a room and breakfast and dinner are included. Its a good deal.

of course you must remember,Alta's motto is "its all about the skiing." The people at this lodge are serious skiers and salt of the earth outdoors types. There is no disco and no french restaurant here , folks!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the chair lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alta
0.3 mi away
Alta's Rustler Lodge
6.9 mi away
Montage Deer Valley
Montage Deer Valley
#3 of 60 in Park City
864 reviews
7.9 mi away
Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Silver Fork Lodge
Silver Fork Lodge
#1 of 2 in Brighton
82 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#10 of 60 in Park City
599 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alta Peruvian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldminer's Daughter Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldminer's Daughter Lodge

Address: 10160 E State Highway 210, Alta, UT 84092-9509
Region: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Alta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alta
Price Range: £105 - £376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Goldminer's Daughter Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Goldminer’s Daughter Lodge provides a welcoming, friendly staff with comfortable lodging in an unbeatable location. Steps from the base of Alta Ski Area's Collins and Wildcat lifts, we are home to one of Alta's only true ski-in, ski-out experiences. It is hard to compete with our location combined with our comfortable lodging, impeccable service, full breakfast and a four-course dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Goldminer's Daughter Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldminer`s Daughter Hotel Alta
Goldminer's Daughter Lodge Alta, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing