We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Ski-in-Ski Out location at Gold Miner's Daughter”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Goldminer's Daughter Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2014

GMD provides the only ski-in-ski out accommodations at Alta ski resort. There is not other lodge that comes as close to the Collin's lift (the main lift on the mountain). Your nightly rate includes, a buffet/a-la-carte breakfast which is delicious AND a gourmet dinner with nightly specials. Apre-ski includes yummy offerings that are complimentary from 4-5 pm daily. A terrific beer and wine selection is available as well. You CAN ONLY GO RIGHT by staying at GMD. Each wonderful room is cozy with stunning views of the Wasatch Mountains! Spa services and ski rental are in the lodge. A variety of massages are offered and a sauna room as well. You can rent any demo ski with great expert advise from the ski-techs on site. I have been coming since 2005 and multiple times a year. I can't wait to come again in February!!! Thank you GMD for being a wonderful host spectacular Alta! Every staff member is A++!

Room Tip: Whether coming alone to get a way, with friends and family - GMD makes everyone feel right at home a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank meltanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We just had pizza and beers. Pizza is fabulous. The Views are amazing. The Service excellent. I have not stayed in the rooms - they Appear to be a little dated. Excellent stop for lunch or après on the mountain. Great spot!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank CMBHAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We've been coming to Alta and staying at "GMD" for the past few years. While we certainly appreciate true "5 star" accommodations in certain settings, we are always comfortable and happy at Goldminer's, even though we sometimes describe it to friends, somewhat tongue-in-cheek, as a "high-end Y".

What makes it right for us? A quick list in no particular order:
1) Jonathan at the front desk - he took an interest in us during our first visit, and since then has greeted us like returning friends (and there's nothing special about us - he's a true host)
2) Hallways are planked in knotty pine, with vintage photo's of Alta in decades (several decades!) past
3) Surprisingly good kitchen for a breakfast-and-dinner-included place (including a couple of fairly tasty vegetarian dishes as well as a gluten-free pasta option most nights)
4) Rather modest mark-up on wines (i.e., they're not trying to "gouge" on extra's)
5) Rooms are clean, if a bit dated (and blankets are sheeted on both sides for a fresh, crisp experience)
6) Towels are YMCA white terry
7) Lots of pegs for hanging your ski wear + a reasonable size closet
8) Recently upgraded to HD tv's
9) EXCELLENT complimentary afternoon "tea", including things like baked brie, other cheeses and crackers and bread, fruit, chips and salsa and dip, cookies and other sweets, with various teas and coffee... and you can order wine or beer of course
10) SPECTACULAR views of the mountain - the restaurant, which is also where "tea" is served, is half green house-style atrium so you can see from ground level to high-noon... great for watching the last die-hard skiers come down one last time while you're enjoying tea

As long as you're okay with a basic-looking room decor and a 1970's Holiday Inn bathroom (it's truly fine, and toilet/tub are in one room, while sink and mirror are in a separate alcove... really quite comfortable and wholesome), then you should really enjoy your time here, because everything else (1-10 above) makes it a very relaxing and enjoyable place to be... and I agree with other reviews... this is the absolutely best-located lodge at Alta (although they're all pretty well situated).

Room Tip: Ask for 3-floor mountain view - costs a bit more but great to wake up to in the morning. The slopes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Allan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

After getting a snow alert by email on Monday morning I picked up the phone to grab a room before the hotel got booked up. I called the desk and they remembered me off the top the manager's head, not by computer. After protecting us on a nice room we arrived late that night and were greeted by the night manager who made us feel like a family member. The hotel is basic and bomb proof. No frills, good food, and a "beach-front" location just a stone's throw away from the main ski lift. Comfortable, efficient, unpretentious and an Alta institution. We're definitely going back.

Room Tip: Slopeside rooms can be noisy as the snow cats do their grooming at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Limahuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

The Goldminer's Daughter is exactly the type of room that true skiers need. The rooms are not fancy, but the beds are comfortable, the rooms are clean, and the location is perfect. The lodge is located right at the bottom of the Collins lift at Alta, which usually receives more snow than any other ski resort in North America, literally.

Amenities:
There is also a hot tub, family area, and fitness center in the basement of the lodge. The dining room on the third floor has pretty good breakfast and dinner, both of which are free: built into the price of the room. The bar on the second floor is alright. It does not serve any hard alcohol and Utah is not know for quality beer...

I'll definitely be going back soon. Good luck and happy powder days!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ddexter289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Have been staying with Goldminer's for nearly 40 years when skiing at Alta (except for maybe 3 years when I rented a condo). That means about 25 times. Management has changed, some renovations were done, a wing was built and another rebuilt, somethings were upgraded...bottom line though: Goldminer's never really changes. It is like visiting a relative you can't wait to see once a year. It seems like it is about 70% groups of guy friends who meet to go ski for 3-7 days. Also plenty of couples and families though--old, young, straight and some same-sex--but what they all have in common is serious skiing. There is no real town of Alta and about zero to do at night outside the hotel. So the meal plan makes total sense. Food is quite decent at the main restaurant but there are inevitable glitches with the service or an order here and there. Staff are friendly; many are kids who work there for a year or two so don't expect Four Seasons type professionals--they're just mostly nice twenty-somethings who love to ski. Rooms are basic but functional. You get hair dryers and TVs but don't expect a mini-bar or 4 kinds of down comforters. The bar is fantastic and a great gathering place for guests and apres-skiers. Ski shop is well stocked and the ski/boot technicians are knowledgeable and good at what they do.

This is the perfect place to kick-back utterly without pretense and to relax before and after exhausting yourself on the slopes. And fwiw, the hotel has the best location in Alta just feet away from the main ticket center and the main lifts. In the morning you just walk outside and get on the chair lift. Life doesn't get much better than that.

As for the other lodges in Alta, I've seen them all and have had friends stay at all of them over the years. They are marginally better appointed and fancier and not worth twice the price, imo. But that's just me. I go to ski. Period. And Goldminer's is the perfect fit for me.

Room Tip: They're all pretty much the same. Convenience-wise I prefer the main building versus the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank kyle10014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

new owners(ross and jen) since 2005 and they have been upgrading ever since
food is now top notch/service very good to excellent
everyone helpful!
great place to bring little kids--started bring ours when he was 6(wonderful ski school!!)
we see the same serious powder skiers every year

this year i counted--37 ski boot steps from the porch to the collins lift
you can stay at the other two hotels for 2 and 3 times as much but you will not get 2-3 times the value
can not say enough good things about the GD

Room Tip: not mountain view--snow grooming machines will wake you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thomas6782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alta
0.3 mi away
Alta's Rustler Lodge
3.4 mi away
Silver Fork Lodge
Silver Fork Lodge
#1 of 2 in Brighton
85 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hyatt Centric Park City
Hyatt Centric Park City
#5 of 60 in Park City
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
7.9 mi away
Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village
8.2 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#10 of 60 in Park City
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldminer's Daughter Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldminer's Daughter Lodge

Address: 10160 E State Highway 210, Alta, UT 84092-9509
Region: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Alta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Alta
Price Range: £101 - £359 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Goldminer's Daughter Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Goldminer’s Daughter Lodge provides a welcoming, friendly staff with comfortable lodging in an unbeatable location. Steps from the base of Alta Ski Area's Collins and Wildcat lifts, we are home to one of Alta's only true ski-in, ski-out experiences. It is hard to compete with our location combined with our comfortable lodging, impeccable service, full breakfast and a four-course dinner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Goldminer's Daughter Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldminer`s Daughter Hotel Alta
Goldminer's Daughter Lodge Alta, Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing