We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will come back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alta Peruvian Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 February 2012

This place is a time machine! If you are looking for a super friendly, social, and fun place come here. My 18 year old son and I really enjoyed having dinner and breakfast with the other guests, This place is an old school ski lodge, family meals and spartan rooms. The heated pool is big and hot tubs are great. The nightly movies were fun. This place is great if you don't need a fancy room.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phsykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2011

The staff is great and service at the restaurant was outstanding. The rooms are small and outdated but adequate.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sashash1755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I stayed here for an early season ski vacation. Lodge is very close to Collins lift and there are shuttle vans running back and forth all day long. Only 1 minute from the lodge to the lift. This is a great 1960's style lodge. The accomodations are basic, but the food is great. You can purchase lift tickets in the Pro Shop to avoid lines at Alta. Personnel are very friendly and helpful, not to mention I made some great new friends among the guests. Prices are reasonable and I would say it's a good value.

Room Tip: Nordic rooms are very basic with two twin beds and a sink. Toilet/Shower down teh hall. Alpine roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCLPYL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2011

How does one describe a place that is unlike any other?? If you love friendly, homey, laid back and a total blast (never mind the best skiing in the world) then come have a drink, stay, eat, ski & meet wonderful people at the fabulous Alta Peruvian Lodge. Nothing compares.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEEDEEWINTERS33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

It is the case that the food is not the best and the accommodations are basic but I’m returning in 2012 nevertheless. I went in April 2011 just before they were about to close for the season. By then the chef must have been running out of energy and food. However, the dinner companions were all delightful every night I was there (they seat several couples together for dinner). Some of us planned to get together in 2012! The accommodations are basic but it is possible to sleep well for the night. The lodge is not exactly sky-in sky-out. However, they have a van that makes rounds to the lifts. One advantage of going late in the season is that the shop, which was very well equipped, had bargains of all sorts.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ibejar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

I came here with my teenage son for President's Day weekend. I have neer skied Alta but am always looking for something new and have heard great things about the skiing here. I decided to stay at the Peruvian because I wouldn't have to cook and clean and the price seemed pretty reasonable compared to some other places up here. The place is a classic ski lodge. There is a large lobby with big stone fireplace. The entire south side of the lobby is windows looking out over the WildCat ski area, which is expert terrain. Even if you are not skiing you can sit in the lobby and look out and watch some amazing skiing, which is a total treat. We stayed in a Nordic room, which is a basic, very small room with two twin beds, a small chest of drawers, a night stand between the beds, a small vanity with sink and a small closet. The room has a blowdryer, for those who are interested. We used the community baths across the hall. They are separated by gender although you don't get that impression from the website. They provide robes and shampoo, etc. The rooms are clean and the beds were very comfortable. This is not a place where you would hang out in your room - they are really very, very basic and intended for sleeping, changing your clothes, etc. So this place will DEFINITELY not appeal to anyone looking for turndown service, cookie on the pillow experience.

What I love is the highly social, communal atmosphere. It is full of people from across the 50 states. You will meet everyone from total ski bums to Wall Street types, to doctors - lots and lots of the latter. Everyone is in a good mood and chatty and it is fun to meet and talk with everyone. Most of the alk centers around skiing - the runs you took, quality of the powder, comparing wipe-outs, etc. Dinner is also family style - the smallest table seats 8, so if you are a party of less than that you will definitely be sitting with other people. We loved this and met a lot of interesting people. The lodging price includes all of your meals, including snacks at the bar in the afternoon, homemade cookies after skiing, etc. Alcohol is not included. There is one quirky thing about dinner - you have to sign up each day for the time you want to eat. You can't sign up until the dining rooms opens for breakfast on the day of. What this means is that starting about 6:45 or 7 AM a line starts to form because everyone wants to sign up for a specific dinner time. After a long day of skiing at Alta you do NOT want the 8 PM dinner reservation, especially if you have kids. So, a member of each family traipses down, often in pj's, and waits with their laptops and cell phones for the door to open. You have to watch out for line poachers, too. It's pretty hysterical. Wasn't a problem for me because I am a super early bird anyway so I just sat down there and chatted and worked.

The food is pretty good. I am vegetarian and there was always plenty to eat. It is nice to come in for lunch part way through the day. They show a movie almost every night, if you can stay up for it. We were so exhausted we were usually asleep by 8 or so. There is a bar which seems to be THE place to be in Alta. It can be quite nosiy, especially when the bar closes, which is 10 PM, thankfully.

There is a great ski shop for rental equipment and a small shop where you can buy hings you might have forgotten or just want for the day, including ski pants, coats, goggles, Cliff Bars, powder straps, etc.

Some of the staff are a bit challenged, I have to say, but they are all super nice and want to be helpful (if only they knew how). I don't think the winter work season really attracts too many people bound for the Ivies.

Our first day I hired a private instructor for the day for ski tips, to show us the mountain and of course, you don't wait in line. Totally worth it in my opinion. My teenage son hooked up w/ some other boys his age and tat was the last I saw of him after the first day. They had a great time skiing the expert terrain, of which there is a ton here.

A word to those considering coming here: you do NOT need anything fancy and would look ridiculous if you wore it. No fur coats, no Prada ski gear, etc. Don't do it - you will look like a fool. If that is your scene go to Deer Valley or Aspen. Seriously. It's all about the skiing here and no one is interested or much impressed by anything else. I've already booked our trip back here for next year!

I would totally recommend this to a friend - but only certain friends.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nomossundermyfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2011

Of course the skiing is awesome... it's Alta !! Skiing has nothing to do with the lodge - this is a pretty bare bones ski lodge, which is fine if the cost was commensurate with the experience & service. It appears the lack of competition enables the Peruvian to provide average food, poor & not very responsive customer service (Internet connection was mostly down 5 day stay, rel. clueless staff). When the manager was asked if something could be done about the lack internet, he replied something to the affect "only if you come back, we'll take care of you then.." Guess he missed that day in hospitality school...

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travels_a_lot085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alta
0.5 mi away
Alta's Rustler Lodge
7.9 mi away
Hyatt Centric Park City
Hyatt Centric Park City
#7 of 60 in Park City
708 reviews
3.5 mi away
Silver Fork Lodge
Silver Fork Lodge
#1 of 2 in Brighton
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Stein Eriksen Lodge Deer Valley
8.4 mi away
The Chateaux Deer Valley
The Chateaux Deer Valley
#10 of 60 in Park City
603 reviews
8.1 mi away
Sundial Lodge at Canyons Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alta Peruvian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alta Peruvian Lodge

Address: Little Cottonwood Canyon Road, P.O. Box 8017, Alta, UT 84092-8017
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Alta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Alta
Price Range: £218 - £478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Alta Peruvian Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Alta Peruvian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alta Peruvian Hotel Alta
Alta Peruvian Lodge Utah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing