We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun weekend in VT”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rowell's Inn

Rowell's Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Andover
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rowell's Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Andover B&B and Inns
Bronxville, New York, USA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fun weekend in VT”
Reviewed 27 February 2011

We have stayed at a number of places in VT. We had eaten in the restaurant at Rowell's before and thought we should stay for a weekend. We had a great time. We skied at a nearby mountain and very much enjoyed our room at the inn. The room we chose had a fireplace that worked and we had a lovely fire at the foot of our bed every night. With the bar and restaurant downstairs we were totally set. I have to say this place has more fireplaces and wood stoves going on a cold winter night than any other place I know. We would start the evening at the bar by the fireplace, then dinner by a different fireplace, and finally end the evening in front of the fireplace in our room. Mike was a great host. We'll go back. If you are looking for an old style Inn this might be the place for you. The combination of the bar/restaurant/Inn works well. Far enough away from the ski resorts that the prices are reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sport10010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, VT
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2010

My husband and I searched for many placed to get married. On September 5, 2004 we were married at the Rowells Inn in Simmonsville VT. Mike and Susan, the hosts, are the nicest people you might ever meet. They planned a small reception for my family, and it was everything I dreamed my wedding could be.
We go back every year for our anniversary, and sometimes Valentine's day, as well. We stay on the third floor (though every once in awhile we will stay on the second floor, so we can use the fireplace)
The food is exceptional. I HIGHLY recommend this B&B. You won't find a more hospitable place anywhere in VT. The history of the Inn is awesome, and it is inviting and very cozy. Whether you are spending the night, planning a ceremony, or weekend getaway. This is the place to go.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarthaRietta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2009

The good: Rowell's Inn has quite a history and scattered about the inn are old and interesting ledgers, novels, guest books and photos. Mike, the innkeeper is friendly and accomadating. The breakfast was good and plentiful, definately not a continental breakfast but a hearty, made fresh breakfast. On the weekend the owner/chef also has dinner, which many of the locals come for. The beds are comfortable with pillow top mattresses.

The bad: Unfortunately Rowell's looses some of it's charm secondary to a lack of attention to detail. The rooms were a dusty in the low traffic areas, cobwebs in the window corners, peeling paint, etc.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HH_in_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2007

Just back from a 3 night stay at Rowells Inn with my best friend (of 28 years). Wanted a girl's getaway weekend with the focus on R&R. Had a fabulous time at Rowells. The innkeepers, Mike and Susan, were so warm, hospitable, and gracious. Our stay began with a brief historical tour by Mike who shared the stories and artifacts in the inn which dates back to the 1800's and was once a stagecoach stop. The rooms are quaint and all have private bath. The food is fabulous and on Friday nights the public is welcome for dinner so it is lively and you get a chance to meet some locals. The cozy fires, board games, wine and pleasant conversation made for a memorable weekend. Okemo Mountain is a short drive away if you're a skier. Perfect for a romantic getaway, family reunion (not young children, however), or friend's getaway. Would definitely go back any time of the year! Thank you!!!!

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank GracieF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Andover
16.5 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
560 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Upper Pass Lodge
The Upper Pass Lodge
#1 of 4 in Londonderry
135 reviews
5.8 mi away
Inn Victoria
Inn Victoria
#1 of 9 in Chester
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Rose Arbour Bed and Breakfast
4.4 mi away
The Inn at Weston
The Inn at Weston
#2 of 3 in Weston
220 reviews
4.7 mi away
Blue Gentian Lodge
Blue Gentian Lodge
#2 of 4 in Londonderry
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rowell's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rowell's Inn

Property: Rowell's Inn
Address: 1834 Simonsville Rd, Andover, VT 05143-9086
Region: United States > Vermont > Andover
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Andover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Rowell`s Hotel Andover

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing