We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful country Inn”
Review of Arlington Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arlington Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Arlington B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed here 2 nights for a weekend wedding which was held nearby. First of all, the location was perfect for the wedding and many attracttions in the area. Secondly, the property was very appealing with gardens to walk through, fountains, a gazebo ,beautiful flowers, bird feeders, runner ducks, a rabbit , chickens and a friendly dog. I appreciated all of the love and care that obviously went into the grounds and country atmosphere..
Dinner in the tavern was first rate with a roaring fireplace to take the chill off the early autumn air. Classical music played softly in the background. Our waitress, Jessica was very cheerful and effecient. Our meal was delicious. I had the lobster pot pie, filled with large portions of lobster meat and vegetables. It was an enjoyable evening. We also had a delicious breakfast at the inn 2 mornings and were again impressed with the cheerful waitresses and the wonderful chef , who could make everything, anyway you like it! And great coffee, muffins and yogart ! While eating in the quiet breakfast room, the ducks entertained us by the window.
There are also cookies and a beverage offered during the afternoon in the lobby.
The 1800 Inn has 2 other adjacent houses; a cottage and a parsonage as well as the main house. We stayed in the Parsonage in the Justin James room on the first floor , which had a 4 poster canopied bed, a 2 person jacuzzi, TV, free wi-fi , private bath and sitting area. I spoke to Elizabeth, the owner about something that needed attention, and she graciously took note and attended to it right away.
There are so many little inns in the area....I have taken the time to do all the searching for you......why not just stay here?

Room Tip: Rooms on the rear of the buildings are quiet from street traffic. Come in late September where the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jocar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

We found the Arlington Inn to be a welcoming spot. The owners Eric & Elizabeth were visible and ready to help. The accomodations were comfortable and fit the period.Our heat was from an open fireplace operated by a thermostat. We were on the 2nd floor and I must admit the stairs
could be a challenge. The food was excellent. Breakfast ,which was included ,was prepared to
your liking and the restaurant had a varied menu and dinner was a treat. The wait staff was
cheerful and attentive.

Room Tip: The main building rooms contained seating areas with open fireplaces wjich provided heat and ambianc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My husband and myself have stayed numerous times at the Inn. The owners could not be more accommodating. The morning breakfast, afternoon snack and dinner were exceptional, we never eat anywhere's else, even when we are visiting Arlington for the day we book reservations for dinner. Our room was comfortable and clean, surrounding grounds nicely groomed with beautiful gardens. When in the area the Arlington Inn is where we always stay. I would strongly recommend this place to my friends and family.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulcarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed one night ( thank heavens)! Rhonda's room may not have shown the full potential of this historic building. The room was musty and damp smelling, the lady owner didn't bat an eyelid when I had to ask for a scented candle to get rid of the smell. Room was nicely decorated and clean. The front step was a stone not a proper step up so be careful! WiFi was nonexistent in this room. The soggy walk in the morning across the grass was not what I expected. ( Put some flag stones down). The food was fine however the floor in the breakfast area was littered with dead insects, that had obviously been there awhile. Out of two weeks touring New England this was the only let down.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Kamasakura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlinn, Manager at Arlington Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

We are sorry to hear that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations. We strive to make our Inn as comfortable and welcoming as possible to all of our guests. Feedback from our guests, both positive and negative, helps us to continually improve upon ourselves. Since your stay we have completed some renovations of Rhoda's Room, most notably the installation of a stone walkway and patio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Spent a night with my sister in a large room with two double beds. We were very comfortable, with the only problem being a noisy air conditioner. The beds were fine, the room clean, and the breakfast the next day was exceptional. I'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank piet51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We were thoroughly impressed with the Arlington Inn. It`s a beautiful place, relaxing and comfortable with lots of attention to detail.. The gardens were gorgeous with so much to explore. Lucinda`s Suite was spacious and charming. The breaskfasts and dinners were consistently delicious. The staff went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. We look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We booked online, (Rhoda's room) the day before arrival. Online, the place looked very nice.
Upon arrival, the front desk lady showed us to our room and the problems began. We had to walk thru the wet grass (NO Sidewalk) to the room, and then step up onto a small piece of granite instead of a stair to get in the door. The room was musty and I had to clean the disgusting filter on the a/c (Moths and bugs and lots of dirt). The baseboard heat registers were caked with dirt. The carpet was dirty. The windows opened but several would not close until I went outside and pushed while my wife was inside cranking. The dog was friendly, but allowed to roam thru the place, especially the kitchen (how do they get away with the board of health on this?) and the dining and breakfast room when nobody was in there. If you are in a wheelchair, forget about this place - no access anywhere on the property. The pictures must be 15 years old or photo shopped because everything looked better online than in person.
When I complained about things to the owner the next morning, I didn't even get an "I'm sorry" or any reaction other than she would inform the housekeeper. That is what upset me more than anything else.
The ONLY positive was the food - it was excellent! Kudos to the chef.
Talking top some of the local shop owners the next day, the common reaction was - yes, we haven't heard any nice things about the Arlington Inn in a long time.
I will never stay here again, and will tell anyone thinking about it to stay away.
My advice to you - go someplace else!

Room Tip: Don't believe the pictures!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Art L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlinn, Manager at Arlington Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

We are sorry that your stay at The Arlington Inn did not live up to your expectations. We strive to offer our guests a wonderful and enjoyable experience. Your feedback is important to us and can only help to make us better. Since your stay we have completed some renovations of Rhoda's Room, including a stone walkway and patio.
You are correct that most of our rooms are not handicap accessible, however we do advertise that one of our rooms, Sarah's Room, is completely handicap accessible, including a handicap shower and a wheelchair accessible ramp to its entrance.
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington
10.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#3 of 16 in Manchester
661 reviews
7.5 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
343 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Bennington
Hampton Inn Bennington
#1 of 8 in Bennington
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
West Mountain Inn
West Mountain Inn
#1 of 8 in Arlington
393 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Ira Allen House Bed and Breakfast
2.9 mi away
Hill Farm Inn
Hill Farm Inn
#2 of 8 in Arlington
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arlington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arlington Inn

Address: 3904 Vt Route 7a, Arlington, VT 05250-4456
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Arlington
Price Range: £124 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arlington Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet Village between Manchester and Bennington, the Inn is convenient to the diversions that each season has to offer. Walk to golf, swimming; fly-fishing on the Battenkill River and the Rockwell Exhibition. Nearby you can enjoy shopping, theater, antiquing, museums, hiking, canoeing, horseback riding, cross-country and downhill skiing.Country Gardens with Gazebo, Elegant guest rooms, private baths, television, phone, WiFi service and air conditioning. Many feature Fireplaces, Jacuzzi’s, Porch & Patios.Dining is an exquisite experience, Romantic, candlelit dinners are served fireside.Weddings, Rehearsal Dinners & Retreats are brimming with outstanding cuisine, excellent service and romantic surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Arlington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arlington Hotel Arlington
Arlington Inn Vermont - Green Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing