We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very civilised inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arlington Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arlington Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Arlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Epping Forest, Essex
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A very civilised inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

As soon as we arrived local hot cider and cookies were offered and this set the tone for a most enjoyable stay. The Inn comprises a fine group of historic New England buildings, owned and run by a couple (husband is the chef). Our room was spacious and private in a separate cottage with lovely old furniture and a beautiful New England quilt on the bed. We appreciated the classical music in the bar, and then a first class dinner was served in a nice room with traditional furniture. A good breakfast was served in the back room. All in all a comfortable, cultured and civilized place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eppingedger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    23
    10
    17
    12
See reviews for
26
83
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
Level Contributor
199 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed here 2 nights for a weekend wedding which was held nearby. First of all, the location was perfect for the wedding and many attracttions in the area. Secondly, the property was very appealing with gardens to walk through, fountains, a gazebo ,beautiful flowers, bird feeders, runner ducks, a rabbit , chickens and a friendly dog. I appreciated all of the love and care that obviously went into the grounds and country atmosphere..
Dinner in the tavern was first rate with a roaring fireplace to take the chill off the early autumn air. Classical music played softly in the background. Our waitress, Jessica was very cheerful and effecient. Our meal was delicious. I had the lobster pot pie, filled with large portions of lobster meat and vegetables. It was an enjoyable evening. We also had a delicious breakfast at the inn 2 mornings and were again impressed with the cheerful waitresses and the wonderful chef , who could make everything, anyway you like it! And great coffee, muffins and yogart ! While eating in the quiet breakfast room, the ducks entertained us by the window.
There are also cookies and a beverage offered during the afternoon in the lobby.
The 1800 Inn has 2 other adjacent houses; a cottage and a parsonage as well as the main house. We stayed in the Parsonage in the Justin James room on the first floor , which had a 4 poster canopied bed, a 2 person jacuzzi, TV, free wi-fi , private bath and sitting area. I spoke to Elizabeth, the owner about something that needed attention, and she graciously took note and attended to it right away.
There are so many little inns in the area....I have taken the time to do all the searching for you......why not just stay here?

Room Tip: Rooms on the rear of the buildings are quiet from street traffic. Come in late September where the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jocar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsend, DE USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We found the Arlington Inn to be a welcoming spot. The owners Eric & Elizabeth were visible and ready to help. The accomodations were comfortable and fit the period.Our heat was from an open fireplace operated by a thermostat. We were on the 2nd floor and I must admit the stairs
could be a challenge. The food was excellent. Breakfast ,which was included ,was prepared to
your liking and the restaurant had a varied menu and dinner was a treat. The wait staff was
cheerful and attentive.

Room Tip: The main building rooms contained seating areas with open fireplaces wjich provided heat and ambianc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

My husband and myself have stayed numerous times at the Inn. The owners could not be more accommodating. The morning breakfast, afternoon snack and dinner were exceptional, we never eat anywhere's else, even when we are visiting Arlington for the day we book reservations for dinner. Our room was comfortable and clean, surrounding grounds nicely groomed with beautiful gardens. When in the area the Arlington Inn is where we always stay. I would strongly recommend this place to my friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulcarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed one night ( thank heavens)! Rhonda's room may not have shown the full potential of this historic building. The room was musty and damp smelling, the lady owner didn't bat an eyelid when I had to ask for a scented candle to get rid of the smell. Room was nicely decorated and clean. The front step was a stone not a proper step up so be careful! WiFi was nonexistent in this room. The soggy walk in the morning across the grass was not what I expected. ( Put some flag stones down). The food was fine however the floor in the breakfast area was littered with dead insects, that had obviously been there awhile. Out of two weeks touring New England this was the only let down.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kamasakura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlinn, Manager at Arlington Inn, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
We are sorry to hear that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations. We strive to make our Inn as comfortable and welcoming as possible to all of our guests. Feedback from our guests, both positive and negative, helps us to continually improve upon ourselves. Since your stay we have completed some renovations of Rhoda's Room, most notably the installation of a stone walkway and patio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

Spent a night with my sister in a large room with two double beds. We were very comfortable, with the only problem being a noisy air conditioner. The beds were fine, the room clean, and the breakfast the next day was exceptional. I'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank piet51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We were thoroughly impressed with the Arlington Inn. It`s a beautiful place, relaxing and comfortable with lots of attention to detail.. The gardens were gorgeous with so much to explore. Lucinda`s Suite was spacious and charming. The breaskfasts and dinners were consistently delicious. The staff went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. We look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Haehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington
12.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Bennington
Hampton Inn Bennington
#1 of 8 in Bennington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
12.6 mi away
Knotty Pine Motel
Knotty Pine Motel
#3 of 8 in Bennington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.8 mi away
West Mountain Inn
West Mountain Inn
#1 of 8 in Arlington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Ira Allen House Bed and Breakfast
13.7 mi away
Four Chimneys Inn
Four Chimneys Inn
#1 of 9 in Bennington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
13.7 mi away
Paradise Inn
Paradise Inn
#4 of 8 in Bennington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arlington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arlington Inn

Property: Arlington Inn
Address: 3904 Vt Route 7a, Arlington, VT 05250-4456
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Arlington Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet Village between Manchester and Bennington, the Inn is convenient to the diversions that each season has to offer. Walk to golf, swimming; fly-fishing on the Battenkill River and the Rockwell Exhibition. Nearby you can enjoy shopping, theater, antiquing, museums, hiking, canoeing, horseback riding, cross-country and downhill skiing.Country Gardens with Gazebo, Elegant guest rooms, private baths, television, phone, WiFi service and air conditioning. Many feature Fireplaces, Jacuzzi’s, Porch & Patios.Dining is an exquisite experience, Romantic, candlelit dinners are served fireside.Weddings, Rehearsal Dinners & Retreats are brimming with outstanding cuisine, excellent service and romantic surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Arlington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arlington Hotel Arlington
Arlington Inn Vermont - Green Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing