We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i love it and it was wonderful”
Review of Arlington Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arlington Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Arlington B&B and Inns
Omaha
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“i love it and it was wonderful”
Reviewed 1 December 2006

We enjoyed the peace and quite, it was also beaufitul. The in sits in a quant town and is very comforting like home. Its not like every other corporate place. It's filled with people who are friendly too. The food is great, and nothing beats hanging around and having coffee. You can hang out in the peaceful garden or take a walk under the large trees. During winter there is skiing and snuggling by the fire. Its very close to the larger towns that have shopping and skiing. I would go back in a second and plan on it.

  • Liked — peace and quiet, beautiful
  • Tips/Secrets — spend a few days there and just relax
  • Stayed December 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank longboarderluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    24
    10
    19
    12
See reviews for
28
89
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Arlington Inn for several days this summer. It was exactly what you would expect of an historic Inn. The location was perfect, the grounds were gorgeous, the Inn was beautiful.
Our room was large, charming, and very clean. The staff was outstanding. They were gracious and so helpful.
The meals were amazing. We were more than surprised by the variety and quality of food. Exceptional meals!
We would highly recommend this Inn. We had a great stay and look forward to returning soon.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank Haehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2006

Having stayed at the Arlington Inn some time ago, we decided to go back. It was a very disappointing stay. Our room in the adjacent Parsonage house was extremely "tired" and had a very strong mildew odor. It was also chilly and the heat is not controlled in the room. The furnishings are worn and one of the chairs was stained.
Although the owners and staff were pleasant enough, they seemed overwhelmed by the Inn. The grounds are not kept up.
The Inn needs much updating and maintenance.
We did not have dinner there but breakfast was very good.
Unless we were assured that the space has been updated, we would not go back. There are many other beautiful inns in the area for a comparable rate which in this case was very high for the state of the Inn.

  • Liked — breakfast
  • Disliked — musty odor
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marymb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 7 June 2006

My husband and I just got back from a very refreshing stay at the Arlington Inn. Our lovely suite offered all of the amenties from home & then some with the king bed, two fireplaces and 2 person jacuzzi. As we selected from a full breakfast menu each morning, we could watch the birds at the feeder just outside of the solarium windows as well as the chipmunks. At our leisure we toured the area which offers a varitey of outtings from scenic drives through the mountains to some of my favorite antiquing. This was only to be topped by our dining experience. Dave, the bartender/waiter is a very talented individual when it comes to dining & wine and has a great sense of humor. We had a fabulous four course dinner along with a great bottle of wine. Try the Arlington Inn "Mixed Grill" for a real treat!

As we were leaving we noticed a brochure offering some of their different summer packages....We'll be back!

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 496 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2005

Husband and I stayed at Arlington Inn last week. Let me start off by saying that check in was pleasant, but they certainly do not go out of their way to accommodate. We were escorted to our room by a woman (don’t know if it was the owner or not) and I asked, as she let us in, where I could find some ice, and her reply was "oh I should have asked you at the main house if you wanted some, because it is there"...and then she walked out, her response should have been, "let me get some for you"...but I digress....
Got the Zadok Room in adjoining building down street, which was disappointing, since we had to get boots on and coats zipped before heading out for meals or drinks at the main house. Room was very musty smelling, and while looking for the "secret drawer" in the room, I happened across 4 very large deodorizers under bed. I guess this is an ongoing
problem. Room was average size, and kind of drafty, and you do not control the temperature in room which was a bummer, but there was a space heater in closet. Bathroom was in need of serious updating, wait let me rephrase that, the room was in need of serious updating. Toilet and sink were old and dingy, and furniture in room was pretty worn. Curtains were ok, but blinds were broken. There was a large family next to us which indicated that the walls were way to thin, they sounded as if they were in the room with us!
We had a drink before dinner in the bar area, which is terribly lit, a few candles and a couple of nice comfortable chairs would make this space really cozy...Dinner was served by the bartender who insisted on "running" during service, and he was not professional. It made a lousy meal unbearable and we couldn't wait to get up from the table. Food at dinner was awful. I generally am happy with a mediocre meal, but this meal was awful. Plus the menu choices were few and far between. I think there were 7 choices, and 2 were sold out. I had the Pork Tenderloin It was more like pork medallions pounded super thin and smeared with canned gravy, very tough to eat. Husband had Salmon, and it was VERY FISHY smelling and tasting. Considering we waited for 35 minutes for them to seat us we weren't going to send it back.
We slept fine, kept the space heater on, and it was comfortable. The next morning, we had breakfast, only complaint was that the room (sunroom) was super cold. But the breakfast and servers we excellent. Corned Beef Hash was delicious!! Servers were always with a smile and never looked "rushed" although the room was full, that is service.
All in all the entire main house seemed nice, but since we were only there for meals, we didn't get to check out the rooms.
Also, I thought it was strange that a room of that price, had no blowdryer, or any tissues available, we used toilet paper. There also wasn't any extra blankets or pillows or a radio (the alarm was just that, an alarm). Strange...
My humble opinion, that this Inn, needs a good cleaning and sprucing, not only of the furniture and decor, but the employees as well. There are too many other $200 a night Inns that blow Arlington Inn away.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Homergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 October 2005

We booked 4 rooms in the Carriage House about 6 months in advance & made payment in full. We picked the specified rooms based on the photos on their website. In fact, they overcharged us & they sent us a refund with a confirmed list of our reserved rooms. However, when we arrived, we did not get the rooms we reserved in the Carriage House. Elizabeth, the owner, has changed all our rooms to rooms that were less nice & smelly. We thought this action was very unprofessional & unbusinesslike. We were very unhappy & would not recommend this type of business practice to anyone.

Stayed October 2005
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2005

Every October we visit the Arlington/Manchester area in Vermont for leaf-peeping. We usually stay at the wonderful Battenkill Inn B&B, but in 2003 it was booked and we decided to cough up the extra cash and stay at the considerably more expensive Arlington Inn. The Inn looks beautiful from highway 7A, especially in autumn. But we quickly found that the luxury it promises on the outside isn't delivered on the inside. We stayed in one of the upper rooms in the carriage house for $200 per night. The bed was the most uncomfortable bed I've every slept in, I couldn't believe it. The bathroom was great--HUGE, with a separate stall for the toilet. but the room itself was cramped (it was actually SMALLER than the bathroom) and the bed was too near the fireplace to make it comfortable to use the fireplace at night. Breakfast was decent, and our one dinner at the Inn was forgettable. This place isn't worth the price. I would highly recommend the Battenkill Inn for both value and service instead.

  • Stayed October 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zelphie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington
10.4 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
621 reviews
7.5 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
322 reviews
12.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Bennington
Hampton Inn Bennington
#1 of 8 in Bennington
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Ira Allen House Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
West Mountain Inn
West Mountain Inn
#1 of 8 in Arlington
383 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Inn at Ormsby Hill
The Inn at Ormsby Hill
#3 of 12 in Manchester
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arlington Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arlington Inn

Property: Arlington Inn
Address: 3904 Vt Route 7a, Arlington, VT 05250-4456
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Arlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Arlington Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet Village between Manchester and Bennington, the Inn is convenient to the diversions that each season has to offer. Walk to golf, swimming; fly-fishing on the Battenkill River and the Rockwell Exhibition. Nearby you can enjoy shopping, theater, antiquing, museums, hiking, canoeing, horseback riding, cross-country and downhill skiing.Country Gardens with Gazebo, Elegant guest rooms, private baths, television, phone, WiFi service and air conditioning. Many feature Fireplaces, Jacuzzi’s, Porch & Patios.Dining is an exquisite experience, Romantic, candlelit dinners are served fireside.Weddings, Rehearsal Dinners & Retreats are brimming with outstanding cuisine, excellent service and romantic surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Arlington Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arlington Hotel Arlington
Arlington Inn Vermont - Green Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing