We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ira Allen House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 8 Arlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Lovely inn with charming hosts, very nice rooms and great company. Couldn't ask for more friendly & helpful hosts then Kevin & Michael who were always ready with a great dinner suggestion, local story, fresh baked cookie or a tune on the piano. Breakfasts were very good & always started with delicious locally made yogurt & often included fruits from their property.

The inn is located next to the Battenkill River and since we were travelling with our kayaks Kevin suggested that we put in at their spot and paddle the river. Great idea & we saw many scenic views during our journey. I'd suggest if you have kayaks to bring them along if you choose to stay here.

This was our first stay at the Ira Allen Inn but I'm sure that we'll be back in the not too distant future.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank UCONN79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 150 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

If you are looking for a cozy, historic B&B away from the crowds, this is the place for you. Situated just outside of the bustle of Manchester, but only 10 mins away for shopping/dining. Innkeepers Kevin and Michael were friendly and always so helpful. Always making sure we had dinner plans and helping make reservations as well. Breakfast was delicious and almost "made to order" with asking how we like our eggs or pancakes. Yum! Michael not only does impromptu piano recitals, but was especially gracious with a bonus canoe drop off/pick up service off the Battenkill River right across the street. Room was very comfortable with an electric stove/extra blankets for those chilly nights. And don't be surprised if an impromptu nightly knitting circle pops up because that's how much at home you will feel here.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maif17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This Inn is the real thing. A lovely 18th century home situated on historic route 7A in Southern Vt. I liked that it was away from the business of Manchester, yet only a stones-throw away. The house is charming and I felt welcome the moment I walked through the door. Only a couple miles down the road is the Arlington recreational area with walking/running trails, tennis courts and a gold course - all free. I took a canoe trip down the Battenkill River which runs alongside the Inn's property. The owner graciously dropped me off and picked me up at the end of my relaxing journey. The breakfast was good- especially the omelet made with fresh tomatoes and herbs grown on the premises. The bed was super comfortable, and the pillows were nicely, but not overly firm. If you are looking for a cookie cutter accommodation, or pretentiousness stuffiness, this probably isn't the place for you. But if you want to feel at home - this is a great place for a few nights stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coopsoccer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

1st stay here- Kevin & Michael awesome, appreciated their knowledge of things to do & places to eat. Area is beautiful & we enjoyed hiking & biking. Also enjoyed the good mattress, nice shower, hair dryer & the little Dixie cups! They went out of their way to make our stay special.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

My son and I recently enrolled in an Orvis Fly Fishing Class in Manchester, VT. The class was great and our experience was made perfect by choosing to stay at the Ira Allen House, just a quick 7 miles from the store. The hosts, Kevin and Michael have created a wonderfully cozy, comfortable inn that we will be sure to revisit. The hosts are very personable, Kevin prepared an excellent breakfast for us, the inn is very clean, beautifully decorated, plus the 2-bedroom suite was perfect for our needs. They even offer a discount for those taking an Orvis class! The only thing wrong is we could not stay longer! We plan to fix that next time...

Manchester can be pricey. This inn was very reasonably priced and worth every penny.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EastendDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

What a wonderful stay! Kevin and Michael are Fabulous Hosts. Te home is charming yet updated with all the amenities. The honor bar is so convenient for a cold drink or a snack even in the middle of the night. Saw Sound of Music for the first time thanks to the extensive DVD collection. All the attractions and shops are close and they gave great a recommendation for Johnathan's Table for dinner and got us in with a last minute reservation on a Saturday night!. Having never been to the area they were close to everything and recommended all the must see spots and shopping and had coupons and or discounted tickets for everything we did or wanted to do. The price was very reasonable and the BREAKFAST was outstanding and the fresh baked cookies and the smell of them filing the house on arrival was awesome. This is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidditucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

A very comfortable place to stay in a most interesting historic B&B. Innkeepers Kevin and Michael were very welcoming, friendly, helpful and informative. We thoroughly enjoyed our delicious breakfasts. Everything was fresh and had been purchased locally. We will definitely recommend this B&B to friends and will certainly stay here again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveljunkieOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington
8.0 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
655 reviews
5.1 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
343 reviews
8.3 mi away
Olympia Lodge
Olympia Lodge
#3 of 16 in Manchester
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Bennington
Hampton Inn Bennington
#1 of 8 in Bennington
735 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hill Farm Inn
Hill Farm Inn
#2 of 8 in Arlington
74 reviews
4.4 mi away
Wilburton Inn
Wilburton Inn
#4 of 12 in Manchester
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ira Allen House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ira Allen House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 6311 Vt Route 7a, Arlington, VT 05250-8433
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Arlington
Price Range: £110 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ira Allen House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ira Allen House is one of the oldest inns in Vermont, and is the historical home of Ethan and Ira Allen, surveyors of Vermont and leaders of the Green Mountain Boys. Nestled in the heart of the Green Mountains, with direct frontage on the Battenkill River, the inn is a perfect home base for skiing, biking, canoeing, golfing, fly-fishing, and a host of other outdoor activities. Manchester, with its fantastic assortment boutiques, outlets and restaurants, is 5 miles to the north. All the rooms are suites and are ideal for families and groups. Two suites have private fireplaces.A full country breakfast is included in the room rate. Family-style dinner available with advanced notice for a reasonable charge.We invite you to enjoy the beauty of Vermont, the charm of our historic home, and warm hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Ira Allen House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ira Allen House Bed And Breakfast Arlington, Vermont - Green Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing