We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful taste of Vermont!”
Review of West Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
West Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Arlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We stayed at the West Mountain Inn for my cousins wedding on July 4th. The inn and grounds are absolutely breathtaking and the staff and meals were top notch! We will definately come back again. Tat yourself and stay at this lovely country inn.

Room Tip: All rooms were beautiful but for added space request the handicap accessible room. Worked out great...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bbergy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (386)
There are newer reviews for West Mountain Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 386 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2011

This is our 5th time here and first visit during the warmer months. Beautiful! Always have visited in the winter with a large group of friends for skiing, shopping and fun times. We love it here! Sarah's Room is our favorite. Quiet and peaceful. Owner Amie and staff are wonderful! Many of the staff have been there for years. Food is great too. Can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aprillu0155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We stayed at the West Mountain Inn over the past June, 2011 weekend. It was lovely, even if it rained nearly the entire time. The Inn is charming, particularly because it's still kind of funky. It's not luxury, but you won't want for much. There aren't phones or TVs in the room, which suited us fine. WiFi was fast and never faltered. That was a huge bonus. Most big hotels can't boast that. What made this Inn so great was that we stayed there with two kids, ages 4 and 6. That's kind of rough, as some of you with kids may know. It's hard to keep kids quiet and occupied. First, our room (Norman Rockwell) was huge and had not only a large king-sized bed but also three built-in sleeping nooks. The kids were crazy for these, and they made bedtime so simple. Just toss the kids into a nook, and done. Also, great for storing their toys/animals/stuff. Kept the room cleaner. I also slept in a nook, as my husband snores. I felt it was comfortable and great, even for an adult. The breakfast, which is provided, was tasty. It wasn't the best food I've ever head (whoever cooks the eggs cooks them far too long), but the muffins were tasty and I felt satisfied each morning. The steel cut oats were great. Real maple syrup, of course. Coffee was strong and good enough for my liking, which is not always the case in hotels. The hotel/inn itself is also kid friendly. The staff never seemed annoyed with my kids running about. There is a game room and a toy/play room, both open to kids. The outdoor space has a swing set and teeter-totter, very charming. There are also some outside kids' toys including a trike and a bulldozer/backhoe which my son LOVED. The outside space is also big enough for the kids to run pretty much free, and the Inn is secluded enough that I didn't worry about them running into the street. All the patrons were friendly. There seem to be a lot of elderly guests, some of whom were annoyed with kids, but overall I felt myself and my kids were quite welcome. I slept well, ate well and relaxed, which is saying a lot while having two youngsters along!

Room Tip: If you have kids, ask for the Norman Rockwell room
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FanLanXin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Only suggestion would be some form of message service for calls received by guests and calls needing to be made by guests for emergencies. Cell phone reception was pretty much non-existant and a check-in option to retrieve messages would have been nice. Otherwise, we felt like we were at a family member's home and oh so comfortable. Owen added to the feeling of "home" and we enjoyed him.

Room Tip: Indicate size of room desired; floor location
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pnbschoen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

Our visit at the Inn was relaxing and memorable. The service is great, staff is very friendly and dinner is delicious. Amie (owner) is a joy to see at all our stays at the Inn. She and her staff are so accommodating, we feel as though we are stating with family. We are 'One of the Folks'! ;-) Our room (#2) was bright and sunny, extremely clean, freshly painted and had a comfy bed. On a day with rain, cold or warm, we take advantage of the trails out back for an relaxing stroll though the woods or an invigorating hike. Close to Manchester Center, we often pop into town for a bit of shopping (usually the wood store).
We love best the warm friendly and relaxing atmosphere, an the fantastic meals prepared by Chef Jeff.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarmaWoodworks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The West Mountain Inn in Arlington, VT, is the perfect place to go when you just want to get away from it all for a few days. The atmosphere is peaceful and relaxed. The owner and staff are so friendly. They have a barn with alpacas in case you love alpacas (that is what lured us here the first time). Hiking trails and beautiful views abound. Plenty of places to have a wedding if you were looking for that. The food... in a word... awesome. The dinner is worth every penny of the fixed price. It is not for those of you looking for a "resort" or rooms of super high quality with brand new fixtures, etc. A great place to go as a group since there is a lot of common area to hang out. I would definitely return (I've been there twice so far).

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flower_GirlCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2011

The food, the rooms and hospitality are first class. Everyone is kind and helpful to make sure your stay is perfect.

Room Tip: Each room is unique and of museum quality.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ester94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington
10.9 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#2 of 16 in Manchester
643 reviews
8.0 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
336 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Bennington
Hampton Inn Bennington
#1 of 8 in Bennington
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hill Farm Inn
Hill Farm Inn
#3 of 8 in Arlington
66 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Ira Allen House Bed and Breakfast
6.2 mi away
The Inn at Ormsby Hill
The Inn at Ormsby Hill
#3 of 12 in Manchester
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Mountain Inn

Address: 144 Mountain View Dr, Intersection River Rd and Rte 313, Arlington, VT 05250-9116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Arlington
Price Range: £139 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors to the West Mountain Inn are surrounded by spacious, antique-filled guest rooms, fantastic views, and 150 acres of gardens, lawns, and woodlands. Guests can explore miles of trails, visit alpacas, walk our labyrinth, flyfish or canoe the Battenkill River and relax in the Adirondack chairs on the front lawn. The Inn’s wood-paneled dining room provides the perfect setting for the lavish breakfasts and sumptuous 5-course dinners created daily by our award-winning chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your West Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Mountain Hotel Arlington
West Mountain Inn Arlington, Vermont - Green Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing