We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable, traditional inn”
Review of West Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
West Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Arlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We visited during a quiet time at the inn, which meant easy and very prompt service in the restaurant. It has beautiful common rooms, which when we were there were unoccupied, and a fair assortment of rooms and suites, which we wandered through since they were untenanted. Our room had a fantastic view of the Green Mountains, and we could see them in sun, rain and fog -- a complete spectrum, and each view was gorgeous. Arlington is quite something -- every other house seems to be an inn or b&b -- presumably the owners patronize one another. This is definitely Bob Newhart country. We appreciated the inn putting a standard service charge on -- meaning no tips, no inner struggle over what to leave, no surprises on checkout. Food was very good, and perhaps just a tad too plentiful.

Room Tip: Friomn what we could judge,m moist of the rooms had some design or view feature to recommend them. O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winst0n4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

192 - 198 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

This hotel is surrounded by an absolutely amazing landscape. We spent 2 nights in Booker T. Washington room : the view is stunning, and it definitely worth spending a little bit more. The hotel is charming and cozy, the garden is beautiful and the lama farm is cute.
But the bathroom needs to be updated: some fixtures are broken, the antique sink is original but not very convenient, the bath tub is old.
Nevertheless we had a great time and definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontrealIkra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Had a great weekend (Sun-Tue) at the West Mountain Inn. Great food, great service, super comfortable accommodations. A truly wonderful spot in southern Vermont with access to many local activities. And if you want to drive a distance, very little traffic.

Room Tip: Study them on the web. No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

My daughter recently got married at the Inn. From the Friday night barbecue through the Sunday brunch the weekend was perfect. The staff are all friendly, hard working and accommodating. The grounds are beautiful and the barn was a perfect place for the reception. The food was delicious. Our family will continue to visit the inn for years to come, as we have in the past. Now the visits will have a whole new meaning.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbb122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I just spent two nights at the fabulous West Mountain Inn and had a wonderful time. The gardens and grounds of the inn are beautiful, the rooms are charming, the beds are comfortable and the meals were delicious. We did a hike up the mountain and went tubing on the lovely, nearby Battenkill River. The service was top-notch: friendly and solicitous when necessary yet the inn also provides a relaxed vibe that allows for lingering over meals, relaxing walks among the flowers and mountain views and a peaceful ambience to the west mountain inn that makes it a destination I hope to return to again and again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjdunion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We dined at the West Mountain Inn recently and had a memorable experience. The Inn is a bit up a steep unpaved road just outside Arlington. There's a spacious dining room, as well as a bar area and sitting room. We got a friendly welcome and were seated immediately (we had reservations, which is recommended). The menu was prix fixe: an appetizer, salad, sorbet, main course, and dessert--all for a VERY reasonable price. The food was off-the-charts delicious, local, and in portion sizes neither too small nor too large. Service was on the leisurely to slow side, which turned out ok since there were a number of courses, so it actually helped to stretch things out. We would definitely commend this restaurant to others. Only one minor negative: the hard wooden chairs were a bit of a challenge over a long dinner. Even more so since we had spent several hours during the day riding bicycles! Cushions would have been welcome.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Brant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We will stay at the West Mountain Inn any chance we have. The setting is lovely, the staff most helpful and the rooms a pleasure to be in. The gardens are well kept. We will definitely go back ... our next vacation won't come soon enough.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington
10.9 mi away
Manchester View
Manchester View
#3 of 16 in Manchester
661 reviews
8.0 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#1 of 16 in Manchester
343 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Bennington
Hampton Inn Bennington
#1 of 8 in Bennington
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hill Farm Inn
Hill Farm Inn
#2 of 8 in Arlington
74 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arlington Inn
Arlington Inn
#4 of 8 in Arlington
151 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Ira Allen House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Mountain Inn

Address: 144 Mountain View Dr, Intersection River Rd and Rte 313, Arlington, VT 05250-9116
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Arlington
Price Range: £143 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors to the West Mountain Inn are surrounded by spacious, antique-filled guest rooms, fantastic views, and 150 acres of gardens, lawns, and woodlands. Guests can explore miles of trails, visit alpacas, walk our labyrinth, flyfish or canoe the Battenkill River and relax in the Adirondack chairs on the front lawn. The Inn’s wood-paneled dining room provides the perfect setting for the lavish breakfasts and sumptuous 5-course dinners created daily by our award-winning chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your West Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Mountain Hotel Arlington
West Mountain Inn Arlington, Vermont - Green Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing