We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll Return!”
Review of West Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
West Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Arlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 7 January 2014

No matter where you go, most everything is secondary to the people you deal with. At the West Mountain Inn, we encountered a wonderful staff, from Amy (innkeeper) to so many others-everyone was so very nice, pleasant and accommodating. This place has a thoroughly relaxed vibe, which is precisely what we had hoped for. Very comfortable, beautiful, private setting. If you're looking to escape the bright lights, glitz and big-screen TV's (!) then this the place.
We look forward to returning and seeing our new 'friends' again. One other note of importance: they offer a room with a wonderful handicapped access bathroom, including a large walk-in (roll-in) shower-perfect for our elderly relative who did not have to worry about dealing with a tub to step over.

Room Tip: Room #1-'Booker T. Washington' is quiet, private and has a comfortable King bed. (Just don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (405)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 405 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

We can't say enough about how lovely the inn is for a relaxing, comfortable visit. We stayed last year and this year right after New Years when the house was decorated for Christmas. Snow shoed and visited the alpacas but it was too cold to do much outdoors. We were fine with sitting by the fire and having wine with friends who joined us from Syracuse. Excellent food, we ate dinner twice and enjoyed all the 5-course meals. Breakfast is huge and also very good. Staff are all friendly and provide you with all that you need or ask for. Not too far from downhill ski resorts.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GoGators2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My husband and I had stayed here before in the spring, but made our first winter visit due to a special they had. It was such a great deal. The room we stayed in was lovely with a great view, sitting room, and wood burning fire. Like always the food is amazing. We'd have dinner here even if we weren't staying at the hotel. Little touches like coffee and cookies available all day, hiking trails (with snow shoe you can use), and nice bathroom amenities (the body lotion is great!) make this place stand out versus other places we've stayed. Looking forward to another trip.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimberly215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at West Mountain Inn for her birthday (Dec. 23-24) on our way to CT. We spent the early part of the day in Manchester (just a few minutes north) and had lunch at the Equinox.Between the Equinox and WM Inn we really got into the Christmas spirit (think of all those old romantic movies about Christmas at a Vermont Inn).
We arrive at 4 pm and were very pleased with our room. They first took us on a tour of the inn before we settled in. One thing that was a particular delight was dinner. We ate at the inn which attracts quite an outside, local clientele. Dinner was great and everything was changed to our room which - another surprise - we found to be very reasonable at checkout time. The Inn is gorgeous and the staff was great. After dinner we enjoyed an evening in front of the fireplace and just sipped wine, talked and enjoyed the Christmas music. We live on the Vermont border in upstate NY and spend a lot of time in VT. This is my best bet for a reasonably price, romantic stay with a great restaurant and ambiance.When do folks nowadays just get to slow down and smell the roses. This is the place I'd recommend to do it.
My wife said it was her best birthday ever.

Room Tip: check travezoo.com for Vermont Inn deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Idjit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

This is a charming inn on Vermont hills. The main house is very comfortable and attractive. Because we have dogs, we stayed at the Mill House down the hill. Usually "dog houses" are not the most comfortable, but this place was lovely, right over the Batten Kill river, and it was a house, not just a room: large kitchen and dining room with a wood burning stove, and 2 bedrooms upstairs. Very sweet. If you have dogs, don't hesitate. The staff was very accommodating and friendly. I highly recommend this spot.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Last week end was pure pleasure at the West Mountain Inn. We celebrated our friends birthday complete with a delicious cake made by the chef. The West Mountain Inn has this feeling of comfort and warmth, the staff makes you feel like family. I can see why large groups of friends and family return year after year to enjoy the delicious food, the calm comfort and the beautiful grounds. Thank-you to Amy, the chef and all of the wonderful staff!

Room Tip: Go for a king size and a fireplace room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BETHANY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

What could possibly be better than spending time at the West Mountain Inn? Staying there for a fraction of the usual cost, that's what! We recently booked another trip to this amazing B&B during their November mid-week promotion and spent a wonderful 2 night stay in the Rockwell Kent suite. While we definitely appreciated the spaciousness of this room and the inviting king size bed, the primary reason we requested it was for the real wood burning fireplace. Relaxing in front of the toasty fire each evening with a good bottle of wine was the best way to wrap up our days. Although the Rockwell Kent suite has some antique furnishings which are certainly pretty to look at and which contribute to the overall pleasing impression of the suite, these "romantic" pieces do not receive high marks in the creature comfort category. I was very pleased to find that a couple of user friendly arm chairs had been placed in this room in addition to the vintage pieces. The bathroom has been totally upgraded - we loved the new dual shower and tiled floor!

Being able to have dinner on the premises is an added perk as there are not many dining options in the immediate vicinity of the inn. Our dinner was delicious and beautifully presented. We were seated at a cozy fireside table which further enhanced our dining experience. Breakfast each morning was plentiful with many selections available. Each morning we were enthusiastically greeted by Mary Beth when we arrived in the dining room. This lady is so incredibly gracious and made certain that our day started off in the best possible fashion. She knew our first names and used them which just added to that overall "at home" feeling that is so prevalent at West Mountain Inn. West Mountain is a truly remarkable place in Vermont where it is entirely possible to simply enjoy being who you are, enjoy being where you are, and enjoy being with that special person in your life. We have been lamenting the fact that our visit was far too short and we are looking forward to our next visit to this magical spot. While the purpose of our trip was just to be able to spend some time away from the stress and demands of our daily routines, we managed a visit to Hildene and highly recommend it as a "must see" when in the Arlington/Manchester area.

Room Tip: The Rockwell Kent suite is very spacious with a comfortable king size bed. It has a true wood burnin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yuki626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington
7.9 mi away
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant
8.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester
8 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#2 of 16 in Manchester
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Arlington Inn
Arlington Inn
#5 of 8 in Arlington
154 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hill Farm Inn
Hill Farm Inn
#2 of 8 in Arlington
90 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Ira Allen House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Mountain Inn

Address: 144 West Mountain Inn Road, Intersection River Rd and Rte 313, Arlington, VT 05250
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Arlington
Price Range: £137 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors to the West Mountain Inn are surrounded by spacious, antique-filled guest rooms, fantastic views, and 150 acres of gardens, lawns, and woodlands. Guests can explore miles of trails, visit alpacas, walk our labyrinth, flyfish or canoe the Battenkill River and relax in the Adirondack chairs on the front lawn. The Inn’s wood-paneled dining room provides the perfect setting for the lavish breakfasts and sumptuous 5-course dinners created daily by our award-winning chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your West Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Mountain Hotel Arlington
West Mountain Inn Arlington, Vermont - Green Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing