We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Vermont Inn”
Review of West Mountain Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
West Mountain Inn
Ranked #1 of 8 Arlington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The Inn is a lovely collection of distinctive rooms, each well decorated with true character, not fussy preciousness. We stayed in the Robert Todd Lincoln room, but had a chance to peek into all the others. Our room had a fairly large set of windows which added appeal and offered a good view of the distant mountains.

We stayed midweek and pretty much had the run of the place in the off-season. We sat in the nice library with a great view into the gardens and I read aloud to my husband since no one else was about.

I can see why the Inn is ideal for weddings. We visited in early spring and the gardens were just being awakened, but I expect the setting is wonderful when all is in bloom. The main signs of life during our stay were the four alpacas who were fun to visit in their nearby barn.

Sadly, the kitchen was closed for dinner but we were served a very fine breakfast.

The Inn is very well maintained, and the building itself a gem worth preserving. Do your part to keep it flourishing with a visit! You'll be thanked with an African violet to take home, a very nice touch. If you are accustomed to lavish bath products and high-thread count sheets, I have to let you know that there are no little take-home bottles, just bulk pumps of soap and shampoo. The towels and sheets are mediocre, and the bathrooms are pretty simple affairs with vinyl flooring, not tile. There's some good rustic wood panelling to give the bathroom more character, and there's a high standard of cleanliness throughout the Inn.

The staff was pleasant and cheerful, and we felt welcome without being smothered with hospitality. We enjoyed our visit and everything about the Inn, indoors and out.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (402)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014

We happened upon this hidden gem...We were pleasantly surprised. Our room was lovely, clean and comfortable. We stayed in the Honeymoon suite even though we've been married 25 years! We looked at all the rooms , each one exceptionally unique. Relaxing-peaceful property. We had a yummy 5 course dinner and one of the best breakfasts ever. It does feel like home away from home. The staff was very accommodating. We definitely will try and return with our entire family.

Room Tip: We were in Suite #10. Most of the rooms do not have TV's . This is a place for relaxation, a wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tsegner16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed at the Mill House (separate from the Main Inn) in October 2013:

Pros: 2 bedrooms, 1 bath and separate living area at a reasonable price. FANTASTIC breakfast at the main house each morning. Lovely views and very peaceful setting. Management was very nice. The linens and the bathroom were very clean. 10 minutes from Manchester

Cons: Very musty smell in the town home we were in. So bad in the master BR dresser that I lived out of my suitcase for fear my clothes would smell if unpacked. The floors and the living area/kitchen did not appear to be freshly cleaned. I felt like maybe we had opened up a moth closet upon entering the town home. I just feel that if its in budget it would HELP not HURT to update the town home a little. At least the one we were in. Also, while we felt fairly secluded, the first town home DOES face the driveway so in order to obtain full privacy we had to close the blinds and it was very dark inside. Also note: we were the only people in the Mill House, it accommodates 2 other couples/ families and I would imagine you could hear each other easily. It did not seem to be a very private place. If this is important to you, check other reviewers or ask management on this as I am just speculating.

Thankfully, this trip was about the foliage so we really only retreated to our accommodations to sleep. If you are planning a romantic getaway, I would look at the Inn or the Cottage or ask if they have updated the Mill House before booking. If you're like us, a mother/daughter duo going to enjoy the area then you can't go wrong for the price and separate room accommodations. Just bring some Fabreeze and maybe request a dehumidifier. ;)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MojoAndOdiesMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Each time we stay here we cannot believe it. The place really lets you feel like you are at home.The whole staff is very friendly.They try to help you out in any way you need.The breakfast beats any other place we have stayed and the dinner has always been excellent.The room are all so nice and the Inn should get 5stars.

Room Tip: Each room is unique and clean and it would be nice to choose a different one each time you stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdRd75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We were lucky enough to have our wedding at the West Mt. Inn, surrounded by our closest friends and family for the weekend. I cannot say enough wonderful things about the Inn, we were so sad to leave as it was an amazing weekend. The property is beautiful, we took advantage of the snowshoeing and the fantastic breakfasts each morning. The waitstaff each morning was excellent, and the owner really went out of her way to make our stay memorable. Many of our friends took the short drive to Manchester too, but loved the secluded location of the Inn. We cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in Wes's Suite...Beautiful room with all windows, fireplace, full kitchen-it was great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at the West Mountain Inn for a second time in February with friends and found this experience to be better than the first. We booked a weekend getaway special which included the room rate for two nights, two breakfasts and one dinner at the Inn, as well offers and discounts to local businesses. Overall it was well worth the money and a great way to spend the weekend. Our room, the Carl Ruggles Suite, was nicely appointed and very clean. Nice linens, and updated bathroom and overall nice space for relaxing. The bed could have been a bit better as I found my wife and I both tended to roll towards the middle during the night. My only other complaint was the shower head which was low and didn't have much pressure.

The meals at the Inn continued to impress, dinner was well prepared, service was excellent and the food better than anything else we found the area. Breakfast is a strong suit at the Inn, with good selection.

The surrounding area provided plenty to do for a three day weekend and the offers we received complimentary from the Inn were well used.

Overall we'd return to the Inn for a third visit as we found it much improved over our first.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpirog85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We had a wonderful time at West Mountain Inn with old friends. Alot of snow and we did a little snowshoeing. Very relaxing and restful. We have been going there for years. Dinner was delicious but second night it took a longer time to get our entrees.

Room Tip: We love the Norman Rockwell room with the nooks when we had little kids. Still like that room!! Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMMRidgefieldCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington
8 mi away
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
Kimpton Taconic Hotel
#2 of 16 in Manchester
362 reviews
0.8 mi away
Arlington Inn
Arlington Inn
#5 of 8 in Arlington
153 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Ira Allen House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Hill Farm Inn
Hill Farm Inn
#2 of 8 in Arlington
85 reviews
9.5 mi away
Palmer House
Palmer House
#8 of 16 in Manchester
337 reviews
3.3 mi away
Inn on Covered Bridge Green
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Mountain Inn

Address: 144 West Mountain Inn Road, Intersection River Rd and Rte 313, Arlington, VT 05250
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Vermont > Green Mountains > Arlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Arlington
Price Range: £140 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — West Mountain Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visitors to the West Mountain Inn are surrounded by spacious, antique-filled guest rooms, fantastic views, and 150 acres of gardens, lawns, and woodlands. Guests can explore miles of trails, visit alpacas, walk our labyrinth, flyfish or canoe the Battenkill River and relax in the Adirondack chairs on the front lawn. The Inn’s wood-paneled dining room provides the perfect setting for the lavish breakfasts and sumptuous 5-course dinners created daily by our award-winning chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your West Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
West Mountain Hotel Arlington
West Mountain Inn Arlington, Vermont - Green Mountains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing