We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
West Mountain Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Governor's Rock Motel(Shaftsbury)(Great Value!)
US$86
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Weathervane Motel(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$132
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wilburton Inn(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Equinox Golf Resort & Spa(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$190
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Reluctant Panther Inn & Restaurant(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$241
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kimpton Taconic Hotel(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hampton Inn & Suites Manchester(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$159
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$154
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palmer House(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aspen at Manchester(Manchester)(Great Value!)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
430 results
Traveller rating
346
61
14
7
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
346
61
14
7
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe barnrockwell kenthiking trailsrobert frost roomafrican violetbattenkill riverwedding weekenddaniel websternew englandgrounds are beautifuleach morningliving roomsarah's roomfresh fruitthe main househome away from homewood burning fireplace
Filter
Updating list...
423 - 428 of 430 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2006

My husband and I discovered this inn while on a b&b tour the year before. We were "adopted" by a wonderful group of people who had been coming to the inn for years for a festival that is held each year on that particular weekend. Not only did they show us almost all the rooms in the inn, they invited us to stay for gloog (a wonderful Swedish hot alcoholic drink) and appetizers with them. Well, my husband and I loved the warmth that exuded from that one visit and decided to go the next year on that same weekend. We also told our friends about it so, in all, we were 3 couples. We had a whole 3 bedroom house, which included a fireplace, etc., which made it feel like it was ours. It had snowed the night before, so it was pure magic. Our rooms were large and comfy, food (which is all inclusive) was delicious and we found the same couples from the year before who, once again, adopted us into their crowd - we made cranberry garland for their tree, they each bring an ornament that means something special to them (it's sad also because they told us some of their friends didn't make it back that year due to illness, deaths, etc.) but - it felt just like we were visiting our family - this place just makes you feel totally welcome. We absolutely loved that warm feeling and we already booked for next year - so did all our friends!!!

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cream0616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2005

This is a most attractive and well furnished inn about five minutes drive out of Arlington and within very easy reach of the Manchester area with all its shops and restaurants.

I use the words "the perfect place to get away from it all" because you need to be aware that there are no televisions or radios or music centres in the bedrooms. Take plenty of books, or borrow from the Inn's bookshelves! If you want to find out what is happening in the world there is a television tucked away in the far corner of the bar. We didn't mind all that, though we hadn't realised in advance, and found every other aspect of our stay was excellent.

We stayed in late October when the hotel was not very busy and on arrival we were warmly greeted and shown all round the roomy and beautifully furnished lounge areas - log fires and lots of lovely deep armchairs! - the cleverly thought-out table games area, the bookshelves, the wood panelled but cheerfully furnished dining room, the attractive and well stocked bar, the area where you can make a hot drink and grab a cookie, and finally our room.

We had the Daniel Webster suite, which comprised bedroom and lounge, the latter with lovely views towards the mountain in the distance. Both rooms were spacious and nicely furnished. The central heating controls were shown to us, but it didn't seem to be working, however the weather was not cold enough for this to be an issue and we didn't bother raising it. There was a huge built in gas fire in the bedroom which was very efficient and we just used that when necessary. If you visit in winter you might want to check on arrival that your central heating is definitely working properly. The bedroom is overlooked somewhat from the car park so I might choose a different room next time. We peeked into other rooms that were not in use and they all looked lovely.

We had dinner at the Inn one night which was quite superb, and breakfast two mornings which again were excellent. For breakfast it wasn't explained that you can have as much as you want from the menu! This only became apparent when we observed a couple who had driven over specially for breakfast and had a feast! Service was attentive and friendly on all occasions.

A very nice touch was the large plate of sliced fruits, cheeses and biscuits set out near the lounge early evening, and available to all.

The huge gardens and the dirt drive create an aura of seclusion, and we would not hesitate to visit again for a "get away from it all" (but still within reach of everything!) stay.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trip advisor member 2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2005

If you're dreaming of a Vermont vacation or weekend, then I would urge you to try this part of Vermont. Norman Rockwell lived here for 14 years because of its beauty and charm. Though stores and houses are slowing chipping away at Vermont's rural beauty, this part of the country still retains what people dream of when they dream of New England.

The Inn sits way on top of a hill on a dirt road. The grounds of the Inn are really attractive as is the Inn itself. My husband and I and our 9 year old daughter spent two days here. At the bottom of the hill is the Battenkill River. A must trip here is the 2 hour tubing ride down this river. It flows along corn fields and under a covered bridge. We had a blast. (you can rent tubes at the Sports Quarter and they drop you off on the river) Another nice spot is the covered bridge and home where Norman Rockwell lived. We aalso visited the Norman Rockwell museum. Even though it's small, it's unique in that some of the townspeople he drew as children sometimes show up. This is a quiet and beautiful area. You won't find Mcdonald's or amusement parks.

We stayed in Wes Room at the Inn. It was huge. The main sitting room has chandeliers and a pretty good size kitchen. If you are looking for an "Inn" room I wouldn't recommend this room only because it's more like a well done and beautiful apt. Perfect choice for anyone who wants to cook and stay for a week. I didn't get to see the actual Inn rooms in the main building. Some people prefer not to stay in the building below the main Inn though it did look really nice.

The main Inn is really comfortable and beautiful. We were surprised that when we checked in - we didn't get a tour of the Inn nor were we told anything about the Inn. We were also surprised that there wasn't any old pictures of the Inn or any history written about it laying around. Whenever we went to breakfast or dinner, there wasn't anyone to greet us or seat us. It was kind of uncomfortable because we weren't sure of where to sit or even what room. The food was good.

I would recommend this Inn. My daughter loved the llamas and the wild rabbits we saw on the lawn. We had a great time. They also give you an african violet in memory of your trip. Nice touch!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank watervillevalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Wrentham, Ma.
24
Reviewed 20 September 2004

This inn is an exceptional place. My husband and I have stayed at the inn for birthdays and anniversarys. The rooms are not fancy, but charming, the kind I want to stay in when visiting Vermont. The breakfasts and dinners served at your own private table, are the best to be found anywhere! Both breakfast and dinner have many offerings to choose from and during the cooler months you can eat by firelight. I will admit that we have driven over 3 hours on a Saturday just to eat dinner at the inn. The location is mountainside and very quiet but not too far away from Arlington and Manchester main attractions. Looking forward to our next visit.

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Pearl River, New York
17
Reviewed 26 August 2004

My husband and I have stayed here a number of times, and every one was perfect. Great food, nice accomodations, beautiful countryside. We liked it so much we're thinking of returning for our upcoming 20th wedding anniversary.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews