We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A Dump”

Yankee Village Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yankee Village Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ascutney
Reviewed 9 October 2013

But it was passibly clean, aside form the hairs on the bed cover. Unpainted plastered repairs, Shabby carpet, and pricey! There's another place called "Windsor Motel" down the road, don't know if it's any better.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vineing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (31)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 31 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed here during the Vermont 100 endurance run weekend. The room clearly had not been cleaned or occupied in quite some time as there were spiders and spider webs on every lamp. chair, etc. There were some carpenter ants who had made a home in the baseboards. The air conditioning unit was musky and likely full of mold (it definitely smelled like it). We needed access to a shower and a bed for the weekend and that's what this room provided. It was not comfortable or clean. I would not recommend it if you are looking to sleep comfortably, shower comfortably, etc.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

This is a great place to stay . It is in the area of Reading, and not far from Woodstock. The rooms are very clean. The mattresses are very comfortable, Most hotels use very, very firm mattresses fo longevity. Not this one. The rooms hvar a microwave, coffee maker, and refrigerator. Not bad for $50.00 a night. The only complait was the room can be chilly. A quick call to the service desk remedied this.

Room Tip: Buy things to eat, there aren't any restrarants or stores to purchase items
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahighflyingbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

This is one of many motor lodges you see when driving around New England. We stayed in a few and were very happy. This is not one of them. It is very tired and rundown. We skipped the shower after seeing it's condition. Bed was okay. When checking in, I saw the table with the coffee maker used for the continental breakfast, we didn't stop to try it the next morning.

Until they spend some money and time on this place, I would stay elsewhere. If you are stuck, just sleep and run.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

When it comes to motels my partner and I are not picky. All we require is somewhere clean to rest our heads. Clean is not a word I would use to describe the Yankee Village Motel. The motel was downright filthy. We were given the "suite" which included a living room with a couch and tv. The couch looked as though it had been pick up off the side of the road. It was stained everywhere and was utterly unusable. The entire place smelled of cigarette smoke so badly that we slept with the window open all night (in October!). For 100$ a night we expected better. Furthermore the pictures on the website were nothing like the room we received. At the end of the day we avoided coming back to our room because it was so unpleasant. Luckily we managed to find a movie theater in New Hampshire that kept us busy late into the night. Great location but poor quality! Our advice would be to drive a little bit North and stay in White River Junction, go camping, or splurge for a B and B. Just avoid the Yankee Village.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

Not worth $90. A night! Our friend's room smelled like mold & it took them TWENTY minutes to get hot water. The Continental breakfast is fruit loops in a dusty dispenser in the lobby - the lobby is about as big as a motel bathroom; no chairs or table AND they piled dirty linens in the ice bin outside, so if you wanted ice you had to struggle with the language barrier AGAIN at the lobby.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hemigirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We stayed at the Yankee Village motel about 4 years ago. It was rough but they were in the process of renovating. Well, we decided to give it one more chance since they were renovating 4 years ago. Well it seemed like they didn't renovate a thing. The rooms were musty, the paint was different colors on the wall, the toilet seat fell off when I sat on it, not very clean and the shower curtain was stained on the bottom. Not much room in the shower stall either. When we checked in the lady at the desk couldn't even speak english. I had to talk to someone on a cell phone who spoke english.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ginnyanddave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ascutney
10.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
14.5 mi away
Ludlow Colonial Motel
19.6 mi away
Element Hanover-Lebanon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites White River Junction
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Whi...
#3 of 8 in White River Junction
304 reviews
21.1 mi away
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
#1 of 2 in Hanover
469 reviews
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Mount Ascutney Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yankee Village Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yankee Village Motel

Address: 5380 Route 5 North, Ascutney, VT 05030
Region: United States > Vermont > Ascutney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ascutney
Hotel Class:2 star — Yankee Village Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Yankee Village Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Village Hotel Ascutney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing