We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was not as bad as all the other reviews say!”

Yankee Village Motel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Yankee Village Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ascutney
MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Was not as bad as all the other reviews say!”
Reviewed 12 October 2008

Was not a bad hotel. Older but clean and having renovations done...new windows, paint, A/C. The staff was very friendly and it was very quiet. The hotel was booked, also, the weekend we were there...obviously not that bad.

Stayed October 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank jm0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    4
    5
    8
    12
See reviews for
3
12
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland,Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2008

This place isn't fit for man or beast. This was the most disgusting motel I have ever stayed at. There were exposed wires, scum, and just horrid conditions. I got back home to Ohio and called demanding a refund,but that was out of the question. I went as far as to call the Vermont Dept. of Health to complain. Vermont is dependent on tourist dollars and they don't need places like this to send those dollars across the N.H. state line which is only a few miles by car. Ascutney is a beautiful New England town, but with lodging like this, people will go elsewhere.
Thanks for you time
Stewart Sandstrom
Cleveland,Ohio

  • Liked — When I left
  • Disliked — When I opened the door to the room from hell
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank personality6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ascutney hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Central Vermont
1 review
Reviewed 11 March 2008

This place is such a rip off!!!!! Be extremely cautious when booking and NEVER use a business card to secure your room! They seem to pick a cancellation policy that works for them so they can arbitrarily charge you in the event you need to cancel. Don't even bother - there are more honest places to stay!

  • Disliked — Owned by RUDE foreigners!
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RippedOffTraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2008

This place is a rip-off. They charge one rate for smokers and a higher rate for non-smokers. Their explanation is that non-smokers are in the new rooms and the smokers are delegated to the old. You cannot use the online coupon for 15% off a one night stay if you make a reservation. This is not stated anywhere on the website or the coupon. This discount is only for walkins.

The reservation was never confirmed even though the website states to wait for it. We never ended up staying at the motel because I was injured while skiing and need to head straight home. We had stopped at the motel to let them know that we would not be staying out of consideration and to use our coupon. This was when we found that it was invalid.

We ski quite a bit in that area but I will never ever consider staying there.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Memae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vt
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2007

we stayed there more then three times as we call &booked a room.but every time if we asked for anything they always ready
for give extra .we had wonderfull night .a room was clean and everything look new because they r under remolding.u can get sleep without noise.they have a nice goodybag for guest in a room.nice wall colour.i recomadate motel for stay......

  • Liked — great frendly people
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank meritjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2007

Simply put the Yankee Motel was disgusting.

My husband and I walked into a smoking room and it smelled like it had never been aired out EVER! We almost couldn't get past the nasty stench (and I am a smoker). If it had not been so late we were going to go to the local gas station and get a car air freshner to mask the smell. Our only source of heat was a square electric heater sitting on top of a table. (From reading other people's reviews - I shall consider my self lucky that I did not have to call up to the front to request heat!) There was rust on the mattresses from the springs, burns in all the bedding. The bottom sheet was clean enough to lay on but I used our winter coats and ski jackets as blankets because the rest of the bedding was foul. Towels - none, which was okay because there was NO WAY we were going to use their NASTY shower. The smoke dectector was in a draw with no batteries. You could see car lights beeming underneath the door - the gap was probably 1 to 1.5". There were exposed pipes and wires everywhere. As my husband says it was a "rat trap". I can not believe that they have not been shut down. I am sure they have more than one voliation going on in that place.

I wish I had looked at TripAdvisor before I booked this nightmare.

  • Liked — Nothing!
  • Disliked — Too many to talk about!
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank katz0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 December 2005

My God this place has RATS and cockroaches!Dont bring your small pet or children here.And the best part is it's nasty and gross and over priced and the people are rude! And they control the heat in there nice warm house while we froze.I talked to others here spending the night and they all said the same things.This place needs to be closed down!
Ascutney is beautiful though and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ascutney
10.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Springfield
4.3 mi away
The Common Man Inn
The Common Man Inn
#1 of 1 in Claremont
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Mount Ascutney Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
The Inn at Weathersfield
The Inn at Weathersfield
#1 of 2 in Perkinsville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hartness House
Hartness House
#1 of 2 in Springfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
5.2 mi away
Snapdragon Inn
Snapdragon Inn
#1 of 4 in Windsor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yankee Village Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yankee Village Motel

Property: Yankee Village Motel
Address: 5380 Route 5 North, Ascutney, VT 05030
Region: United States > Vermont > Ascutney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ascutney
Hotel Class:2 star — Yankee Village Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Yankee Village Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yankee Village Hotel Ascutney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing