We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steeped in charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Steeped in charm”
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We spent two nights there this week, wonderful service, excellent dining room (Sisters), very friendly staff. A placed steeped in both tradition and charm. We went on a "package" which included some meals, and spa credits. We used them all. The spa was excellent, the massage was easily on a par with Grove Park Inn. The bed was very comfortable, the room and bedding very clean. Very nice pool, hot tubs and fitness center. We will return.

Room Tip: The President Wing has deluxe king bedrooms, very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nchomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    118
    35
    16
    10
See reviews for
100
251
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2011

As we drove up Main Street, there was a collective high pitched screech from the occupants of the car! Such a wonderful sight with the porch decked out with soft chairs and settees, lovely water fountain outside the front door and a canopied covered valet service!! What a spectacular start to our stay at the Martha Washington Inn.

We stayed in the Presidential Wing. The room was lovely and we looked down onto a small ornamental pond. Everything we needed was supplied in the room along with courtesy bath robes, which came in very handy when we used the spa facilities.

We ate in the main dining room for dinner and were slightly disappointed with the decor and there was a wedding party upstairs which was quite noisy but I would not let these two small items detract from the wonderful experience we were having.

The swimming pool and outdoor hot tub are situation is lovely surroundings, the grounds are beautifully kept and nothing is a problem for any of the staff.

The Spa treatments themselves are quite expensive and, personally, would only be able to afford them on very special occasions.

We sat on the porch for iced lemonade, afternoon tea and were in heaven!

Overall, The Martha Washington Inn, Abingdon village, the Virginia Creeper Trail and the Barter Theatre make for this to be the perfect, short holiday destination.

Room Tip: Ask not to have a room near the banqueting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MancBlueGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, GA
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Mywife and I spent two nights at "The MMarha and thoroghly enjoyed it. More of a hotel than an inn. Comfortable and spacious room. Excellent restaurant. Good amenities. No more than a block away from other restaurants and TWO theaters. Saw two wonderful shows...very professional. Would definitely recommend visiting historic Abingdon and staying at The Martha Washington Inn.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pollydick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed one night at the Martha Washington with two small children. Our two queen bed superior room was spacious and included a table with four chairs and two lounge chairs. We had plenty of room for the baby's portable crib as well. The Inn's pool and hot tub area are lovely as are the other public areas. I particularly enjoyed relaxing on the front porch with a book. One word of caution, dining options are limited on Sunday evenings and we had a difficult time finding good food in town during our visit. Overall, however, we had a wonderful time and plan to return.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoHoos96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beckley, West Virginia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

This is one of those places that you must stay at least once during your lifetime. Everything was top notch from the restaurant to the spa. Try and catch a show at the Barter theatre during your stay.
A little pricy, but worth every penny. This is definately on my top 3 list of favorite places. Perfect getaway for a remonatic relaxing weekend.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snoopy1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Our third trip to the "Martha". Returning to Asheville from Washington we stayed one night, enjoyed the spa, and took a turn on the Virginia Creeper. This Inn always provides the highest level of service. The food was excellent and the staff professional. Our favorite stopping point when headed north or returning home. We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treadmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

A terrific value, particularly if you get one of the package deals that includes breakfasts and dinner -- and even the Spa credit.. The Inn staff was friendly, the rooms full of antiques and with 12' cielings -- yet with flat screens and other updates. The SPA was execellent, as were the exercise facilities, saltwater pool, and outdoor hot tubs. It was also fun to sit on one of the comfortble porches, relax, and people watch. It was like a mini Greenbrier but much less intimidating! The Inn is centrally located within easy walking distance of the Barter Theater, antique and clothing shops, and rother excellent restaurants (stop in to Doc Ellis' for an old fashined soda fountain treat). Valet parking is free but you won't need to use it except to go out to Homewood, the local vineyard, and other nearby destinations.

Room Tip: Ask for a Garden Wing room with a private porch
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SMLJOHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#2 of 10 in Abingdon
445 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 10 in Abingdon
175 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Abingdon
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 10 in Abingdon
178 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol
10.1 mi away
Courtyard Bristol
Courtyard Bristol
#2 of 13 in Bristol
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Martha Washington Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Martha Washington Inn and Spa

Property: The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
Address: 150 W Main St, Abingdon, VA 24210-2810
Region: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Abingdon
#3 Business Hotel in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Martha Washington Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History and legends abound at this historic hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Martha Washington Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Martha Washington Hotel Abingdon
Martha Washington Hotel
Martha Washington Inn Abingdon Va
The Martha Washington Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing