We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“VERY Disappointed....for the first time!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Martha Washington Inn and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“VERY Disappointed....for the first time!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

We were looking forward to returning to the Martha. After a very challenging year, we scheduled a long weekend in January (reservations made in October!) with the intent of enjoying the hotel and its offerings. Having visited several times in the past for festivals and plays, we were looking forward to having time to just BE at the Martha. Upon arrival, we soon learned that the Martha that we had experienced in the past would not be there for us! At check in, we were informed that we would not be able to enjoy the full services of the hotel; that for the month of January, it had been decided by management to cut back on the services offered. The restaurant was functioning, but on a limited basis with menus very different from what we expected and from what we had come to expect. None of this would have been a problem had we been informed of the changes ahead of time or if rates had been adjusted accordingly. Alas, neither was the case. Furthermore, communications sent to the owner of the property have been ignored to date. We are extremely disappointed! We plan to share our disappointment with anyone who will listen. On a positive note, the staff could not have been better in this difficult situation. It is a shame that the owner and management has so little concern for their employees or for their guests. Neither we nor they deserved to be in such an unfortunate situation. We do not plan to return!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MayberryTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChristopherLowe, General Manager at The Martha Washington Inn and Spa, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
I truly apologize for your experience at our property. We try very hard to maintain a great level of service and attention detail, as you can see from others experiences with us. We take feedback very seriously and appreciate you taking time out of your schedule to let us know about your experience. Please contact me directly at 276-619-5260 I would love to speak with you personally about your stay and get you back to the property to experience what so many have come to love at "The Martha" and Abingdon.
Thanks

Christopher Lowe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    114
    32
    15
    10
See reviews for
91
233
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pulaski, Va.
Level Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

My wife and I spent a "parents" weekend at this beautiful hotel in February. We had a great time. The staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was comfortable and attractive. We had breakfast in the dining room on sunday morning, and the service and food were superb. I swam in the beautiful indoor pool, and then ( and this was the weekend's highlight other than my wife's company) sat in the hottub while snow flakes drifted down.
We walked around Abingdon and visited the brewery just down the street. Beer was excellent!
We plan to make this an annual tradition.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeePulaski_Va_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson City
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013 via mobile

I had always dreamed of being a guest at the hotel growing up but finally did it. It is beautiful, elegant and comfortable. The bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The restaurant and bar were very nice. Great staff.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnsonCityTNguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

I was so excited to stay at this historical hotel, but was very let down with the experience. The hotel seemed to be very under staffed, when going to the front desk it seems that there was only one person there at a time and I always had to wait for them to finish there phone calls. The hotel was not kept clean at all, dust on the base broads not only in the room but in all of the guest areas, carpets on stairs needed to be cleaned badly, finger prints all over the doors. We were told there would be a coffee pot in our room with snacks, The coffee was in the room along with the snacks, but NO coffee pot, the lady at the front desk had to go to another rooms to find us one. The dinning room was not serving there normal menu but a limited menu, disappointing to say the lest and finally the computers around the hotel were not working properly. Sad to say Ill not be returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwell Springs, Louisiana
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2012

This hotel is so amazing. The hotel was decorated inside and outside with traditional Christmas decorations along with the downtown area. The rooms are spacious with nice wood furniture bed frames. The hotel was very clean and I never even saw a cleaning attendant or even a cart in he hallway! We enjoyed walking to all of the local antique shops and restaurants in the snow. One night we stayed in to open some wine and relax in the outdoor hot tub. That was so relaxing and fun. Its made with stone, granite and has a waterfall with a fire pit as ambience. Despite the freezing temps, the water in the hot tub was very very warm. The fitness center is state of the art and the Indoor pool is very clean without the bleach smell you sometimes encounter with indoor facilities. We actually extended our stay because we just weren't ready to leave. They have a complimentary continental breakfast which is the very basic, but they offer a hot breakfast in their dining room. Make sure to get the grits or the oatmeal along with your order because these are their specialties! You may have to walk a little further that day but these dishes are worth it! My husband wants to add that he didn't like the pillows or the shower head (lol), but he lived through these tragedies. I am going to write reviews on the local restaurants we went to as well. Hope ths helps.

Room Tip: The garden wing rooms are less expensive but great quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Getgogonr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

My wife and I spent the weekend just before Christmas on a visit to Barter Theater in Abingdon, Va., to see a wonderful spoof, "Sherlock Holmes and the Christmas Goose," and stayed at the historic Martha Washington Inn. I cannot say enough good things about the hotel. We had a very comfortable corner room, we loved the art on all the walls, the fireplaces and Christmas trees everywhere would have warmed the heart of a Grinch, and the staff was friendly, helpful, gracious, and professional -- from the concierge behind the desk who offered us the inn's customary goodnight glass of port to the bellman/valet who handled the luggage and hurried for our car, whenever requested. The location is perfect, too. The main Barter Stage is right across the street; Barter II is just a short walk away up a small hill right next to the hotel. It had been 30 years since we stopped at Martha Washington on the first night of a cross-country drive from Washington DC to San Diego -- and back then the hotel showed its age, apparently not far removed from its red-brick girls school roots. It seems to have been redone completely over the years since then -- and the result now was quite impressive. Just one little nit: at Sunday noon brunch, when the downstairs restaurant was only half full, it nevertheless seemed to be badly understaffed. The service was slow; either the waitstaff had no-shows that day, or management planned poorly. But a big plus: if you don't want fancier food, the hotel offers a free breakfast buffet for its guests each morning in a separate room which also has its own roaring fireplace, two of them, in fact. You need to be aware that the room rates do resemble those for the best hotels in Richmond or other such cities, but the value and the experience are worth every penny. And there was NO charge on the room bill for the valet parking -- in my 40-or-so years of both business and pleasure travel, I had never encountered a first-class hotel like this where there was no parking charge. A quite nice Christmas surprise.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oaktownboy_37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

A snowy night was meet with a warm welcome and valet service from staff. A quick check in and highlights including evening port service in the Library was a nice touch. Rooms were nice and comfortable. Extra touches like high end bath products and free room snacks was very nice.

Breakfast was nice and quiet. Overall a great staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spi-kids_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#2 of 9 in Abingdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 9 in Abingdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 9 in Abingdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 9 in Abingdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
2.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#9 of 9 in Abingdon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Martha Washington Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Martha Washington Inn and Spa

Property: The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
Address: 150 W. Main St., Abingdon, VA 24210
Region: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Martha Washington Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History and legends abound at this historic hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Martha Washington Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Martha Washington Hotel Abingdon
Martha Washington Hotel
Martha Washington Inn Abingdon Va
The Martha Washington Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing