We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Martha during our honeymoon in January. We had previously had dinner at the hotel restaurant (actually the night that he proposed to me (=...) so we knew that our stay should be a 5 star experience. The stay definitely lived up to our expectations; the room was very nice and the staff was wonderful. We practically had the place to ourselves, due to the time of year. The only down side to our stay was that we didn't have to opportunity to dine in the restaurant because of the off season schedule. But we made that up by visiting the Tavern and other local eateries. Overall, absolutely wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

This charming old inn really knows how to pamper you with amenities and excellent value. The building is historic and impeccably maintained. The restaurant and bar food are exceptional. Spar, outdoor jacuzzi, indoor heated pool, fantastic exercise equipment. Complimentary glass of port wine by the fire in the library after the play at the Barter theater. Complimentary snacks in your room. Good breakfast included in the tariff. The staff incredibly kind and attentive - you would think you were family returning for a visit! Special thanks for Rachel and Chance for their attention. If you bicycle, the Creeper Trail is very close, and the hotel offers a shuttle to the top. This place is worth a drive out of your way. Do yourself a favor and indulge in their hospitality!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MARCUS F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We returned to the Martha for a 2 night stay and could not have been happier. The room was wonderful, the staff was extremely friendly and accommodating, and the hotel restaurant food was excellent. The front porch was a highlight, as always. This facility knows how to make their guests feel special. I recommend the Martha to anyone who desires a restful and relaxing escape. These people know how to "do it right!!!"

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MayberryTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We really enjoyed the friendly staff! They were very helpful and quick to grant any request.
The setting is beautiful and close to great restaurants and The Barter Theater. Great girls get away. The hotel restaurant food was excellent. I really enjoyed the massage and spa extra's and especially the saltwater pool. The hot tub was awesome and the fire pit was toasty. I will stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsp1044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We went with a car club the end of September. It was our first time in Abingdon, VA. The staff were extremely friendly and efficient. We arrived early but they allowed us to check in. The Inn has the wonderful front porch with chairs,sofas and rockers. They had wait staff they cam and took your drinks. Great place to sit around and enjoy each others company

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My friend had stayed at the Martha many times. As a gift for my birthday, we spent 2 nights there. The hotel is extremely beautiful! Many antique pieces mixed with a newly renovated building. The service of all the staff that we encountered was first rate. The beds and linens were very nice. The bathroom was spotless. We ate dinner one night at Sisters and it was very good.We had the continental breakfast which was fresh fruit and pastry.There were complimentary snacks and bottled water and coffee in the room.(suite has mini frig) The indoor pool is nice and the outdoor hottub is perfectly situated near a fire pit. The Inn is in the downtown area and within an easy stroll to many shops and other dining choices.My favorite part of our stay had to be sitting on the large front porch in the beautiful wicker chairs sipping a very nice glass of port and chatting with other guests. I must also say that in every shop, restaurant, and shopping facility we met the friendliest and kindest people I have ever met. A beautiful Inn and a beautiful stay.

Room Tip: there are full suites and double bed rooms-suites are a bit pricey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenandTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

My wife and I spent a night there. Staff was most friendly and helpful. Room was well appointed and clean. Pool, hot tub, fire pit were also very nice. We had coffee on the wonderful porch. We went to the Barter Theater (highly Recommended) and were able to walk there and back. Right across the street. It's not inexpensive but well worth the splurge. We'll come again for a night when back in the area.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Fastphilad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#2 of 10 in Abingdon
488 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 10 in Abingdon
189 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Abingdon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Abingdon
210 reviews
10.1 mi away
Courtyard Bristol
Courtyard Bristol
#2 of 13 in Bristol
426 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Martha Washington Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Martha Washington Inn and Spa

Address: 150 W Main St, Abingdon, VA 24210-2810
Region: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Abingdon
#3 Business Hotel in Abingdon
Price Range: £158 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Martha Washington Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History and legends abound at this historic hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Martha Washington Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Martha Washington Hotel Abingdon
Martha Washington Hotel
Martha Washington Inn Abingdon Va
The Martha Washington Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing