We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The grand dame of the south”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“The grand dame of the south”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

From the time you walk across the big front porch with all of those rocking chairs and enter the foyer with that wooden floor that creaks with every step you feel like you have stepped back in time. The high ceilings, period furniture and all of that history on every wall that spells out this old buildings travels through the past and it's just waiting for you to discover what it has to offer. When you are there you must spend time in the library- my favorite room. In the winter there is a roaring fire in the fireplace that welcomes you to sit in one of the big overstuffed chairs surrounded by floor to ceiling bookshelves. The guest rooms are well appointed and the service is friendly and helpful. Have someone show you the Tiffany table in the boardroom, never saw anything like it before. The restaurant in the hotel has a terrific menu and my wife loves the spa. You can't help but enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thomas Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    119
    35
    16
    10
See reviews for
100
251
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
576 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We've lived within range of the Martha Wahington for nearly 40 years, but never got around to staying there on our visits o Abingdon. Glad we finally connected. Very nice old inn full of antiques, creeping floors and paintings - but with wifi, Keurig coffee makers in every room, and very nice showers! Every single staff member we encountered was exceptionally friendly and wanted to make sure we were enjoying ourselves.

We will return.

BUT, this was our first visit. Pulling up the circular drive, we stopped at the doorman's stand which a sign "checkin here" and got out of the car. No one was at the stand, so we looked for the entrance. Ended up walking into the restaurant before turning around and heading in the opposite direction. B that time a doorman was approaching and apologized for not seeing us arrive. He directed us upstairs to the registration desk.

Registration was smooth (we had reservations) and we were soon in our spacious room which contained a Napolean canopy bed, two deep lounge chairs, immaculate bathroom, a basket of snacks and the keurig coffee maker.

When we awake from a short nap we discovered the electricity was off - but the room was very bright from the large windows. We took a stroll downtown past antique shops, boutique handicraft shops and restaurants before heading for the VA Creeper trail which parallels the RR and reruns to the Martha Washington. The power was still off. The staff had already called several local restaurants and arranged for their guests to have tables waiting since the Marth's restaurant was inoperable. But at the last moment, power was restored.

That evening we took in a play at a The Barter Theatre just across the street. Many of the guests were also there for the theatre. On our return, each of us was offered a glass of port wine to drink in front of the fireplace or take back to our rooms.

The only disappointment was the "included full breakfast" mentioned in their brochure. A complimentary continental breakfast is offered in their dining room, along with option of ordering a ala carte at regular menu prices. The continental breakfast was a slimmed down version of what's commonly served in highway motels: coffee, juice, breads, cereal and yoghurt. Our experience in staying in inns of this ilk, many of them listed in a guidebook of famous inns found in each guest room, is a substantial hot breakfast but describe very modestly in their literature.

Checkout was smooth. The last hurdle was getting out of the parking lot. The entrance us one-way. To exit we drove around the parking lot looking for the route off the property. We found two old signs pointing haphazardly at rhe bottom of the parking lot and were guided around the hotel to another gate marked one way, in the opposite direction we were pointed. We could see the Main Street just a few feet away, so drive past the one way sign and said goodbye.

In summary, a very very friendly staff, comfortable rooms, interesting facility to wander around. They have a saltwater pool on a solarium and small outdoor gardens to enjoy in warmer weather.

The room rate was $195, the AARP rate. Taxes and spa fee added $30.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 301which features a Napoleon canopy bed. Hugh windows provide plenty of light, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alford, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Situated in a beautiful town in a great location. Can walk to fine restaurants and theater. The hotel rooms are spacious and well appointed and the service very good. There is an outdoor hot tub with a waterfall and an indoor salt water pool that is clean and relaxing. There is also an outdoor tennis court. Well worth the price in every way!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevenfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabethton, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Spent a lovely Valentine's at the Martha, and left extremely impressed. Rooms are exquisite and employees are very polite. Don't forget to eat at Sister's. Dinner and breakfast were excellent. Going to the Barter Theatre is also a must. Great experience!
Jason from Elizabethton, TN

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blev1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsport, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The historical beauty is non stop and definitely will take you back in time! But the spa, salt water indoor pool and the two huge hot tubs are all you could ever hope for to have a truly wonderful get away! The staff was exceptional as was the meal at Two Sisters Restaurant. The best salmon I've had in a long while! I would definitely recommend The Martha and would say its a must for your bucket list!

Room Tip: I would imagine any room in the place would be perfect!
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Spent the night with friends on a short getaway and the Martha really made it a time to relax and enjoy all they had to offer. The food was amazing with a new menu and the room was cozy/clean. Hot Tub/Salt Water Pool were amazing/relaxing going back soon

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jfgagolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

From the moment I walked into the lobby, I felt like I was visiting friends rather than checking into a hotel. The atmosphere is welcoming, the staff is friendly, and the accommodations are heaven. I would love to furnish my bedroom at home like the room at The Martha. There is a full service spa and indoor salt water pool as well as a large hot tub outdoors. I loved sitting in the hot tub watching the snowflakes fall around me!
After a great night's sleep, I enjoyed one of the best breakfasts I've had - eggs, thick bacon, pancakes and REAL coffee (not the hot brown water served in other hotels.) Did I mention that it's also located across the street from the famous Barter Theatre? Whether you're staying a night or two on business or looking for a relaxing mini-vacation, The Martha is truly a little bit of luxury for a reasonable price. I highly recommend it!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#2 of 10 in Abingdon
445 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 10 in Abingdon
175 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Abingdon
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 10 in Abingdon
179 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol
10.1 mi away
Courtyard Bristol
Courtyard Bristol
#2 of 13 in Bristol
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Martha Washington Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Martha Washington Inn and Spa

Property: The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
Address: 150 W Main St, Abingdon, VA 24210-2810
Region: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Abingdon
#3 Business Hotel in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Martha Washington Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History and legends abound at this historic hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Martha Washington Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Martha Washington Hotel Abingdon
Martha Washington Hotel
Martha Washington Inn Abingdon Va
The Martha Washington Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing