We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very historic and unique”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This was George & Martha Washington's house.....how cool to stay in a place our country's first president lived....it is a little on the pricey side....but....the whole place is very historic, the food is good, and you might even see a ghost if you are lucky!!! Across the street is the wonderful Barter Theater and a great place to see a show.....very cool to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (575)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 575 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2014

Abingdon, Virginia, is a nostalgic town situated on the Virgina/Tennessee border. The crown jewel is the Martha Washington Hotel and Spa, and is conveniently located on Main Street. Have a courteous valet park your car, then enter your room, and prepare to be catered and pampered. Each room is different, and there is plenty of space for your belongings. Walk all over the place, then return to the front porch which is covered with comfortable wicker chairs, and be content to people watch. At night, they offer you port, then off you go to the 24 hour spa! You will be reluctant to check out, so make reservations for at least two nights!

Room Tip: When you make your reservation, ask the helpful staff for their recommendation for a room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Celeste J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Wonderful stay! The Martha Washington is like stepping back in time with modern amenities! If you appreciate history you will love the Martha Washington. If you are seeking a quiet place to get away, this is perfect. The hot tub is beautiful, nestled under a canopy of trees, surrounded by ivy and flowers. Relaxing on the huge front porch with a glass of wine was the perfect way to spend the evening. The resturant in the hotel, The Sisters, has great food if you do not want to leave the hotel. However, there are also very nice choices within a short walk. Do not miss a play at the Barter Theater directly across the street. While the inn is good for an overnight stay, we stayed two nights and were glad for the extra time. The longer we stayed the more we discovered. Stop by the visitor's center on the way into town. The ladies there are wonderfully helpful!

Room Tip: We liked the king bed, our room was in the very back of the Hotel and you can hear trains from time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JohnEINC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We came here with friends and couldn't have enjoyed our stay any more. Everything was clean and cozy. Beautiful landscaping and very accommodating staff. Can't wait to come back in the fall. Abington is so charming!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I drive thirteen hours from our house to Baltimore every summer to visit friends and family. A colleague spoke so highly of this place that my husband, an avid "drive straight through" kind of guy actually suggested we split the drive between two days and stay here overnight. This place is comfortable, quiet, and the staff was friendly. Most staff members that we encountered were very new but very helpful. We arrived very late at night and were able to enjoy a nice port wine in the lobby.

We were so impressed with the accommodations, and with what little we saw of the town the next day that we are already planning on bringing some friends for a weekend getaway.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Cindy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Martha Washington is a very comfortable historic inn within walking distance of good restaurants, an excellent theater (the hotel will make your reservations) and a fabulous hiking/biking trail (within walking distance behind the hotel). The Inn also has a very nice spa (great pedicure), large indoor pool and outdoor hot tub with plenty of spots to sit (including a large front porch) to read or picnic. A farmers' market is open on Saturdays and is well worth a visit. We bought lunch at the market and brought it back to eat in the shade of the Inn near the outdoor water features on the grounds. The Inn's staff is fabulous. I echo the sentiments of others about the continental breakfast-it is minimal, but the coffee and tea are excellent. A little toast, jelly and butter would be a nice, easy addition.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NC-travel19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed here two summers in a row. The room was comfortable and very clean. Unlike a B&B they do not restock the water bottles and snack items. We were told we would be able to get more water if we asked.
The pool, tennis courts, and hot tub were awesome. The hot tub did have leaves in it, but it is outside under several trees. That did not bother us at all. Staff was very friendly for our stay. Centrally located within walking distance to all of Abington. The breakfast was free and delicious.
We will visit again, but it is very expensive, so it might be a while.
Only negative was the air conditioner in the room 316. It was too cold to leave on all the time. On auto it was too loud so it woke us when it came on. This prevented us from sleeping well.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Jet4396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#2 of 10 in Abingdon
502 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Abingdon
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 10 in Abingdon
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Courtyard Bristol
Courtyard Bristol
#2 of 14 in Bristol
435 reviews
2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 10 in Abingdon
215 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Martha Washington Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Martha Washington Inn and Spa

Address: 150 W Main St, Abingdon, VA 24210-2810
Region: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Abingdon
#3 Business Hotel in Abingdon
Price Range: £151 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Martha Washington Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History and legends abound at this historic hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Martha Washington Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Martha Washington Hotel Abingdon
Martha Washington Hotel
Martha Washington Inn Abingdon Va
The Martha Washington Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing