We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of history”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2010

Our visit to the Martha Washington Inn was a spur of the moment thing and we were not disappointed by our decision. The place is living history, combined with modern and up-dated luxuries. Our room was (Deluxe King) spacious, clean and quiet…the bathroom showers are to die for. The Inn’s grounds are impeccably kept up and clean. The fitness center, swimming pool and outdoor whirlpool are all topnotch and extremely clean. The facility is also located just off the Virginia Creeper trail and is a must see for hikers. At the Martha Washington Inn you get what you pay for in terms of overall high quality Inn-keeping. The staffs at both the restaurant and Inn were friendly and efficient.

We did take advantage of the Inclusive breakfast menu and it was very good. We also decided to have our evening dinner at the Inn’s restaurant…the meal good, but a little too pricey for the portions and overall quality. For that kind of money I would have expected more of a “wow” feeling about my meal… but all in all the restaurant’s old-time decor and atmosphere were worth the visit.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bones81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

530 - 536 of 580 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2010

Although the hotel has alot of charm, it isn't kept up the way it should be and needs some renovation. The creaky wood floors add charm; the rubbed-off finish on the wooden front doors doesn't (and the front doors are too small for the entry to a hotel). The library is nice (and complimentary port there is a pleasant perk), but the book shelves are mostly barren and thus it's "vibe" is off. Our room was nice enough- the bedding and Aveda products were quite lovely- but the air conditioning was of the type more commonly found in roadside motels (under-the-window style) and didn't cool the room enough, leading to a lousy night's sleep (and when I told the assistant manager about this, his only response was "this place is old"). The roller-type window blinds were worn and cheap, although they functioned. The hot tub area was beautiful, but the hot tub wasn't hot enough (more like a warm bath), and thus disappointing. Finally, the location- right across the street from the Barter Theater- and the front porch, are a real plus.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aimrichmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

Mu husband and I stayed at The Martha recently as the first night in a cross-country tour. We were quite taken with the historic beauty of the property, and were very pleased with the accommodations. Our room was bright and comfortable, with a king-sized bed and a fantastic updated bathroom. We weren't staying long enough to enjoy the pool or the spa, but I expect we'll be back when we can stay longer.

I'd especially like to thank the valet / bellman who greeted us on arrival, took care of our car and our bags and, in general, set the tone for a lovely visit.

One small point: don't bother with the afternoon tea. As someone who is kind of an aficionado of afternoon teas, this one isn't really worth doing. They have it in a bar downstairs, so there is no elegant setting, then they give you a tray with some tiny sandwiches and hard cookies out of a box. I realize it is free, but anything worth doing is worth doing well, and this they did not do well.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trnmgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Our family stayed at The Martha for our trip to bicycle down The Virginia Creeper Trail. It was only about a 20 minute drive to where we picked up our bikes. The Creeper Trail was awesome. It was also very convenient to be right across the street from The Barter Theater. We saw Annie and it was fabulous - top notch cast. The grounds are beautiful, especially out back with the streams and hottub area. We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite with a parlor in the middle. Rooms were nothing special even though the bathrooms looked to be recently updated and the nicest part. Beds were very comfortable. The front porch has comfortable furniture for sitting back in and watching the world go by. The workout facilities were very nice. The spa looked really nice, but prices were extremely high, so I didn't have a service. We had dinner in the restaurant - kind of a musty smell and not very eye appealing, although the food was good. Service was just okay - everyone was nice, but never in a big hurry to do anything for you. Beautiful and unusualy jewelry in the independently owned gift shop. I would return to this hotel again because it is definitely the nicest in the area and we want to do The Creeper again in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pickypicky58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

OK First the excellent portions: spa, pool, workout, room ambience, front desk, park attendants...there is a lot to like in this old timey hotel that has been nicely updated. Dining room-slightly understaffed, slower service sometimes,,,however, the breakfast is one of the NICEST we have experienced anywhere,,,gj! The dinner food was also outstanding! Rooms have fabuloso tile/granite bathrooms(we stayed in the Virginia suite, so a suite might be nicer) monster showers and cushy beds. Will have to say that old Martha gave us an excellent stay. ps business center basicallynon-existent(so what) MARVELOUS pool and outside "huge rock garden jacuzzi"-world class. I can't remember a better one anywhere we've stayed. Tennis courts top drawer.Right near the Va Creeper Walking trail which again, I consider one of the coolest I've EVER been on. Barter theater across the street is a must. saw Annie and it was worth it. Abingdon has 4 or 5 antique places, and Bristol had 5 big ones on State St. 25 min away pss we are coming back in the winter for a cozy stay...nuff said

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

Abbington is a perfect town in a beautiful setting.
This is our 5 visit to the Martha Washinton, but my
least favorite. The front desk was merely accomendating,
the valet were great and the bartender was the rudest and
worst we have experienced. We endured 3 days of her boorish
behavior before we complained. Breakfast is fresh and tasty
with accomendating but overworked staff.
It is unfortuned that just a couple of staff can jade an experience,
otherwise I love this place and will return.




io

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hikerprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2010

My husband surprised me with another visit to "the Martha" as she is fondly called in Abingdon, Va. Dating pre civil-war, this Inn is not only historical, but beautiful as well. All rooms have period furniture with modern conveniences. The salt water pool is fabulous. The outdoor natural rock jacuzzi a treat. We took a glass of wine down and enjoyed the warm water on a cool evening.
Port is served in the library at night and tea in the afternoon.
A fabulous breakfast!!! The sweet bread and fruit tray they bring to your table when you arrive is enough to fill you up! We had a choice of eggs cooked to our liking with bacon or saugsage, or walnut pancakes. Everything was delicious!
Valet parking is the only downside. If you are in and out a lot, you have to wait for your car, but they were very nice.
Across from the famous Barter Theater as well.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank farmrzwyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
2.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Abingdon
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#2 of 10 in Abingdon
503 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 10 in Abingdon
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.1 mi away
Courtyard Bristol
Courtyard Bristol
#2 of 14 in Bristol
437 reviews
17.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bristol
2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 10 in Abingdon
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Martha Washington Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Martha Washington Inn and Spa

Address: 150 W Main St, Abingdon, VA 24210-2810
Region: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Abingdon
#3 Business Hotel in Abingdon
Price Range: £151 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Martha Washington Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History and legends abound at this historic hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Martha Washington Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Martha Washington Hotel Abingdon
Martha Washington Hotel
Martha Washington Inn Abingdon Va
The Martha Washington Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing