We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Inn with Special Extras!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Inn with Special Extras!”
Reviewed 21 October 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at this beautiful inn and look forward to going back. There were a couple very special extras offered by The Martha. Afternoon tea is delicious, complete with scones and truffles. Our girls felt like princesses! In the morning, breakfast is provided. This is no cheap buffet. It was a wonderful breakfast. Our children were welcomed by the staff. There is so much history in this building and every room was fun to explore. Every corner of the grounds around the building is landscaped beautifully. We enjoyed the indoor pool and the outdoor hot tub and pool. It is worth the extra money for a very special vacation.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    122
    38
    21
    10
See reviews for
105
268
10
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
charlottesville, va.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our two nights at the Martha. We were touring the Blue Ridge Parkway from North Carolina through Virginia. This our third stay and we always request the same room which had been redecorated with fine furnishings and comfortable bedding. We also attended a wonderful and funny play at the Barter Theater which really adds to the whole experience. The staff are so accommodating and attend to your every need. We took advantage of the pool and the outdoor hot tub as well as enjoying wonderful meals in the dining room (the grits are the best I have ever tasted. We plan to come back again next year and many more to come.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tweed27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosse Pointe, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2010

We had the pleasure of spending a night at the Martha Washington Inn this month. The history of Inn and town was endearing. We stayed on the 3rd floor in a suite that was very roomy with ample views of "main street". We walked to the Pub a few blocks up the street for dinner- the original structure built in 1776! We felt like we had traveled back in time. The inn provided an outstanding breakfast in a cozy dining room. The gym faciltiy was great, overlooking the back courtyard with a gas fireplace and outdoor heated spa. The pool was beautiful as well. We didn't have time to enjoy the spa, but the facitlities looked top notch. We enjoyed a glass of wine on the large front porch. They also had a well stocked library to spend time in, fireplace going, sherry in the evening. We really enjoyed or stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillyB48230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

The Martha Washington has been around for a very long time; its history is detailed in the lobby. However, everything in this hotel is state of the art. The gym and spa areas, which have been recently renovated, have everything you could wish for, and the service at the Inn is top-notch. We received everything we asked for, and more, quickly and with a friendly attitude. That attitude started from our first moments checking in. No lines, no hassle. We were simply greeted by a friendly professional staff who met all our needs and asked to do more.
The room had the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in, hands down. In fact, on returning from our stay, my husband and I tried to re-create that experience with a new mattress, mattress cover and down comforter. We still couldn't quite get the lush cloud-like quality of the Inn's sleeping experience. I want to go back just for the good night's rest.
In addition to the benefits the Inn offers is the absolute charm of the city of Abingdon. Almost right across from the Inn lies the world-famous Barter Theatre, which regularly presents very high-quality performances, and the city itself offers many fine restaurants, antique stores and country lanes. I'd visited the city before, but my stay was made so much better because of the fact that we were staying at the Martha Washington.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAHCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2010

My husband and I made our first trip to Abingdon, VA and stayed at the Martha Washington Inn. We arrived before check in and the front desk clerk so kindly helped us go ahead and get checked in. It was a different room from what we had reserved, but another employee took us to it to make sure we were pleased first(which we were!). We had reservations at the spa for later in afternoon, but was delayed with our 34 mile Va Creeer bike ride. When we called to tell them we would be running late, they very kindly told us it was fine and come when we could. Trish was one of the massage therapists and she was wonderful and so sweet. My husband was nervous since this was his first massage, but everyone made us feel welcome. We ate later at the hotel restaurant. It was pricey, but worth the splurge. Yummy food and cozy ambience. The crab cakes were the best I've ever had! The only thing I would recommend is having a map/ more info on hotel either in room or given to us at check-in. We got a little lost when going to our different activities, but every hotel employee we asked, was friendly and helpful. We are already planning another trip here!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jabbamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morristown, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2010

What a delight! Abbingdon is beautiful and so is the Martha Washington Inn. Historic building with southern charm and modern convenience. Beds were comfortable and the staff was impeccably gracious. Dinner was fantastic - try the Sea Bass and orzo. Literally, melted in my mouth. Saw a show at the Barter Theatre directly across the street which was wonderful. Then we came back to the inn for port in the library. Breakfast was amazing with fresh fruit, pastries and apple butter brought to each table along with a delicious selection of breakfast items - try the sweet potato pancakes. Lovely, lovely, lovely. No complaints. It was a wonderful experience. We plan to come again.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndLinTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennesaw, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2010

We have visited "The Martha" about three times in five years and never cease to be amazed at how they continue to offer the utmost in service and hospitality. The rooms are finely appointed with the latest in modern amenities. The pool and outdoor jacuzzi are inviting and were the perfect temperature. I regret not having time to visit the spa during this trip, but know from previous experience their treatments are superb.
Our kids enjoyed all of the activities found nearby, including the Caverns and the Creeper Trail. Breakfast (included) both mornings was abundant and tasty, and dinner Saturday night was truly delicious. We topped off our evening with a visit to the Cabaret downstairs, where a lovely singer was performing with a pianist and bass player. A luxury weekend and an outstanding value!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triptip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
0.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#3 of 10 in Abingdon
465 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 10 in Abingdon
182 reviews
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Abingdon
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 10 in Abingdon
182 reviews
10.1 mi away
Courtyard Bristol
Courtyard Bristol
#2 of 13 in Bristol
417 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Martha Washington Inn and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Martha Washington Inn and Spa

Property: The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
Address: 150 W Main St, Abingdon, VA 24210-2810
Region: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Abingdon
#3 Business Hotel in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Martha Washington Inn and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
History and legends abound at this historic hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Martha Washington Inn and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Martha Washington Hotel Abingdon
Martha Washington Hotel
Martha Washington Inn Abingdon Va
The Martha Washington Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing