We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happily surprised :)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Abingdon
2 reviews
“Happily surprised :)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012 via mobile

Husbands occupation brought him here for one day. Stopped here for a one night stay. Friendly staff. Abingdon in general is a nice town. Really. I had a fender bender while there (they hit me) , and my car later would not start because of no gas, all that and I still rate this trip highly. The Highlands festival was going on, and that was awesome! I had never heard of Abingdon prior to this trip, and now it just might be on a yearly visit list. Comfort Inn was comfortable and the breakfast is complimentary. Use your AAA discount if you have it (possible $10 off the lowest nightly rate). For the price and the service it was good experience.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Angela J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    62
    35
    19
    6
See reviews for
53
59
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maryville, TN
Level Contributor
74 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

Just returned from a weekend get away with my husband. My husband is a commercial construction superintendent and his current job site is in Charleston, WV. We decided to meet @ this location since it was an easy drive for me when I got off work in Knoxville, TN. The property itself is very nice. This is an older property that has been refurbished, and the quality of the work shows throughout the property. Upon entering the front door there is a roomy breakfast area that has plenty of seating. Breakfast is the usual...fresh made waffles, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, cereal, juice, donuts, etc... The property is only 2 stories, but there is no elevator. If you have an issue with climbing stairs, you should request a 1st floor room. There is an outdoor pool which we did not use, but it appeared to have plenty of seating and a few tables on the deck. The halls have all been freshly painted and the carpet is brand new. I saw one washer and dryer for guest use @ one of the side entrance areas. My husband and I had a King-sized room...#130. The windows overlook Interstate 81. If you do not plan to run the a/c, fan, or heat continuously, this side of the building my not be for you. Even with the air unit running continuously, I was still able to hear some of the noise from the interstate. Our room had been freshly painted and the carpet was new. I did not notice any odors. There was a King-sized bed, a chair, a desk with desk chair, but no sofa/sofa bed in this room. This room was definitely set up for only 2 guests. The bed and linens were comfortable. There was a flat screen tv, mini fridge and microwave in the room. The bathroom was clean. The shower/tub appeared to be a little dated---a fiberglass type unit you would have in your home, but it was clean.

Now to the staff....I don't think I have ever stayed @ any Choice hotel where the staff was so rude. My husband was the 1st to arrive @ the property. Upon arrival, my husband asked the clerk for a late check-out on Sunday. The clerk, a gentleman by the name of Rick, informed my husband that he would have to check back at a later time but it would probably would not be possible because the hotel was full due to the Virginia Highlands Festival. Later on Friday evening, my husband approached Rick about an extra pillow, but was rudely informed that he was too busy to get a pillow for him because guests were checking in. The next day (Saturday) my husband again asked Rick about a late check out on Sunday. Rick rudely informed him that he had already told him that he would have to check back with the clerk on Sunday morning during breakfast. While my husband was looking thru some tourist information near the front desk, he overheard Rick tell another guest that the only restaurant near this hotel was McDonalds, which was not true. The choices of restaurants @ this location are limited, but I counted at least 3 restaurants and he overheard Rick tell another guest that she could only have 2 extra towels when she asked for 4 towels. On Sunday morning, my husband got up and dressed and went to the front desk to speak with the clerk about a late check out. The clerk informed my husband that the latest we could check out was 11:30am...a whole 30 minutes past the regular check out time. My husband informed the clerk that he was a Choice Rewards member and that a late check out is one of the perks of membership, but I guess this is not the case for this particular hotel. The staff really made little effort to make their guests feel welcome and this is very sad since it is truly a nice property. I would stay here again because I feel the property is a good choice for the money, but I hope the staff gets some improvements in their attitudes.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angi1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

Stopped here in route to visit family up north. New furnishings. Room was very clean. Staff was friendly and helpful. Check in was efficient. Nice breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karentljt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed here on a trip to Tennessee--both coming and going. Fine, responsive staff, clean rooms, comfortable bedding. Plentiful breakfast, but not for folks on a low-carb diet. During our two stays, eggs were available, but no meat. No elevator, so make sure you ask for a first-floor room when making a reservation.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collinsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Stayed here during a visit with family in Kingsport, TN and Lebanon, VA. Great location off the interstate. Excellent check-in service with friendly, cheerful staff. Good breakfast with excellent replenishment, clean rooms. The only negative was they didn't have an elevator to the 2nd floor. This made it difficult for my aging parents, since 1st floor rooms were occupied.

Room Tip: If you have limitations to walk up the steps, plan to stay on the first floor. No elevator in the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveldiva24078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

Stayed here during a visit to Abingdon. This Comfort Inn has been updated and the lobby and rooms are very attractive. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was just OK but everything else was above average. Very friendly and helpful front staff. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zoiesgramma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

I have stayed at this Comfort Inn many times during my many trips from Washington DC to Nashville, TN. During a recent trip one of my kids became ill and we had to stop before we could get to the hotel. The Manager at the hotel was very understanding and aloud us to cancel our reservation and refunded our money. We were able to stay at a Comfort Inn in Christiansburg and were not forced to continue our trip to not lose our money. We will definitely be staying at the Comfort Inn in Abingdon for many more trips to come! The rooms are always clean, it is close to the interstate, and the service cannot be beat!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 9 in Abingdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 9 in Abingdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#2 of 9 in Abingdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
4.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#9 of 9 in Abingdon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 170 Jonesboro Road, Abingdon, VA 24210-4714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Choice Hotels and Booking.com so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Abingdon
Comfort Inn Abingdon
Abingdon Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing