We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Room - Poor Breakfast”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Abingdon
Marmora, Canada
Level Contributor
160 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nice Room - Poor Breakfast”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at this location on Feb. 28th. Our room was newly renovated and nice decorated. The beds were comfortable.

The breakfast was disappointing. The waffle machines were turned off and no batter. There was no staff anywhere to ask for assistance. Poor warm food selections. If the breakfast section had been up to par, we would have rated this hotel higher.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMC002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortinn_abingdon, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank you for your review!

I was thrilled to see that you were happy with the room itself! I was sad to see that the breakfast did not "wow" you. We strive to make all the guests feel comfortable and leave with full belly's, it is unusual for us to not have our full hot breakfast buffet available and I sincerely apologize that you did not leave satisfied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    65
    36
    19
    7
See reviews for
56
61
8
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Galax, Virginia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I Stay at Choice Hotels as a rule and looked nonlinear for hotels in Abingdon VA. Out of the three hotels, this one was the least expensive so my expectations weren't high. Upon entering the lobby I was greeted by one of the managers Kate. She was very pleasant, and gave me a coupon for a free dessert to one of the local restaurannts.The lobby was recently remodeled and looked very nice. When I got to the room I was surprised to see that the rooms were remodeled also with down comforters and fluffy pillows. The WIFI was fast and the AC/heater worked well. Needless to say Ill be back.

Room Tip: Get a King if you are travelling alone, they are used less often.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GalaxGator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortinn_abingdon, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review!!

We are so glad that you are pleased with our staff and the recent updates we have made! Our main goal is to make all our guests think of the Comfort Inn of Abingdon as a home away from home! I am so glad that we succeeded with you! We will be looking for you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
578 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed here on Friday before Christmas. The place was deserted. But the evening manager and day manager were both cheerful and engaging.

Same spotlessly clean rooms as always. Standard Comfort Inn breakfast: bacon or sausage, breads, waffles, yoghurt, hard boiled eggs, 2 juices, coffee and tea. What more could anyone want?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortinn_abingdon, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Thank you so much for your review!!

Positive feedback on our staff is always great to hear! Our goal is for all our guests to feel like the Comfort Inn of Abingdon is a home away from home! I am always tickled to see a repeat guest!!

Come back soon! I will be looking for you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This hotel was full of Southern Hospitality even though the clerk was from Baltimore. LOL! I enjoyed the friendly atmosphere, the quiet peaceful setting and the down home feel of staying a the home of a relative. Everyone was so friendly and helpful.

My daughter left some atricle of clothing behind and we wrecive a prompt call about them before we were on the road. As we retrieved the items the engineer asked us if we'd enjoyed our stay and if everything was alright.....he all but waved at us as we drove off.

I loved it and for my son's college graduation I plan to bring a busload of my family to this hotel! AWESOME JOB GUYS!

Room Tip: We had two queen beds in our room and we were close to the reception area. 110 and 112
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sista_Robin20019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInn_BristolVA, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review!

We were so glad that you enjoyed your stay! We do strive to make all our guests feel at home! Please come back anytime that your son has a game and we will be looking for you and your bus in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

As we were travelling south on I81 we found a coupon at a rest stop for $65/night and decided to try it. The room was great. We could not get the king bed with the coupon but that was ok for a couple of nights. We saw an extra play with the money we saved. Not a honeymooners's place but excellent if you want adventure outside of your room.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank timandjudy77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInn_BristolVA, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Thank you for your kind review!

We are so glad that you were able to save a couple dollars and enjoy a bit more of Abingdon while you were here! Even without the coupon we try to keep our rates competitively low! Please come back soon and see more of the town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aubrey, TX
Level Contributor
99 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

After making our way from Lexington Kentucky down through Hazard, KY (keep going) we finally got to civilization and were looking for an overnight stop. Saw this Comfort Inn and decided to take a chance. Was a pleasant surprise, clean rooms, no smoke smell. Only downside was an unappetizing continental breakfast so we went elsewhere for something to eat. Would recommend for a quick stop, safe, clean, pleasant staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HorseFlicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
comfortinn_abingdon, Director of Sales at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Thank you for your review!!

I was not shocked to see that you were "pleasantly surprised" by the Comfort Inn Abingdon! We underwent an award winning renovation a couple years ago! When we did that we went 100% smoke free and we have an excellent well trained housekeeping staff that really cares about their work.

Next time you come through Abingdon, stop in and see us again! We would love to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Your meat and potatoes kind of lodging experience, probably $20-$30 overpriced, with nothing to distinguish it from thousands of other basic highway hotels/motels (dubious bedspread and blanket, relatively soft mattress, unspectacular shower and towels), but the score is lifted by extremely courteous receptionists and a shockingly decent breakfast, replete with a biscuits, sausages and, most importantly, a waffle maker. Worth choosing as your highway stop if only for that.

Room Tip: My room was extremely hot and took a couple of hours to cool down with the a/c on max. Might conside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coolpapabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortInn_BristolVA, Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for your review!

We were so glad to see that you were pleased with our breakfast and our staff! We train our staff to offer the best experience as possible! We will be looking for you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 10 in Abingdon
175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Abingdon
203 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#2 of 10 in Abingdon
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
7.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol
7.5 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 170 Jonesboro Road, Abingdon, VA 24210-4714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Abingdon
Comfort Inn Abingdon
Abingdon Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing