We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ummmmmmmmm Grandpa?”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Abingdon
Reviewed 11 September 2009

This is an older hotel that has had some updates. I was not expecting alot since I did not pay alot ($63.00) . Therefore I will not be overly critical here. This hotel did appear to be clean, it was very covienent to downtown Abingdon and the hotel staff was helpful and friendly. So here is the criticism, It had the oddest odor. It smelled like pomade, cigarette smoke and old house. I would probably not stay here again but If I do I will most certainly be packing a travel candle.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mycaroline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 191 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2008

Old but fairly clean hotel. Booked online from hotel website and received multiple confirmations on a king bed, only to find two doubles actually reserved. Not good customer service in that area, especially for a Choice Rewards customer.

No elevator. Minimal breakfast - excellent waffle maker compared to many hotels, but very lame pastries and fruit.

O.K. for a one night stopover but not recommended for longer stays to the area.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank SeaGator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2008

This is an older Comfort Inn. It seemed clean enough, although the furniture in the lobby and rooms was a bit shabby. The bed was okay. We were in Rm. 134, on the first floor and our room looked out at the highway--almost close enough to read the license plates of the passing cars. I'm a light sleeper, so I took my white noise machine and the highway noise didn't bother us. However, even the machine couldn't drown out the noise of the loud squeaking in the ceiling above us every time the occupants above us moved! If you stay there, you should definitely ask for a second floor room on the side away from the highway. The breakfast buffet was very limited compared to the Comfort Inn where we stayed the previous night in Hillsville, VA, which even offered fresh fruits, eggs, bacon, biscuits, gravy and best of all fresh chocolate chip cookies and banana bread all day! Everything is relative, I suppose.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VirginiaGal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2007

Comfort Inn in Abingdon is a great value for the price. It was quiet and clean, and it is close to the convention center in Abingdon.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2007

I picked this hotel because we needed a stopping point between our last stop, and traveling on to Gatlingburg, TN. (We were on a family of four on vacation.)

The room was on the smaller side. It has inside corridors, but there are big windows which face the parking lot, so you do get some noise. We turned on the fan and then the AC, but it was so loud, we had to turn it off. The bathroom was very small - if someone was standing at the sink in front of the mirror and the door was opened, they would be hit.

Breakfast was fine. There was a decent assortment of things to eat and a waffle machine to make fresh waffles.

All in all, it was an OK hotel for the price. But next time I think I'd stay elsewhere. Comfort Suites is just down the street. And there was the beautiful Martha Washington Inn town. Looked nice.

By the way, this town was a very cute town with the old theatre and pretty older houses. Might be nice for a longer stopover.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank iwannatravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2007

Nice Clean Hotel for Great Price. Staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank travel2life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abingdon hotels
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 10 in Abingdon
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Abingdon
210 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#2 of 10 in Abingdon
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
4.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Abingdon
Red Roof Inn Abingdon
#10 of 10 in Abingdon
111 reviews
4.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Abingdon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 170 Jonesboro Road, Abingdon, VA 24210-4714
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Abingdon
Price Range: £60 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Abingdon
Comfort Inn Abingdon
Abingdon Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing