We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Coming Home -Donna H”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Like Coming Home -Donna H”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I travel back and forth quite a bit from Pennsylvania to Florida. It's an exhausting trip and it's nice to have a quaint, charming little town like Abingdon, Va to stop and refresh and dine. There are so many wonderful restaurants in the area. But it's always especially nice to be welcomed by Danny - the PM manager at the Holiday Inn Express. He always has a smile on his face - is genuinely happy to see you - and makes you feel like you're the most important person on the planet. The whole staff is welcoming and the hotel overall is comfortable, clean and cozy. And before I set back out on my journey, I look forward to seeing Jane, the morning hostess. She is a nourishing start to the day - body and soul - and lovingly prepares a plethora of morning yummies to send you on your way, with good wishes.
Located at exit 19, Interstate 81 - it is an integral part of my trip and, it is like coming home.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry R, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thank you for review. Danny, Jane and our entire staff are great assets to our property and go out of there way continually to ensure every guest gets the best possible service. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you stay with us soon on your next trip between Pennsylvania and Florida

Larry Rushing II
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    100
    35
    10
    4
See reviews for
96
130
15
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
gainesville va
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

i have stayed at this hotel several times in the past primarily because of its convenience to the interestate...exit 19 on i-81..rooms are clean and staff pleasant..breakfast is rather typical holiday inn express fare but was plentiful and good...serving room is very comfortable...i will probably use this property again when needed in that area...the price was good too!!

Room Tip: our room on third floor near elevator was fine..no noise from elevator or hallway noted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderer69_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry R, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Larry Rushing II
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We have stopped at this location on multiple occasions now on our way to and from NY and Louisiana. The staff and in particular PM manager Danny O. have been extremely welcoming and friendly. We plan to make the Holiday Inn express in Abingdon, VA our regular "pit stop" for many years to come. Well done!

Room Tip: The jacuzzi room is awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry R, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very happy to have had you stay with us and look forward to having you with us again soon.


Larry Rushing II
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I have the pleasure of staying at this hotel about 2 nights a month. There are newer physical plants with more updated extras but you cannot beat this hotel for charm, friendliness, helpfulness and the practice that the customer comes first. It is unfair to compare other units because there just is no comparison that will come close to this hotel. It is convenient being directly off of I-81 and the staff is unparalleled in making you feel wanted and appreciated. If anyone is in the area and needs a great place to stay, this is the one.

Room Tip: There is not a bad room in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry R, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for your review. We strive to make sure every guest feels welcome and at home. We look forward to having you back with us soon.

Larry Rushing II
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Point
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Have spent nights in this hotel previously and am happy to report that I have never been disappointed with this Holiday Inn Express. The staff was courteous and prompt with any request, rooms were cleaned very well and well Abingdon, VA is just a beautiful place. The location is great as it's just off of I-81, but still close enough to the town. And the hot breakfast was the great! Will go again soon, I hope!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry R, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for your review. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Larry Rushing II
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
1,762 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 631 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I picked this hotel mainly because I am a member of the rewards program, but all the same I had a delightful stay. While the hotel does allow pets (on the first floor only), I did not hear or smell them during my two night stay. The evening manager was incredibly helpful though he was on his own (or so it seemed) when I checked in. It turned out that I had forgot my toothbrush when I was getting ready for bed that night, but they thankfully had some available at the front desk (not the sturdiest thing, but anything will work when you are without). Breakfast was very nice. The hot food was hot and they had a nice variety both mornings. The lady who mans the breakfast bar was extremely friendly and nice and so very helpful. As an added bonus, there is a great restaurant (The Dunk & Deli) is within walking distance (on the other side of the Quality Inn).

Room Tip: Second or Third floor if you don't have a pet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jehenson81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry R, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for your review. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Larry Rushing II
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

I spent a week in this hotel when I came to Abingdon for Business. I did not get to choose the hotel, my company booked it, but I was not disappointed. The rooms were clean and quite. The staff were all friendly. There was a hot breakfast served every morning. Abingdon is a very lovely area and would have liked to just been a tourist for a while. Probably my only complaint would be that the beds and pillows could be a little more comfortable, but they are not horrible. Over all a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VJS411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry R, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you stay with us again soon..

Larry Rushing II
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abingdon hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 10 in Abingdon
182 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#3 of 10 in Abingdon
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Abingdon
203 reviews
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 10 in Abingdon
182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Abingdon
Red Roof Inn Abingdon
#9 of 10 in Abingdon
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA
Address: 940 East Main Street, Abingdon, VA 24210-4416 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Abingdon)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Abingdon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson®, Abingdon, VA to experience the Southern charm of Abingdon, a small town nestled in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains, boasting quaint brick sidewalks and a vibrant fine arts and crafts scene. Located at Exit 19 on Interstate 81, our hotel welcomes you with free Internet access, and free coffee and cookies served around the clock. Pack comfortable shoes for a hike along the 34-mile Virginia Creeper Trail, just 1 mile away, or explore the depths of nearby Bristol Caverns. You can also reach the Bristol Motor Speedway for a NASCAR race in about 30 minutes. A refreshing swim in our seasonal outdoor pool will help you unwind after a day of touring local historical sites like the Fields-Penn House Museum. In the morning, fuel up for another fun-filled adventure in Abingdon at our complimentary, hot Be Our Guest Breakfast featuring waffles, eggs and more. Grab a book from the hotel's Read It & Return Lending LibrarySM and settle into a chair poolside while the kids make a splash. Feeling hungry between meals? Visit our lobby for a free cookie and a cup of coffee. Enjoy these amenities and services: Complimentary, Hot Be Our Guest Breakfast, Free High-Speed Internet Access, Free Access to a Fitness Center Adjacent to the Hotel, Seasonal Outdoor Pool, and Free Cookies and Coffee Available 24 Hours. Kick back on your comfortable bed with your laptop, a book from the lending library or the TV remote. Drift off to sleep while reading your free copy of the USA TODAY® newspaper or while watching your 32-inch flat-screen TV with HBO. Room amenities include: Free High-Speed Internet Access, 32"" Flat-Screen TV with HBO, Coffeemaker with Complimentary Coffee, and Work Desk with Lamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Abingdon Hotel Abingdon
Holiday Inn Abingdon
Abingdon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing