We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly staff = great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We spent only one night but I can say that it was great. Just what you hope to get when you stay away from home. The check-in was fast and easy and friendly. Everyone we encountered at this place were extremely nice. The room was very clean and the beds were very comfy. They had a washer & dryer on the 3rd floor for customer use. There are microwave and frig in the room but not necessary because there are so many eating choices near by. The breakfast is wonderful! There is a large variety (yogurt, fresh fruit, 3 diff juices, muffins and more). But by far, the the friendly staff was what made this a great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenandTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry R, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you for your review. Customer service is our number one priority. Our staff constantly strives to make sure every guest is comfortable and has everything that they need during their stay. All of our rooms come equipped with microwaves and mini fridges if you want to stay in and not go out for dinner . If you are interested in dining out our front desk staff can offer several recommendations depending on what you are in the mood for. Our express start breakfast featuring many hot items and a full continental spread will get your morning started off right. If you need anything during your stay please let our staff know and we will do our best to make sure you have all that you need. We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Larry Rushing II
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2013

Very clean hotel! The staff are focused entirely on Customer Service and do a grea job of making you feel like you are their top priority! Very friendly and helpful! Recommended great places to eat! The continental breakfast was great every morning with a variety of items to choose from. Even the fresh apples in the basket as you walked in and out of the hotel added that extra friendly, welcoming environment. Thanks to all of the front desk staff as well as the ladies in the breakfast area! Wish I could remember everyone's name! Thanks Danny for replacing the battery in our smoke detector. Thank you Ashley for working with us to get our bill perfect for state reimbursement! Even after I left, I called back to the hotel because I left my personal pillow. "No problem Danny said." "Will you be back this way or do you want us to mail it?" Thanks so much!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry R, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you for your review. Our entire staff is dedicated to making sure everything with your stay is the best it can possibly be. We want every guest to feel that they are our top priority because they are. Our housekeeping and maintenance staff do everything that they can to keep our rooms clean and in top shape. The front desk staff is always ready to help with any need that may arise during a guests stay, being a recommendation for dinner or arranging the return of items left behind. We thank you for staying with us and look forward to having you stay with us again when you are in the area.

Larry Rushing II
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

In town for a play at the Barter Theater and decided to stay here and use our Priority Club Points, for our room. Great choice!! Great staff and a nice renovated room. The breakfast was a wonderful surprise! So many choices and such a helpful lady serving it. It was amazing how quiet the room was, to be so close to I-81. It sits back from the road, but worth looking for. We would highly recommend this Holiday Inn Express, and will probably stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachgofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry R, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you for your review. We look forward to having you stay with again soon.

Larry Rushing II
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This is a great hotel to stay in on a trip. We were travelling over 300 miles to visit family. The extended continental breakfast was amazing! Eggs, cheese omelettes, bacon, pastries, coffee, pancake machine, cereal for the kids... and... sausage gravy and biscuits! The room was very clean and well-kept. The employees were very nice and helpful. The hotel manager went above and beyond. My wife left her tablet in our room when we returned home. Not only did the staff collect the device and keep it at teh front desk, but the manager mailed it to us AT NO COST TO US! You simply never experience superior customer service like this anymore. Do yourself a favor and consider staying here on your next trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank October21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry R, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Larry Rushing II
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed here for two night, the rooms were quite, beds comfortable, Staff super friendly, and help you in anyway that they could, and the morning Breakfast was awesome with a Hostess that had your every concern taken care of.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovmytruck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry R, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you for your review. Our staff constantly strives to make sure that every guest is taken care of to the best of our abilities. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Larry Rushing II
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed here in August of 2013 and found friendly accommodations. Room were older but comfortable and clean. Very friendly staff which I would rate as outstanding. Breakfast had many offerings including delicious cinnamon buns and sausage gravy. Close proximity to downtown Abingdon and restaurants. We did find it a difficult hotel to turn left as there is surprisingly a lot of traffic. As information, this hotel allows pets in certain rooms on the first floor.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank choclabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry R, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you for your review. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Larry Rushing II
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

My second stay here while visiting Abington's Barter Theater. Convenient location, friendly staff, clean room. Coffee ,bottled water, and fruit were available in the the lobby. The breakfast was very good-- but if I had had nothing other than coffee and the delicious cinnamon buns I would have been happy. I hope to stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francesskh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry R, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you staying with us again soon.

Larry Rushing II
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abingdon hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 10 in Abingdon
189 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#3 of 10 in Abingdon
488 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Abingdon
210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Abingdon
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 10 in Abingdon
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA

Address: 940 E Main St, Abingdon, VA 24210-4416 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Abingdon)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Abingdon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Abingdon
Price Range: £63 - £93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson®, Abingdon, VA to experience the Southern charm of Abingdon, a small town nestled in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains, boasting quaint brick sidewalks and a vibrant fine arts and crafts scene. Located at Exit 19 on Interstate 81, our hotel welcomes you with free Internet access, and free coffee and cookies served around the clock. Pack comfortable shoes for a hike along the 34-mile Virginia Creeper Trail, just 1 mile away, or explore the depths of nearby Bristol Caverns. You can also reach the Bristol Motor Speedway for a NASCAR race in about 30 minutes. A refreshing swim in our seasonal outdoor pool will help you unwind after a day of touring local historical sites like the Fields-Penn House Museum. In the morning, fuel up for another fun-filled adventure in Abingdon at our complimentary, hot Be Our Guest Breakfast featuring waffles, eggs and more. Grab a book from the hotel's Read It & Return Lending LibrarySM and settle into a chair poolside while the kids make a splash. Feeling hungry between meals? Visit our lobby for a free cookie and a cup of coffee. Enjoy these amenities and services: Complimentary, Hot Be Our Guest Breakfast, Free High-Speed Internet Access, Free Access to a Fitness Center Adjacent to the Hotel, Seasonal Outdoor Pool, and Free Cookies and Coffee Available 24 Hours. Kick back on your comfortable bed with your laptop, a book from the lending library or the TV remote. Drift off to sleep while reading your free copy of the USA TODAY® newspaper or while watching your 32-inch flat-screen TV with HBO. Room amenities include: Free High-Speed Internet Access, 32"" Flat-Screen TV with HBO, Coffeemaker with Complimentary Coffee, and Work Desk with Lamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Abingdon Hotel Abingdon
Holiday Inn Abingdon
Abingdon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing