We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed twice traveling”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stayed twice traveling”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

So glad I found this hotel! We love Abingdon and love the fact that this hotel is pet friendly. On our trip to DC we decided this was a good halfway point since we got a late start on the way up and back. The staff were very friendly and the night manager turned on the juice machine since I was craving some cranberry juice! The attendant who took care of breakfast area was very friendly and on top of things! Rooms were clean as were the bathrooms! Traveling with the pooch, or cat? Yup they accept cats to! This is the place to stay! Hey, stay there even if you don't have furry family members.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarryRushingII, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our hotel gladly accept pets and we realize how important your pets are when traveling. We are limited on the availability of our pet friendly rooms so please call ahead to verify availability. We also keep our third floor completely pet free to accommodate any guests with pet allergies. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Larry Rushing II
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    99
    34
    9
    4
See reviews for
95
126
15
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Memphis, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Our group stayed here on the way to Virginia Beach and again on the return trip. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They had a very good breakfast bar and the lady taking care of it was very nice (I think her name was Jane). Since we arrived late and left early on both trips, I have limited experience except with the breakfast and staff. Both left good impressions. If you find yourself in Abingdon, this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank possesheriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarryRushingII, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your stays with us. It was a pleasure to have you and your group stay with us on your way to Virginia Beach. I am pleased to hear that although you had limited experiences with our staff that they all left good impressions with you. We look forward to the next time you are in the area and hopefully you will get a chance to experience more of what our area has to offer.

Larry Rushing II
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I needed a place to meet my daughter so that I could get her dog for a while. I chose Abingdon because it was a half way point between her house and ours. No idea what a cute area. So we needed a hotel that would take dogs. The room was very nice. They do charge a $25 fee for the dog but clean everything before and after including the carpets. I got there before check in time and they got the room ready and let me check in. Good recommendation on where to take the dog for a run and where to eat. Breakfast was typical but was free so no complaints. Even sausage gravy, good to know we were still in the south. Between the cute town, the theater and the trail and the great hotel experience I plan to be back. Next time we will plan more time to ride the trail or take in a play.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wynter410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarryRushingII, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at our property. I am glad you decided to stay with us when meeting your daughter halfway. We take great pride in our property and do our best to keep it clean and in top shape. I am glad to hear that we were able to get you in before check-in time. We do our best to accommodate early check-ins whenever possible. We look forward to having you stay with us again and enjoying the many things our area has to offer.
If you have any questions about what to do or see just let our staff know and we can direct you to whatever it is you may be interested in. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you soon.

Larry Rushing II
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mt Gilead NC
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My wife found this property and it was perfect for traveling to all the various sites she wanted to visit. Backbone Rock Park was our first stop. Neat park, great trails, and a waterfall which at the right time of year would be super if the run off was heavy. Went up to the peaks to see the leaves and when the sun was shining on them they were beautiful. It also snowed up there which made for some super pictures & views, but it was cold for sure. It is very close to all the various sites in downtown that are must sees. The Martha Washington Hotel is really well worth a walk though. The Barter Theater was super and a fun night. The Olive Oil Company is an absolute must! Great oils from all over the world an excellent group of ladies that were very funny & helpful.
The entire staff at the hotel was very friendly and helpful. Mr. Owen was a true gentleman and great to chat with. The breakfast ladies kept all the items well stocked and fresh and also helped answer a lot of questions on where to go for whatever. The room was super with plenty of room and the housekeeping staff did a great job keeping it super clean.
I would highly recommend this property in particular if you want to bring your pet. They treat them as well as they treat you and that is important.
The property's GM I hope will read this review and give the entire staff a BIG WELL DONE!

Room Tip: Pet friendly & rooms are on the first floor with exit right there to take your pets outside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarryRushingII, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am happy that our properties location met your needs perfectly while in the area. We are conveniently located to the areas many hiking and biking trails, local restaurants, historical sites and the Barter Theater in addition to the other area attractions that you mentioned. We always strive to give every guest the best service and cleanest rooms. The entire staff and I thank you for staying with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon and enjoying more of what our area has to offer.

Larry Rushing II
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed for a one night bike ride get away, to ride on the Virginia Creeper. Close to the trail, very comfortable hotel. Would stay there again. They even upgraded us at no extra cost. Very reasonable rate, we purchased on Travelocity secret deal and were pleasantly surprised!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarryRushingII, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to you staying with us again when you ride the Creeper or visit our area.

Larry Rushing II
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernville, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We stayed just one night on our way to Gatlinburg, TN with our small dog. The hotel was conveniently located directly off route 81. The staff were great, very friendly. The facility was well maintained and clean. We really appreciated that they were so pet friendly. They have a well lit area for "potty time" and the room even had a bench at the end of the bed! We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarryRushingII, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for staying with us and your review. We are glad that you and your pet enjoyed your stay during your trip to Gatlinburg, TN. Our staff always does their very best to ensure that all our guests and their pets have all that they may need while staying with us. We also provide a pet free floor to accommodate guests with allergies. We are limited on the number of pet friendly rooms we offer, so please call ahead to ensure availability when traveling with your pet. We thank you again for staying with us look forward to you and your pets next stay at our property.

Larry Rushing II
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This hotel is within 2 miles to the Abingdon end of the Virginia Creeper Trail. Very convenient; excellent hot breakfast; efficient and kind staff; plenty of parking; casual dining nearby; very clean property; comfortable beds too. If we are visiting again we'll definitely stay here.

Room Tip: This is a pet friendly hotel but if you prefer to not have pets on your floor the third floor does n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dunn2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarryRushingII, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for your review and staying with us. We are pleased that you took advantage of our location to the Virginia Creeper Trail and nearby restaurants during your visit. Our hotel is conveniently located to several area attractions and restaurants that our front desk staff is more than happy to direct you to. We look forward to having you stay with us again and enjoying our wonderful area and the many activities it offers.

Larry Rushing II
Front Office Manager

.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abingdon hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 10 in Abingdon
178 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#2 of 10 in Abingdon
454 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Abingdon
203 reviews
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 10 in Abingdon
180 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Abingdon
Red Roof Inn Abingdon
#9 of 10 in Abingdon
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA
Address: 940 East Main Street, Abingdon, VA 24210-4416 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Abingdon)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Abingdon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson®, Abingdon, VA to experience the Southern charm of Abingdon, a small town nestled in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains, boasting quaint brick sidewalks and a vibrant fine arts and crafts scene. Located at Exit 19 on Interstate 81, our hotel welcomes you with free Internet access, and free coffee and cookies served around the clock. Pack comfortable shoes for a hike along the 34-mile Virginia Creeper Trail, just 1 mile away, or explore the depths of nearby Bristol Caverns. You can also reach the Bristol Motor Speedway for a NASCAR race in about 30 minutes. A refreshing swim in our seasonal outdoor pool will help you unwind after a day of touring local historical sites like the Fields-Penn House Museum. In the morning, fuel up for another fun-filled adventure in Abingdon at our complimentary, hot Be Our Guest Breakfast featuring waffles, eggs and more. Grab a book from the hotel's Read It & Return Lending LibrarySM and settle into a chair poolside while the kids make a splash. Feeling hungry between meals? Visit our lobby for a free cookie and a cup of coffee. Enjoy these amenities and services: Complimentary, Hot Be Our Guest Breakfast, Free High-Speed Internet Access, Free Access to a Fitness Center Adjacent to the Hotel, Seasonal Outdoor Pool, and Free Cookies and Coffee Available 24 Hours. Kick back on your comfortable bed with your laptop, a book from the lending library or the TV remote. Drift off to sleep while reading your free copy of the USA TODAY® newspaper or while watching your 32-inch flat-screen TV with HBO. Room amenities include: Free High-Speed Internet Access, 32"" Flat-Screen TV with HBO, Coffeemaker with Complimentary Coffee, and Work Desk with Lamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Abingdon Hotel Abingdon
Holiday Inn Abingdon
Abingdon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing