We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly, comfortable and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Abingdon, VA
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We were really happy with the front desk staff and management who were very friendly, professional and helpful. The beds are extremely comfortable and the room quiet. Everything was clean. We found it perfect for a stopover. The breakfast was hot and had a great variety. We would recommend this place to anyone traveling along the I-81

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank EmmaisinNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarryRushingII, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff constantly strives to offer the very best customer service possible and the complimentary hot breakfast is a great way to start your day. We look forward to having you stay with us again when you are in the area.

Larry Rushing II
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

Showed up with no reservation in afternoon. Got a 2 queen room with all the amenities. Room was clean, bed slept well. Hot breakfast buffet worked well. Initially was a little concerned with adjacent commercial property, but was not an issue. Right off interstate and easy drive down Main St to tourist area.

Room Tip: Away from ice machine/elevator on back side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank granpagolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarryRushingII, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you stay with us again when you are in the area.

Larry Rushing II
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I had a business meeting in Abingdon and was a bit concerned when they did not have a Marriott Courtyard property. Marriott is my preferred hotel chain for business travel. I decided to give this Holiday Inn Express a whirl and was pleasantly surprised. I used to associate Holiday Inn with mid/low budget travel lodging. This was a great property and actually chose to stay in a Hollday Inn on a subsequent business trip as a result of my stay here. You pretty much get everything here that you would get at a Courtyard.

The room was well appointed and gave me everything I needed. Free wifi, a comfy well appointed bed and bathroom, plenty of TV channels, and more. It was a short drive for me into downtown Abingdon.

The hotel offers a pretty robust breakfast buffet that was great.

Overall, I would suspect this is one of the best business hotels to stay in Abingdon. I look forward to staying here on my next trip there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjohns7861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarryRushingII, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our property. Our complimentary full hot breakfast and Wi-Fi are great for business travelers like yourself. We are glad that your experience with us lead you to stay with another IHG property. I thank you for staying with us and look forward to your next stay when your business brings you to the area again.

Larry Rushing II
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Complimentary wifi and breakfast. The breakfast was much larger than I anticipate. The room was quiet and clean - for the $ a good deal. Staff was friendly - accommodating. Perfectly adequate and especially so if you are going to spend your time around town.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank S_travels4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarryRushingII, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am glad that everything meet with your expectations during your stay with us. We do offer a substantial number of choices for breakfast and will be adding new items in the coming year. Our property is conveniently located to anything you may want to do while in the area and if you have any questions feel free to ask our knowledgeable staff. We thank you for staying with us and look forward to the next time you stay with us.

Larry Rushing II
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

The rooms are very large and clean with a comfortable bed. I wish I could have stayed longer and explored Abingdon. The only complaint was it was the most expensive of all of this type of hotel we stayed in during our road trip, I am not sure why. The breakfast in the Holiday Inn Express in Charleston, West Virginia was superb, the breakfast at this hotel was below par compared to the others.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank badsaltydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarryRushingII, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2013

Thank you for your review. Our housekeeping staff takes great pride in the cleanliness of our rooms and continuously strives to make sure everything is as clean as possible. I am sorry that our breakfast did not meet with your expectations. We value you input and if you would like to contact us to let us know exactly what didn't meet your expectations we would greatly appreciate the opportunity to have you help us improve. We want every aspect of your stay to be great and we look forward to hearing form you and having you stay with us again when you are in the area.

Larry Rushing II
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stopped at this hotel as it was right off the Interstate as we were headed out to Nashville.. The front desk greeted us warmly and offered us a very reasonable rate for a night's stay. The rooms were generous in size and very clean. The 'fridge & microwave oven would definitely be a plus if you were staying with a family or for a few nights. The warm breakfast the next day was quite good (and complimentary). Overall a good experience.

Room Tip: Stay on the 3rd floor if you can (the rooms are not well insolated and you get less noise up there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacquelin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarryRushingII, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to share your experiences. We take pride in the cleanliness of our facilities and our staff goes to great lengths to make everyone feel at home while they are here. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

Larry Rushing II
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed at this property on our way home for Thanksgiving. The hotel was a quick stop off the interstate. We were tired and stressed after a five hour road trip with rain and fog the entire way. The hotel staff was exactly what we needed; friendly, efficient, and helpful. The room was large and clean. We stayed on the third floor which is the pet-free floor. Fruit, coffee, and tea were available in the lobby throughout the day and night. The hotel has a very nice breakfast that begins at 6:00. We would stay there again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank PA B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarryRushingII, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to here that our staff and facilities provided exactly what you needed after a hard day on the road. Our staff is always friendly and more than willing to help with anything you may need while staying with us. We look forward to you staying with us again when in the area.

Larry Rushing II
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abingdon hotels
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#2 of 10 in Abingdon
502 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Abingdon
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 10 in Abingdon
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 10 in Abingdon
213 reviews
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 10 in Abingdon
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Abingdon, VA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Abingdon, VA

Address: 940 E Main St, Abingdon, VA 24210-4416 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Abingdon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Abingdon
Price Range: £66 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Abingdon, VA 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson®, Abingdon, VA to experience the Southern charm of Abingdon, a small town nestled in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains, boasting quaint brick sidewalks and a vibrant fine arts and crafts scene. Located at Exit 19 on Interstate 81, our hotel welcomes you with free Internet access, and free coffee and cookies served around the clock. Pack comfortable shoes for a hike along the 34-mile Virginia Creeper Trail, just 1 mile away, or explore the depths of nearby Bristol Caverns. You can also reach the Bristol Motor Speedway for a NASCAR race in about 30 minutes. A refreshing swim in our seasonal outdoor pool will help you unwind after a day of touring local historical sites like the Fields-Penn House Museum. In the morning, fuel up for another fun-filled adventure in Abingdon at our complimentary, hot Be Our Guest Breakfast featuring waffles, eggs and more. Grab a book from the hotel's Read It & Return Lending LibrarySM and settle into a chair poolside while the kids make a splash. Feeling hungry between meals? Visit our lobby for a free cookie and a cup of coffee. Enjoy these amenities and services: Complimentary, Hot Be Our Guest Breakfast, Free High-Speed Internet Access, Free Access to a Fitness Center Adjacent to the Hotel, Seasonal Outdoor Pool, and Free Cookies and Coffee Available 24 Hours. Kick back on your comfortable bed with your laptop, a book from the lending library or the TV remote. Drift off to sleep while reading your free copy of the USA TODAY® newspaper or while watching your 32-inch flat-screen TV with HBO. Room amenities include: Free High-Speed Internet Access, 32"" Flat-Screen TV with HBO, Coffeemaker with Complimentary Coffee, and Work Desk with Lamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Abingdon, VA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Abingdon Hotel Abingdon
Holiday Inn Abingdon
Abingdon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing