We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We were very impressed with the staff and there friendly attitude. It was such a relieve to find such a clean nice quite room. We were pleasantly surprised at the great breakfast and helpful service we recieved the next morning. We would recommend this any and all that wants a very clean place to stay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Marlin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarryRushingII, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our staff takes great pride in our customer service and the cleanliness of our facilities. We are glad to that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Larry Rushing II
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

We expected the usual cookie-cutter hotel experience but were pleasantly surprised with this property. Two experiences made it unique:
1. It is really pet friendly. Many properties say they are and you pay the extra money but are treated as second class patrons. These people are really nice to humans and pets. Thank you for that.
2. Danny at the front desk. He not only made an extra effort to provide a good experience, he was genuine. He call Wildflower for us to check on the evening dinner special and gave great travel advice. Thank you.
We will return to this hotel, thanks to the two especially great experiences.

Room Tip: Pet friendly rooms are located on the bottom floors and near a spotless green space area for dogs.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarryRushingII, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences at our property. I am glad to hear we exceeded your expectations. We want all of our guests and their pets to feel like family when staying with us. We understand the difficulties in traveling with pets and we do our best to ensure that they are just as comfortable as you are and have everything they may need. We look forward to having you stay with us again when you are in the area.

Larry Rushing II
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

In spite of being next to the interstate, my room was very quiet, and the staff were very friendly. Check in was quick and Danny apologized for my having to wait 20 seconds while he answered the phone-very friendly professional guy. While my room and the bathroom were very clean, the hall carpets were a little worn, as was the ottoman in my room. The hall floor on my 3rd floor creaked and you could feel the floor give a little as you walked down the hall, but these are my only cons. The breakfast was good but not outstanding, but who WAS outstanding was the breakfast attendant. She was very pleasant, engaged with the guests, made sure everyone had what they needed, and was a pleasure. Would certainly stay here again, because Danny and the breakfast attendant made this slightly tired but clean hotel better.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarryRushingII, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am pleased to hear about your positive experiences with our staff during your stay. Danny, our breakfast attendants and entire staff do a wonderful job of taking care of our guests. We are constantly trying to improve our facilities and feed back like yours is critical in this endeavor. I apologize that our facilities did not meet your expectations but am glad to know that the customer service you experienced will have you stay with us again. Thank your for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Larry Rushing II
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This property is well-managed. We had three exceptionally clean and comfortable rooms. This hotel renders solid service and provides great value to the guest in a consistent manner. I was quite impressed with Larry S. Rushing, II as he was a person of his word and as he met our every expectation to guarantee that my Family had an encore experience. As a result, we shall return again to this hotel.

Room Tip: Coordinate Your Reservation Well In Advance!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChipCampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarryRushingII, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences from your recent stay. We take great pride in our customer service and the cleanliness of our facility. Our staff does an excellent job ensuring that all of our guests have everything they may need while here in Abingdon. We appreciate you and your family staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Larry Rushing II
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed multiple times at this location. We get the hot tub rooms. They are very spacious and homey. Every person on staff at this location goes above and beyond the call of duty. The best part of my day was spending time at the breakfast buffet talking with the ladies who work there. They are like family to me now. Very, very personable staff!!!! Can't wait to go back. :)

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarryRushingII, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experinces at our property. We are glad you have enjoyed your multiple stays with us here in Abingdon and we thank you for your continued patronage. Our staff strives to make every guest feel like family the same way you do when you stay with us. We thank you for staying with us again and look forward to your next visit/

Larry Rushing II
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I reserved a king room and spent a little more to get an updated bathroom. The room was wonderful and the bathroom was clean and modern. Great shower and loved the hair products. Right on the exit of I81, but I didn't hear any traffic. The hotel is clean and a great value. It is close to downtown. The hotel were vey friendly also.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarryRushingII, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. We are delighted to know how much you enjoyed your stay. Our staff continuously strives to offer the cleanest rooms and best customer service possible. We take great pride in our property and have recently renovated many of our bathrooms as well upgraded our wireless internet system. We look forward to having you stay with us again when you are in the area again.

Larry Rushing II
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We drove to this part of the country for the express purpose of biking the Creeper Trail. What a wonderful surprise to find this hotel with. Friendly staff, beautiful rooms and a great breakfast.
George and Danny were welcoming and Ashley was as nice as could be in the morning. Everyone on grounds greeted us and seemed genuinely happy to be there to show us how welcoming Virginia can be.
A must stay if you are in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outsteppin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarryRushingII, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are glad you felt welcomed and had a wonderful stay while coming to ride the Virginia Creeper Trail. Out entire staff strives to make every guest feel the way you do about our property. Our hotel is conveniently located for anyone coming to ride the Virginia Creeper Trail, see a play at the Barter Theater or visit any of the area attractions. We look forward to having you stay with us again and thank you for your review.

Larry Rushing II
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abingdon hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 10 in Abingdon
183 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#2 of 10 in Abingdon
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Abingdon
206 reviews
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 10 in Abingdon
183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Abingdon
Red Roof Inn Abingdon
#9 of 10 in Abingdon
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA

Address: 940 East Main Street, Abingdon, VA 24210-4416 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Abingdon)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Abingdon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Abingdon
Price Range: £69 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson®, Abingdon, VA to experience the Southern charm of Abingdon, a small town nestled in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains, boasting quaint brick sidewalks and a vibrant fine arts and crafts scene. Located at Exit 19 on Interstate 81, our hotel welcomes you with free Internet access, and free coffee and cookies served around the clock. Pack comfortable shoes for a hike along the 34-mile Virginia Creeper Trail, just 1 mile away, or explore the depths of nearby Bristol Caverns. You can also reach the Bristol Motor Speedway for a NASCAR race in about 30 minutes. A refreshing swim in our seasonal outdoor pool will help you unwind after a day of touring local historical sites like the Fields-Penn House Museum. In the morning, fuel up for another fun-filled adventure in Abingdon at our complimentary, hot Be Our Guest Breakfast featuring waffles, eggs and more. Grab a book from the hotel's Read It & Return Lending LibrarySM and settle into a chair poolside while the kids make a splash. Feeling hungry between meals? Visit our lobby for a free cookie and a cup of coffee. Enjoy these amenities and services: Complimentary, Hot Be Our Guest Breakfast, Free High-Speed Internet Access, Free Access to a Fitness Center Adjacent to the Hotel, Seasonal Outdoor Pool, and Free Cookies and Coffee Available 24 Hours. Kick back on your comfortable bed with your laptop, a book from the lending library or the TV remote. Drift off to sleep while reading your free copy of the USA TODAY® newspaper or while watching your 32-inch flat-screen TV with HBO. Room amenities include: Free High-Speed Internet Access, 32"" Flat-Screen TV with HBO, Coffeemaker with Complimentary Coffee, and Work Desk with Lamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Abingdon Hotel Abingdon
Holiday Inn Abingdon
Abingdon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing