We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful service and clean rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

The people here are so nice - anticipating your needs before you need them.

We have had an excellent stay and Danny Owen was very kind and understanding. A perfect spot after an all say ride on Creeper Trail. The outdoor pool is pretty nice as well!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Brad D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarryRushingII, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for your review. Our staff continuously strives to offer the best experience possible to all of our guests. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit.

Larry Rushing II
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

211 - 217 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

My fiance and I had a great experience at the Holiday Inn Express in Abingdon, VA. The service was absolutely wonderful!!! I had left a couple articles of clothing behind, and they kindly mailed them to my home. We will definitely be returning next time we are in Abingdon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eileen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarryRushingII, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

We thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. We hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Larry Rushing II

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

The Holiday Inn Express is one of the best hotels we have stayed. The front staff was very friendly and helpful to begin with. My wife loved the pillows and inquired to the front desk about how she could buy the kind they have. We couldn't buy direct from them but the manager and his staff went out of their way to find out the type and where you could buy them.
The room was very very nice. The beds were very comfortable. I have already made known the pilllows were excellent. They had HDTV from Comcast which was very good. I'm not sure I have stayed in a hotel with actual HDTV before. The WIFI was excellent and very easy to link up to. A microwave,refrigerator and iron was available to use also. We didn't partake of the free breakfast but I heard nothing but good things about it. We arrived late and wish we had not since we didn't have much time to enjoy this room. If we are every back in Abington we will be sure to stay here. They will make your stay however long or short very enjoyable.

Room Tip: You may want to get a 3rd floor room since you can hear anyone who may run across the floor above yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hallrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarryRushingII, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience at our property. My staff and I were more than happy to assist your wife with the information on our pillows and where to purchase them. I am glad to hear about how much you enjoyed your stay and hopefully you will get to enjoy breakfast the next time you stay with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again when you are in the area.

Larry Rushing II
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had a terrific experience at this hotel in Abingdon. We were first greeted by Danny Owen at the front desk. He was exceptionally professional and provided all the information we needed to enjoy our stay. Not only did he tell us all about the hotel and its amentities, he also included points of interest in the quaint town of Abingdon as well. Holiday Inn is blessed with him as a representative of their company. We also had the distinct pleasure of meeting Jane in the breakfast area. Not only did she provide a delicious breakfast each morning, the area was so clean and well stocked. She would take time for everyone who had questions about the area and provide specific directions and recommendations. She also would walk over and get a brochure to give you to have as reference. Just can't say enough about all of the employees here. What a great reflection of management and individual personalities. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarryRushingII, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences and your compliments. Our staff is dedicated to ensuring that every guest has the same type of positive experience that you had during your stay. Jane and Danny along with the entire staff here at the Holiday Inn Express Abingdon take great pride in our customer service, clean rooms and local knowledge. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Larry Rushing II
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We just finished our second stay at the Holiday Inn in Abington. We had a wonderful weekend with a great room and wonderful service. The staff here is great, very friendly, and caring about their guests. They have a wonderful breakfast and Jane really makes you feel at home and is always checking on people to see that they have what they need. She offers good advise on things to do in the area. We would also like to compliment Danny who was working the front desk during our visit. He greeted us warmly and gave us a lovely room. Our room on the 3rd floor was clean and very comfortable. We came to Abington to ride the Creeper Trail which was wonderful. We also enjoyed a show at the Barter Theatre and a visit to the Abington winery. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F3902JBlindas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarryRushingII, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for your review. Our staffs goal is to always deliver the excellent customer service you experienced during your stay. Our entire staff genuinely cares about our guests and wants everyone to have the very best experience possible. We take great pride in the cleanliness of our rooms, our knowledge of the area and the many things there are to do. We thank you for staying with us and hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Larry Rushing II
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel is located about 1 ½ miles from downtown Abingdon. Huddle House and Wendy’s are adjacent with three other restaurants within a short walking distance. Our room was clean and spacious (king bed, sofa, refrigerator, desk), and despite being close to I-81, very quiet.. The room rate includes breakfast – an array of muffins, bagels, breads, yogurt, juices, and hot items: scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, biscuits (and, of course gravy—but no grits), waffles & pancakes. The breakfast hostess was cheery and efficient, as were those who worked the desk. Some places we have stayed recently should send their staff here for training in customer relations. We definitely will stay here again when we come back in September.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redneckersson5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarryRushingII, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for your review and the wonderful compliments you had for our staff. Please make sure to let the breakfast host know when you are down for breakfast about the grits and they will get them for you. We offer them in individual packets at our oatmeal station We look forward to having you stay with us again in September.

Larry Rushing II
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We loved it so much if we go there where aging I will be staying here I loved it so much loved the FOOD so good and the people where so caring and we loved it I do not want to leave it is so good but I wish there was more for the kids that come overall I like it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grace W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LarryRushingII, Front Office Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear about how much you enjoyed your stay. Our front desk staff is very knowledgeable of the area and the many things to do. I am sure that our staff can find many things for you and your children to do when staying with us on your next visit. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Larry Rushing II
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abingdon hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 10 in Abingdon
189 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#2 of 10 in Abingdon
488 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Abingdon
210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Abingdon
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 10 in Abingdon
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA

Address: 940 E Main St, Abingdon, VA 24210-4416 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Abingdon)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Abingdon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Abingdon
Price Range: £63 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson®, Abingdon, VA to experience the Southern charm of Abingdon, a small town nestled in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains, boasting quaint brick sidewalks and a vibrant fine arts and crafts scene. Located at Exit 19 on Interstate 81, our hotel welcomes you with free Internet access, and free coffee and cookies served around the clock. Pack comfortable shoes for a hike along the 34-mile Virginia Creeper Trail, just 1 mile away, or explore the depths of nearby Bristol Caverns. You can also reach the Bristol Motor Speedway for a NASCAR race in about 30 minutes. A refreshing swim in our seasonal outdoor pool will help you unwind after a day of touring local historical sites like the Fields-Penn House Museum. In the morning, fuel up for another fun-filled adventure in Abingdon at our complimentary, hot Be Our Guest Breakfast featuring waffles, eggs and more. Grab a book from the hotel's Read It & Return Lending LibrarySM and settle into a chair poolside while the kids make a splash. Feeling hungry between meals? Visit our lobby for a free cookie and a cup of coffee. Enjoy these amenities and services: Complimentary, Hot Be Our Guest Breakfast, Free High-Speed Internet Access, Free Access to a Fitness Center Adjacent to the Hotel, Seasonal Outdoor Pool, and Free Cookies and Coffee Available 24 Hours. Kick back on your comfortable bed with your laptop, a book from the lending library or the TV remote. Drift off to sleep while reading your free copy of the USA TODAY® newspaper or while watching your 32-inch flat-screen TV with HBO. Room amenities include: Free High-Speed Internet Access, 32"" Flat-Screen TV with HBO, Coffeemaker with Complimentary Coffee, and Work Desk with Lamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Abingdon Hotel Abingdon
Holiday Inn Abingdon
Abingdon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing