We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pet Friendly Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Abingdon, VA
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2010

Thanks to Holiday Inn Express for being a very nice pet friendly hotel. We come here once or twice a year for the Creeper Trail. We always travel with our Maltese or we don't travel, so I am always grateful when a hotel is pet friendly. The $25 pet fee is per stay, which is typical. One floor of the hotel is reserved for people who don't have pets, so those who are allergic to pets or just don't like them, have a floor to themselves. The staff is always very friendly and helpful. The rooms are a little noisy. If someone is talking in the hallway, you can clearly hear them. Otherwise our stay has always been pleasant.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fbbarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (365)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 365 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2010

Stayed here for one night. Pet fee is around $25 but reviews for this hotel were better than the other two in the area that accept pets so we end up staying in this one. It was a good decision since the beds were really comfortable and the room was reasonably clean plus there was a hot breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank silarem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2010

Terribly smelly, rooms not so clean. Outrageous prices. Management not friendly or hospitable. Do yourself a favor and take another exit or two. You'll be glad you did.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catstull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

My husband and I spent 2 nights here when we were sightseeing and hiking in the area. As has been our experience with HIE, the room was excellent as was the service and breakfast. The cost was reasonable after our military discount. An added bonus was getting the end room on the 1st floor which (as another reviewer noted) was extremely roomy and comfortable. Special kudos to the man who checked us in and provided us with a notebook of local restaurant menus--very helpful--and the wonderful lady who was overseeing the breakfast. She was very concientious in checking with guests, keeping items stocked and even gave us some travel tips for the area. Altogether a very comfortable and pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lhclemns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2009

This was a very nice Holiday Inn Express. I would compare the room to a mid-level Sheraton and was pleasantly surprised by the entire hotel. I was there for work and even though the hotel was at full capacity for a car racing event, the staff were very friendly and attentive.

The breakfast buffet was also suprisingly good. We had omelets and fruit one day and eggs with biscuits another day.

If in the area, I would highly recommend eating at Willa Jack's in the lovely downtown area. The food and atmosphere were quite good. http://www.willajacks.com/

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adventuregrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2009

We chose this hotel simply because it was one of the only ones in Abingdon which allowed pets. We would have preferred to stay in the Martha Washington or one of the nice B&B's in town, but couldn't find one that would allow our small dog to stay, so we settled for the Holiday Inn Express. It was pretty much what you expect from a Holiday Inn Express - a pretty typical mid-to-low-end road hotel - but it did have its positives and negatives. The biggest complaint that I had was the odor of antiseptic that is obviously used to clean the place with. On the one hand, it gives the impression that everything has been cleaned, but on the other hand, you wonder what they trying to cover up with that strong antiseptic odor. Anyway, the place seemed relatively clean, so no big complaints there. On the positive side, the staff were all very friendly, and seemed willing to go out of their way to serve their customers. The lady that worked the breakfast room was very sweet and worked hard to keep the food coming, even when the crowd seemed ready to overwhelm her. The breakfast buffet (included with the room) was pretty generous compared to some of the similarly priced hotels of the same type.

All-in-all, I didn't think it was a bad place, but it wasn't exceptional either, so I rated it "average" as compared to other similar hotels of the same class.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WynneWoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

Got a pet-friendly room for one night. The room was enormous -- much larger than rooms I've had in high-end conference hotels. Nicely-appointed bed, chair with ottoman, sofa with coffee table, desk, fridge, microwave, flat-screen TV, shower enclosure with real tile rather than fiberglass insert. Because the first-floor room was separated from others on that hall by a manager's office, our dogs did not hear other folks moving about and so did not bark -- a relief for us.

If we're on the road through Abingdon again with our critters, we will definitely stay here. Nice for humans and dogs alike.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abingdon hotels
2.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#2 of 10 in Abingdon
502 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Abingdon
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 10 in Abingdon
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
4.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 10 in Abingdon
193 reviews
4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#6 of 10 in Abingdon
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Abingdon, VA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Abingdon, VA

Address: 940 E Main St, Abingdon, VA 24210-4416 (Formerly Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Abingdon, VA)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Abingdon
#2 Romantic Hotel in Abingdon
Price Range: £66 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Abingdon, VA 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the Country Inn & Suites By Carlson®, Abingdon, VA to experience the Southern charm of Abingdon, a small town nestled in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains, boasting quaint brick sidewalks and a vibrant fine arts and crafts scene. Located at Exit 19 on Interstate 81, our hotel welcomes you with free Internet access, and free coffee and cookies served around the clock. Pack comfortable shoes for a hike along the 34-mile Virginia Creeper Trail, just 1 mile away, or explore the depths of nearby Bristol Caverns. You can also reach the Bristol Motor Speedway for a NASCAR race in about 30 minutes. A refreshing swim in our seasonal outdoor pool will help you unwind after a day of touring local historical sites like the Fields-Penn House Museum. In the morning, fuel up for another fun-filled adventure in Abingdon at our complimentary, hot Be Our Guest Breakfast featuring waffles, eggs and more. Grab a book from the hotel's Read It & Return Lending LibrarySM and settle into a chair poolside while the kids make a splash. Feeling hungry between meals? Visit our lobby for a free cookie and a cup of coffee. Enjoy these amenities and services: Complimentary, Hot Be Our Guest Breakfast, Free High-Speed Internet Access, Free Access to a Fitness Center Adjacent to the Hotel, Seasonal Outdoor Pool, and Free Cookies and Coffee Available 24 Hours. Kick back on your comfortable bed with your laptop, a book from the lending library or the TV remote. Drift off to sleep while reading your free copy of the USA TODAY® newspaper or while watching your 32-inch flat-screen TV with HBO. Room amenities include: Free High-Speed Internet Access, 32"" Flat-Screen TV with HBO, Coffeemaker with Complimentary Coffee, and Work Desk with Lamp. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Abingdon, VA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Abingdon Hotel Abingdon
Holiday Inn Abingdon
Abingdon Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing