We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel; tricky exit out of the driveway.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Everything was fine here. It's always nice to have the complimentary breakfast though they kept running out of things and didn't always replenish in a timely manner. We had to depend on kind drivers letting us turn left out of the hotel's lot; there was a traffic light close by and usually things were congested.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QTandToots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darrell D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Abingdon, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2011

Thank you for staying with us. I'm sorry we were unable to get our breakfast items replenished quickly enough. Some foods require a longer prep time, but we do our best to replenish our offerings as quickly as possible. Thanks again for choosing us for your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (480)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 480 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2011

I usually stay in Hampton Inn Hotels when I travel for business and very often, my spouse and I will stay in HI when on vacation b/c they meet our needs quite nicely and we know what to expect. The HI in Abingdon, VA is my hotel of choice when I am on business in the area and I have not one complaint. Everyone does an outstanding job and I always look forward to returning!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharlotteBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darrell D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Abingdon, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2011

Thank you for your kind comments. We appreciate you staying with us and look forward to serving you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Stayed one night June 29, 2011, with spouse and kids. Friendly staff. Close to highway. Near restaurants like Cracker Barrel. Typical good Hampton Inn room, but had tiny ants in the bathroom. They didn't seem to be in the main room, and it was late and we were tired, so I didn't bother reporting it. Mentioned to front desk clerk the next day and she apologized for the inconvenience.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ExecGirlTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

This Hampton Inn is very quiet and clean as most Hamptons are. We were only here one night on our way to Shenandoah National Park but everyone was very friendly, efficient and helpful. The mattresses are extremely comfortable with fitted sheets and we sleep soundly. We have visited Abingdon before and enjoyed some of the local restaurants and antique stores while we were in the area to hike at Mount Rogers. This is a nice, comfortable place to spend the night.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smiles4miles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2011

I booked this hotel while we were on the road and we ended up getting the last available room. The hotel was very clean and appeared fairly new. Every employee at the hotel was professional and extremely kind. The breakfast in the morning was wonderful and had everything. This turned out to be a great stop for us! I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NoVaFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

Stayed here on a trip to bike the Va Creeper Trail. The hotel was clean and comfortable and the beds/linens and breakfast were great. It seemed a little expensive for such a rural area (and this wasn't a race weekend), but I would definitely stay here again. One of the staff gave us a great tip on a close place to pick up the Va Creeper Trail as we were leaving and it allowed us to see a different section of the trail without biking it all. We wish we could thank him for that because it was a great tip!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichmondReviewer_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Stayed here on March 19, 2011, during Bristol Motor Speedway race weekend. Price gouging in prevalent in the Tri-Cities region during race weekends. Unfortunately, the Hampton Inn Abingdon was no exception. Our double guest room set us back $300 per night. Ouch!!! However, I must admit, that if you are willing to take the price gouging, this hotel will not disappoint you in terms of service. The staff was friendly and welcoming. The rooms were standard Hampton Inn rooms, which are usually clean, quiet, and comfortable. The town and people of Abingdon, Virginia are great. You should definitely take a trip into downtown and try out The Tavern. Max and his staff are amazing. All in all, we had a great stay at this hotel, even though my credit card bill will hurt this month!!!!

Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
4  Thank CadeParian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
0.8 mi away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 10 in Abingdon
188 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Abingdon
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 10 in Abingdon
188 reviews
9.7 mi away
Courtyard Bristol
Courtyard Bristol
#2 of 13 in Bristol
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Abingdon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Abingdon

Address: 340 Commerce Dr, Abingdon, VA 24211-3807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Abingdon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Abingdon
Price Range: £108 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Abingdon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Abingdon is conveniently located off of I-81 in the historic town of Abingdon, Virginia. For the duration of your stay, enjoy a free hot breakfast each morning along with complimentary high-speed internet while you take in the local charm. Stroll through the town. Meet local artists and even watch as they work in their studios. Sample vintage wine at the Abingdon Vineyard and Winery, or enjoy the scenic trails and sights of the Cherokee, Jefferson or Washington National Forests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Abingdon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Abingdon Hotel Abingdon
Abingdon Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing