We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another nice stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another nice stay!”
Reviewed 15 June 2012

A business trip brings us to Abingdon and lucky to have reservations at Hampton Inn. (They sell out quickly.) Even tho the hotel is older, they do things right and it's our favorite place to stay when hubby has to be in the area for business.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darrell D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Abingdon, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you so much for your comments about our hotel. We always enjoy having guests such as yourself stay with us. Hopefully you can return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    149
    48
    14
    11
See reviews for
129
154
23
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I came here for business for four days and found it to be clean and I had a reasonably good room. The wireless is fast and there is a small gym available for use. The breakfast is above average for this type of hotel. Staff are very nice. Town is a two minute drive away. I would come here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Businesstravellerr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darrell D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Abingdon, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you for choosing us for your hotel needs. Our staff will appreciate your comments. Please return when you are in our area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

These days when I need to stop on the road, I tend to think of Hampton Inn's as being the "old reliable." It will be clean, the bed will be comfortable and I will have enough breakfast in the morning to keep me on the road.

This Hampton Inn hit all those points.

Reception was friendly and check in smooth. The room was clean and in good condition.

What may keep me away from this class of hotels in the future is those darn through the wall AC units. It was impossible to keep the room at a comfortable temperature and the window did not open to allow air in. The unit was also quite loud. I don't think there was anything wrong with it - I think this is just how they are.

Breakfast was acceptable. Several tables had been used earlier and had not been wiped down (sticky.) The scrambled egg offering looked overcooked and dry. I stuck to cereal and fruit. The fruit was fresh.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AzureMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darrell D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Abingdon, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you for staying with us. I appreciate your comments about our staff and the cleanliness of our hotel. The cleanliness of the hotel is a top priority here. Thanks again for choosing Hampton Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We recently spent the night here on our way home from a weekend motorcycle trip. The room was clean and comfortable and quiet. The amenities in the room include a flat screen TV, 'frig and microwave. There's a pool (which we didn't take advantage of, but many others were). Breakfast was of high quality, hot and plentiful. My only complaint is the lack of signage indicating the location of the hotel. It's located just off the interstate, however there are no street level signs indicating the location. After driving by the hotel, twice, (it's located off the main drag behind a dominoes and some other business) we finally looked up and noticed the sign which is at a height to be seen from the interstate, but not street level. Maybe if we'd been in a car it would have been easier to locate.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darrell D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Abingdon, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for your kind comments. We appreciate having guests such as yourself. Sorry about the lack of signage, but Town ordinances dictate what we are permitted to install. I hope you can return to stay with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevierville, Tennessee, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Both my husband and I live and work in a tourist town. I worked in the tourism industry for 9 years and my husband is in city government for over 34 years. We KNOW tourism and the value of hospitality employee impressions on our visitors. With this being said, we do NOT recommend this hotel.

We frequent Abingdon one or twice a year. Our first trip to Abingdon approximtely three years ago on Memorial weekend we stayed at this hotel and again this past Memorial weekend. The first time we stayed, the hotel front desk staff were unfriendly and seemingly disinterested. They gave the impression they were doing US a favor by being guests in their hotel. The cost for that stay was fairly reasonable, about $100 with tax and our room was on the first floor with a king bed. Their rooms are clean with decent amenities, i.e. flat screen television, small frig and microwave, clever bathroom vanity but not separate from the shower and toilet and very comfortable beds. It's not the rooms, it's the staff. This last stay the cost was almost $150 (with tax) for a room with 2 queen sized beds on the second floor wayyyy at the very back of the hotel making it a very far walk from the elevator. With that being said, it made it a lot harder to stomach the front desk negativity this hotel is now famous for with us. This time there was a crowd at the front desk and a very distraught mother with a slew of adorable kids with swimsuits and floaties on anxious to know why the pool was closed. I felt so bad for them!! The lady behind the desk kept telling them it was closed until tomorrow, etc. She took forever to straighten the issue out. She obviously was not well informed by management...couldn't find the key to the gate after finally finding out she could, in fact, open the pool. What a mess! Here we all are standing...waiting and waiting and waiting. Hilton owned hotels have not been a good experience for this family, but this was really the straw that broke the camel's back. It's Marriott's for us from here on out...just signed up for their frequent stay program. Oh, I forgot to mention that the breakfast was awful as usual, no surprise there. One positive breakfast experience...there was a really, kind and sweet little lady cleaning and waiting on customers. She was genuinely sweet and helpful.

Room Tip: Really, don't stay here if you don't have to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bwaldroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darrell D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Abingdon, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
I am very sorry you had a dissapointing experience at our hotel. Obviously from the other posted reviews your experience was an exception to what most guests experience. Our hotel pool always opens on Memorial Day weekend as it did again this year. Our hotel has only 68 rooms and three floors, with the distance from the elevator to the end of the hallway measuring only 135 feet. I am sorry the additional distance was an issue for you, but I can honestly say we have never had this particular complaint before. We pride ourself on exemplary service as evidenced by our hotel's first quarter 2012 earning of the Hampton Wall of Fame Award. This award is given to the Hampton Brand's hotels ranking in the top 15% of Guest Service Scores combined with Hilton's own Quality Assurance audits. Once again I apologize for what you perceived to be an unpleasant stay at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

I was on business and stayed at tis locatin again, desk staff great, love that they have an older gentleman to help with unloading, loading, even an umbrella offered due tosevere weather. The breakfast Hostess always keeps food, fresh and ready for guests be @ 6am or 10am....she is great!! Know when in the area, this is were I will stay. Close to interstate, food and shopping.

Room Tip: all rooms good, never an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrissysBluMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darrell D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Abingdon, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
I sincerely appreciate your comments. Lee is a real people person and loves taking care of guests. In fact he won the "Spirit of Hampton" award a few months back for his excellent guest service. This award goes to less than 1% of Hampton employees world wide.

Thanks again for being our guest and we look forward to having you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012

I stayed at the Hampton Inn, Abingdon four years ago and thought it was a good experience. I was wrong. My wife, mother-in-law and I stayed there on Sunday night and found that we had a great experience. We made our reservations on the road as we headed north from Chatanooga. We were warmly greeted when we arrived and both of our rooms were clean and well-kept. We received great suggestions on where we could eat on a Sunday night in Abingdon when many restaurants were closed and thanked the desk clerk for his excellent dining suggestion upon our return from an enjoyable meal. Breakfast the next day wowed my wife and mother-in-law who could not believe the quantity and quality of food laid out for guests. All of this made for a very good experience for us until greatness struck. My wife realized upon our return home that she had left one set of clothes in the closet in our room. She called down and was told, "Yes, we have your clothes and we will send them up to you." Two days later UPS delivered them to our door step. Now that is the kind of service that qualifies this hotel for a five-star rating of excellence in my judgment!

Room Tip: We stayed on the side towards I-81 (where I has stayed previously) and could hardly hear any highway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paisleigharies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darrell D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Abingdon, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
Thank you so much for your kind comments. I am exceptionally proud of our staff and we love having guests such as you!! We all hope you can come back and stay with us again soon. Thanks again for choosing our hotel!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
0.8 mi away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 10 in Abingdon
178 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Abingdon
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 10 in Abingdon
180 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol
17.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Abingdon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Abingdon

Property: Hampton Inn Abingdon
Address: 340 Commerce Dr, Abingdon, VA 24211-3807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Abingdon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Abingdon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Abingdon is conveniently located off of I-81 in the historic town of Abingdon, Virginia. For the duration of your stay, enjoy a free hot breakfast each morning along with complimentary high-speed internet while you take in the local charm. Stroll through the town. Meet local artists and even watch as they work in their studios. Sample vintage wine at the Abingdon Vineyard and Winery, or enjoy the scenic trails and sights of the Cherokee, Jefferson or Washington National Forests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Abingdon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Abingdon Hotel Abingdon
Abingdon Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing