We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hometown surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hometown surprise”
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Abingdon is my hometown but I had never stayed here while visiting from TX. The recent updates were obvious and the rooms/property were very well-maintained. Staff members were also friendly. My only "complaint" is $167 for a room at the Hampton is more than I have paid for rooms during previous stays at Embassy Suites, Homewood Suites, and Hilton Garden Inn. While my stay was wonderful, the rate may prevent me from staying there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oliviadwedel79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    145
    47
    12
    11
See reviews for
125
150
23
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
Level Contributor
306 reviews
259 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We stayed here for one night before doing the Virginia Creeper Bike Trail. The hotel is located next to I-81, but off a bit so you don't get much highway noise. It's only a 5 minute or less drive into the center of Abingdon, where there are fine dining opportunities. Our room was located on the end away from the interstate, and I would recommend this to make sure you don't get any highway noise. The room had been recently refurbished and was very comfortable with all the trappings of the newer Hampton Inns. The staff were friendly, breakfast was fine, and they have a nice pool area which is well equipped. Overall, an above average Hampton Inn, and a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Get a room on the side farthest from I-81.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lchjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san Antonio, United States
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Great hotel. Excellent staff and facility. Very friendly and competent. Bent over backwards to insure we enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was ok, not the greatest but it was free and not too bad. Easy on off from expressway and a good bargain

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This was a very nice place to stay in a location which could not have been more convenient for someone just passing through to spend the night. The room was smaller and a bit more spartan in its furnishings than the best Hampton Inns I've been at, so that kept it from getting a 5th star, but I would definitely return if I were passing through again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobthatsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We just stayed a week at the Hampton Inn at Abingdon, Va. The rooms have been recently renovated and are quite lovely and relaxing. The staff is very helpful and pleasant. We would stay here again when we are in the area. I was pleasantly surprised even though the hotel was full most nights, there was very little noise coming from TVs or young children so you don't hear your neighbors. We had a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the even side of the hotel are a bit quieter, not as much road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapin, United States
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We stayed here as a family due to its proximity to Damascus, as our family was there to ride the Virginia Creeper trail. The check in experience was exceptional. The staff was extremely helpful in finding dining options. The rooms were clean and well apportioned. They were in the process of replacing the carpets in the hallways, so things were obviously in renovation mode, but it did not take away from our stay. The only complaint was that the security lights in the parking lot were not functioning, presumably due to construction.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeLand, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

This hotel was conveniently located to family fun. The rooms are nicely appointed, and the bathrooms are very nice and roomy. Everything was very clean and well stocked. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We cycled the Virginia Creeper Trail, located about 20 minutes away from the property. We would stay in the Hampton Inn again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
0.8 mi away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 10 in Abingdon
175 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Abingdon
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 10 in Abingdon
179 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol
9.7 mi away
Courtyard Bristol
Courtyard Bristol
#2 of 13 in Bristol
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Abingdon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Abingdon

Property: Hampton Inn Abingdon
Address: 340 Commerce Dr, Abingdon, VA 24211-3807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Abingdon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Abingdon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Abingdon is conveniently located off of I-81 in the historic town of Abingdon, Virginia. For the duration of your stay, enjoy a free hot breakfast each morning along with complimentary high-speed internet while you take in the local charm. Stroll through the town. Meet local artists and even watch as they work in their studios. Sample vintage wine at the Abingdon Vineyard and Winery, or enjoy the scenic trails and sights of the Cherokee, Jefferson or Washington National Forests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Abingdon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Abingdon Hotel Abingdon
Abingdon Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing