We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Excellent customer service and did all they could to make sure remodel did not inconvenience. Hotel clean easy access to where i needed to be. All staff member were excellent, spoke when you walked by and ask if they could do anything for you. Excellent staff during my stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Carol L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

367 - 373 of 488 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

Great location right off I-81. Our room had two nice queen beds, eating table with two chairs, built-in desk with chair, closet, fridge and microwave. Nice sized room with plenty of space. Everything is clean and fresh. Our second floor room overlooks the pool. Front desk staff is very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was plentiful and good. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonia719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darrell D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Abingdon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thanks so much for your kind words about our hotel and our staff. We would love having you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The rooms are newly renovated & are great with built in cabinets, desk, & closet. They are still re-doing the lobby. I had to bring suitcases in on the luggage cart. Many of the employees helped me since the floors are uneven in the lobby. A tip - the best handicapped place to park is next to the pool. There is an easy entrance to get into the hotel from there.

If you are considering this hotel vs. the Hampton Inn in Bristol (both on I-81). The Abingdon one has restaurants close & Bristol does not. Abingdon is 16 miles further north than Bristol.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank puddning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darrell D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Abingdon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Thank you so much for choosing our hotel for your stay in Abingdon. We are very pleased with our renovations and hope to have the lobby completed within the next few weeks. Please stay with us again when you visit our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Lobby was in complete shambles; sounds of floor work could be heard throughout the hotel. Walking surfaces were unsafe. No notification was given to occupants communicating that effort was due to start. When I approached the desk staff to ask about how long this effort was supposed to last, I was given a short answer of...I dont know. I cancelled the rest of my stay, and checked into a different hotel. Very frustrating, especially considering how much I stay in Hamptons, Hiltons, etc. Did I mention that I found a pubic hair on the floor in front of the toilet, when I first checked in!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darrell D, General Manager at Hampton Inn Abingdon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

I'm sorry your stay with us wasn't a pleasant experience. We are trying our best to accommodate all our guests as we work through the last phases of our renovation. Contrary however to your comment, the fact that we are under renovation is posted on our website, on every door as you enter the hotel, inside the elevator and there are two signs at the front desk. All renovation activity that has noise associated with it is stopped at 5 p.m. and does not start in the morning until after 10 a.m. Once again, I apologize for your unpleasant experience as we try to finish our renovations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Newly renovated hotel. Just renovated this year. Breakfast is sufficient. Orange juice too strong. Apple juice is my choice. Would stay here again when in the area. Not easy to get into during rush hour due to traffic and only one exit to the motel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed at the Hampton Inn in Abingdon in order to bike ride the Virginia Creeper Trail. (Which was so much fun!) The hotel staff were very courteous and helpful. We noticed that some of the staff were older, and very hard workers. Ms. Jackie, who took care of all the breakfast items, wore a smile on her face all the time. Lee, from hotel maintenance, was able to advise several places in and around town for us to see/do during our stay. Initially, the room rate was going to be about $140/night, but the clerk was able to charge us only $105/night when we elected to stay 2 nights instead of 1. We were unaware of "incidental" charges that would be charged to our debit account once we checked out, so I called & talked with Amanda, who was very helpful & assured me that the "extra" charges (about $35) would be credited to me once the final bill was processed. Our room was new (remodeled) with a very comfortable bed with duvet cover. The only downside was the air conditioning unit was a bit loud and there is no way to run it intermittently. It had to either be on or off. Also, the mini fridge in the room came on intermittently, and it was a bit noisy. The pool was very nice. The hot breakfast included in our stay was great! I highly recommend this Hampton Inn!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

This hotel is literally a block off of I-81 and only one mile from downtown Abingdon. It's nothing to write home about, but it's an affordable hotel in a good location - the service was good, I didn't feel that the beds were very comfortable and when we got to the breakfast at 8am, they were out of most things, overall it gets a solid 3/5.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LGBTtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
0.8 mi away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 10 in Abingdon
189 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Abingdon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Abingdon
210 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 10 in Abingdon
191 reviews
9.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Abingdon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Abingdon

Address: 340 Commerce Dr, Abingdon, VA 24211-3807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Abingdon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Abingdon
Price Range: £65 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Abingdon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Abingdon is conveniently located off of I-81 in the historic town of Abingdon, Virginia. For the duration of your stay, enjoy a free hot breakfast each morning along with complimentary high-speed internet while you take in the local charm. Stroll through the town. Meet local artists and even watch as they work in their studios. Sample vintage wine at the Abingdon Vineyard and Winery, or enjoy the scenic trails and sights of the Cherokee, Jefferson or Washington National Forests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Abingdon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Abingdon Hotel Abingdon
Abingdon Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing