We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay at a wonderful hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Abingdon
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Nashville, TN
9126
Reviewed 2 February 2005

My husband travels for business quite a bit and always stays with Hampton Inn. I had very little experience with them so I was very pleasantly surprised by real luxury of this hotel.

We stayed here for one night while traveling in January of 2005. The hotel is right off the interstate in Adingdon so it is very easy to locate.

The lobby area is very clean and well appointed, looks much more luxurious than one would expect for the $63.00 we paid for a 2 queen room.

The check-in was fast and friendly.

Our room was spotless, well appointed with nice TV (lots of stations), microwave, refrigerator, iron and ironing board, and hairdryer. The bath was quite large and comfortable.

The breakfast was quite wonderful. Eggs, sausage, bisquits, yogurt, fruit, bagels, toast, english muffin, fruit muffins, milk, tea, juice and superior coffee all complimentary and refreshed regularly throughout the morning.

Checkout was easy through their automated system. I did it on the TV in about 2 minutes. Merely leave your keys in the room.

We did a little exploration in Adingdon, which was founded in 1778, and found there is a great deal to it once you get away from the interstate. There are some lovely local shops in Colonial period buildings. There is a world famed local theatre, the Barter Theatre, from which Gregory Peck was an alumni. They put on a variety of plays throughout the year. There are also some nice local resturants, both fancy and down home, from which to choose. We highly recomend you drive through the town just to admire the architecture if nothing else.

All in all we were very pleased with Abingdon and highly impressed with the Hampton Inn. It is a steal for the tremendous quality you receive. We will happily stay with them again in future.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

500 - 503 of 503 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2004

Unless someone convinces me otherwise, I'll never stay anywhere else in Abingdon. My sister and I went during the Virgnia Highlands Festival and still got a great rate. Where else could you find a hot and cold breakfast that is supervised by The Three Sisters who look out for your every need? Seriously. Let's see, the breakfast includes sausage biscuits, biscuits and gravy, fruit medley, cereal, hot chocolate, instant oatmeal, eggs, croissants, bagels, toast, low and high octane coffee, hot teas, juices, milk...okay, that's enough. You get the picture. The water pressure in the shower and bath was wonderful, the toiletries included shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, eye makeup remover (I've never had that before anywhere) and of course the body and facial soaps and showercap. Our two queen beds had fantastic mattresses and they provided two extra pillows in addition to the two for each bed--and all the pillows were very cushioney. We didn't have time for the pool but we sat out at night and the ambiance was very nice. I never heard the normal bleeding through from the rooms next door at all. For those who want a bar in the hotel, the Hampton Inn didn't have one, but they were abundant in town. And the Hampton was VERY close to Main Street. Please, don't waste your time going anywhere else. Side note: We had dinner at The Tavern and it was fantastic. As we were leaving, the bartender decided to give my sister "the arbitrary free gift" of a beer mug. A+ for everything.

7  Thank bitshull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2004

I stayed at the Abingdon Hampton Inn about a year ago. It had been recomended by some former co-workers. The room was outstanding and the staff was very friendly and helpful. I'm now a big Hampton Inn fan and have stayed in their facilities all across the country . I'd have to say this facility and the Hampton Inn Syracuse Airport in NY are the two best motels I have stayed in in easily the past 20 years. Hope they keep up the good work!!!

  • Stayed: January 2003, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank maryanddave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Екатерина Н
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
2.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Abingdon
0.8 mi away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 10 in Abingdon
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Courtyard Bristol
Courtyard Bristol
#2 of 14 in Bristol
437 reviews
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#5 of 10 in Abingdon
215 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 10 in Abingdon
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Abingdon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Abingdon

Address: 340 Commerce Dr, Abingdon, VA 24211-3807
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Abingdon
#3 Romantic Hotel in Abingdon
Price Range: £79 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Abingdon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Abingdon is conveniently located off of I-81 in the historic town of Abingdon, Virginia. For the duration of your stay, enjoy a free hot breakfast each morning along with complimentary high-speed internet while you take in the local charm. Stroll through the town. Meet local artists and even watch as they work in their studios. Sample vintage wine at the Abingdon Vineyard and Winery, or enjoy the scenic trails and sights of the Cherokee, Jefferson or Washington National Forests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hampton Inn Abingdon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Abingdon Hotel Abingdon
Abingdon Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing