We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cleanest motel for the money!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpine Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alpine Motel
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Abingdon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cleanest motel for the money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Was very surprised at the cleanliness and upgrade of the room. Very friendly and accommodating owners!! Beautiful country view. We will definitely stay there again! We were there during the week so it was very quiet and peaceful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blountjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    77
    41
    10
    8
See reviews for
32
60
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

This is how a motel should be laid out. Park in front of the door to the room, all on ground level. Nice big room, plenty of space. Very clean, comfortable bed. Pretty grounds, nice location. Coffee in the room would be a nice addition, and should be there as the rates are reasonable, but not cheap. Just right!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kcmotornut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pineville, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

The Alpine Motel is my kind of place. It is an actual motor hotel. You can pull your car up to your room. It is up on a hill above and away from the hustle and bustle of the interstate and most of the noise of heavy trucks. The view from every room is like a postcard of the Tennessee Valley off toward Mount Rogers in the distance. It is clean and well maintained. There are not a lot of amenities but the essentials are solid. In a quick review I see one bad review and lots of others like mine that praise this place. I spent 20 years chasing disasters as a contract inspector so I have stayed at practically every place imaginable. This is the kind of place that road warriors wish they could find at every stop. The clean well kept reasonably priced motel run by real people with real lives. I no longer travel for a living but my wife and I like to come to plays at the Barter Theater. We stay at the Alpine as a treat. Stop wondering and give it a try. If you are a reasonable practical person you will be very happy at the Alpine.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

I was very nervous about staying here because of the mixed reviews, but we checked in and it was fine. The room was clean - smelled of bleach when we checked in - and very spacious. As others have said, there are no extras - two people get two bath towels, two hand towels, two wash cloths.(Some hotels give you four or more of each.) The towels were not what you would call plush, but they did the job. Bring your coffeemaker, coffee, hairdryer and shampoo. Our TV was restricted on the volume, which was a bit of a problem for the hard of hearing spouse, since the AC was very loud. The continental breakfast is your choice of frosted flakes or bran flakes and a pre-packaged pastry. But for the price, it was fine. It is very convenient to the town. The rooms were clean and quiet. I felt safe. We stayed two nights.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Catfish008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Based on others reviews I decided to stay at the Alpine Motel; it was right off 81,drove right up to my room; desk employee very helpful; The motel is tucked up on a little hill so you can sit on the chairs outside your room and see a beautiful view of the Va. mountains; room large,clean and modern. Only a continental breakfast,no coffee in your room, very minimal, but for these low prices what do you expect? I wish all my stops on my trip could have been as pleasant as this one.

Room Tip: all rooms face a lovely pasture; the rooms to the back of the motel will be quieter and also border...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank finddebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
92 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

Skip this motel. Tripadvisor rejected my first review as they felt I was accusing the motel of misrepresenting the reviews! Tripadvisor is simply waning if it again rejects this as people need the truth about places to stay, in order to use the Tripadvisor site! This was a dreadful place. Don't know how it got any stars. There were stains on my sheets and the walls. Very unfriendly manager or owner. Just awful and I could not wait to leave in the morning. Tripadvisor, really, let people advise each other if you want this to be a viable site and useful to travelers.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackBlack1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

This is a great place to stop if you can't afford the Martha Washington and want a clean pleasant place to stay in Abington. Convenient to Interstate but not too noisy. We'd stay here again any time. The price was right $59 +tax

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abingdon hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 9 in Abingdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 9 in Abingdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#9 of 9 in Abingdon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#2 of 9 in Abingdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
3.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 9 in Abingdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Motel

Property: Alpine Motel
Address: 882 E Main St, Abingdon, VA 24210-4415
Region: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Alpine Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Motel Abingdon
Alpine Hotel Abingdon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing