We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, lousy continental breakfast”
Review of Alpine Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alpine Motel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Abingdon
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here pror to going on the Creeper Trail. It is as previous reviews have said. The room is large, qujiet and clean. This is a retro motel from the 60's that is disappearing. The only complaint I really have is the breakfast served is poor. They had a toaster and bread but nothing to put on the toast; no butter or jam. I thought the price was slightly high for what one got. If you want a retro style motel that is clean and comfortable then this it. Forget the breakfast though.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Edward65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 195 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

Booked the Super8 online, got there and the room was not big enough to turn around. Smelled musky and was not clean. Stopped by the alpine just to check it out . And loved it ,rooms are huge with a micro and fridge ,and the beds were actually comfortable .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Connie705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three days in late August and it's just a great little place. I had found it during an earlier business trip and brought my wife back to bike the Creeper Trail and go to the Barter. I travel a lot for business and often stay in the Three H's which are okay for the purpose, but lack any character like found at the Alpine. It's close to everything, but feels like you are staying out of town. Huge, clean rooms, great view and very quiet. And you can't beat the price compared to the charges down the hill at the hermetically sealed national chains. We will be returning in October for biking and fall colors. Bring a hair dryer if you need one as there isn't one in the room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My family is from Abingdon and we have stayed at the Alpine for all reunions, weddings, funerals etc. It is family owned and they are very nice and you can tell they take pride in their motel. As everyone says the rooms are spacious and clean. It does have the retro motel feel and the views from the mountains at sunrise are spectacular. It is very close to town for the Barter Theater, shopping and dining. For the price the motel is great, I'm not worried about hair dryers and you can always get extra towels. As long as the Alpine is in business, we will be straying there.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanne455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Small and clean, the place has surprisingly large rooms with microwaves and refrigerators. Judging by the granite stacked by the ice machine, the owners have renovations underway. My room had already been done with both vanity countertop and the tub surround. Two double beds, desk and television made this a surprisingly complete room for the price.
The grounds are very clean and neat as well. Morning provided wonderful views to the east.
Breakfast service is extremely sparse. There are plenty of dining options close by, a few even withing walking distance -- though there are no sidewalks.
Definitely on my list for returns to the area. About half the price of the major chains but lacking only in hot breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adl55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

My wife and I have stayed at this old style motor motel on two separate occasions in 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay each time. I am about to book my third stay in this nostalgic little motel straight out of yesteryear.
The location - superb! Off the main highway but set back a long way so it's very quiet; road traffic noise barely discernible.
The view - magnificent! We sat on the provided lawn chairs enjoying the quiet beautiful grounds while sipping our wine on three separate evenings and it was truly peaceful.
The room - Huge. Comfy beds. Sparse in amenities but it has everything you need. Plenty of hot water with good water pressure. TV worked well.
The breakfast - Coffee, juice, cold cereal and a prepackaged pastry. Spend a few bucks and go out to breakfast.
The price - For the cleanliness and size of the room and the quiet beautiful location; this motel is an outstanding value. The BEST thing about this motel is it's location. It's convenient, safe, quiet and the view can't be beat!
We come to Abingdon to ride the Creeper Trail, have dinner and take in a show at the Barter Theater. If you plan on spending a lot of time in your room this is not your best choice.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Room was HUGE. Can't believe how spacious it was. Had a nice field in front so it was nice to sit out there in the evening and wind down. Appears to be that the owners may be replacing sinks, floors or something. For the most part was clean. Had a stain on one blanket of one bed which just grossed me out and one of the walls needed a good wipe down but no bugs or random hairs anywhere. The owner who checked us in needs a lesson on hospitality. The coffee in the lobby SUCKED! I'd stay there again but may look for another Mom and Pop hotel nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mommajd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abingdon hotels
1.9 mi away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#6 of 10 in Abingdon
188 reviews
4.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 10 in Abingdon
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#2 of 10 in Abingdon
480 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Abingdon
Red Roof Inn Abingdon
#10 of 10 in Abingdon
110 reviews
3.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Abingdon
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Motel

Address: 882 E Main St, Abingdon, VA 24210-4415
Region: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Abingdon
Price Range: £50 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alpine Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Alpine Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Motel Abingdon
Alpine Hotel Abingdon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing