We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality Plus!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abingdon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
River Garden Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 16 Abingdon B&B and Inns
Etowah, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hospitality Plus!”
Reviewed 27 April 2013

From the moment we were greeted at the door of the River Garden B&B, we knew that we were going to enjoy our stay. Paula, our host, made us feel like we were old friends coming back for a visit. All of the cozy bedrooms have doors leading out to the porch where you can sit and enjoy the scenic beauty of the North Fork of the Holsten River. Breakfast each morning was delicious and Paula never missed an afternoon without a special surprise sweet. The River Garden B&B is a "must stay" if you are visiting the city of Abingdon, VA.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 277Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    8
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
51
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Concord, North Carolina
Level Contributor
134 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We've stayed here twice and really love it. Paula was a very attentive, down-to-earth host, and we loved being on the river feeling like we were in the middle of nowhere. The breakfast was delicious, and we loved the homemade afternoon cookies. The bed was very comfortable and I loved the duvet so much I found one like it for my bad at home!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank grave_seeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

We enjoyed every minute of our stay at River Garden. Paula is a great hostess and a terrific cook! River Garden is a few miles out from Abingdon, but the peaceful setting makes up for the extra drive. Breakfast on the deck overlooking the river is pure heaven. Small wonder she has a lot of repeat business. One couple who was there at the same time took a little float trip down the river...We'll have to try that next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindasay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

My husband and I chose to stay at the River Garden B&B for my birthday in June, 2012. We were looking for a relaxing place and couldn't have chosen better. The views were spectacular!! Joe caught 3 fish ~ which he, of course, returned to the river. I spent my time swinging and reading while Joe fished. We've stayed in a number of B&Bs and Paula is by far the best hostess we've met. Our room was so roomy and comfy and the breakfast was to die for. We'll definitely plan to stay there again on our next trip to Abingdon. Joe & Carol, Knoxville, TN

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BearlyCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We were in town to see a couple shows at the Barter Theatre following our 20th anniversary. We originally had the Barter Room for 2 nights but a mistake was made and it turned out that our second night, it had already been booked and we had to agree to the Abingdon Room, not on their website. At first we planned to take our first night in the Barter Room, but after seeing the Abingdon Room (which was available both our nights), my wife preferred not to have to move.

The Abingdon Room has a nice bed, an antique armoire with plush robes, etc., nightstand and some small endtable and chair. But it's pretty packed in there and there's not much room to unpack - just enough lateral room for a small suitcase on the floor but not much more. The bathroom is pretty small too, but it's adequate. We didn't use the deck but the view was nice and private.

Although the bedrooms are a bit tight, there are a number of common areas of the house that are spacious - enough room for a pool table, theater seating and projection TV, a sunken den, etc. There was an exercise room too (which we should have used! It was packed pretty tight too), and Paula provided bottled water in a fridge downstairs (the tap water has a slight but noticable sulfur odor - it's probably well water, as the B&B is situated in a rural area).

The real star of this B&B is the host, Paula Hine (probably her husband Scott too, but he was out of town; Paula's mom was there and she was really nice too). Paula simply could not be a nicer, more down-to-earth person. She provided all kinds of unexpected surprises (of the edible and drinkable variety!) and kindnesses during our visit, particularly when my wife suffered an injury on the VA Creeper Trail. She showed great compassion and concern, offered icepacks and OTC pain reliever, and that feeling of not going it alone really helped in a tough time. Her cooking is top-rate, too.

Travelers should be aware that this B&B is located a good 10 mi/ 15-20 minutes outside of town. We felt it was worth it - we enjoyed our stay with some high quality people, enjoying wonderful food and a comfortable bed in a quiet location.

Room Tip: The Abingdon Room is not pictured on the website; it is upstairs and only has a walk-in shower, no t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cspan37421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at River Garden B&B for 4 nights during April 2012 and fell in love with Paula, our hostess and owner. Our room was very comfortable and the views were awesome. Paula made us feel like family and her breakfasts were sooooooo good. We will be back again soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TennesseeKitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

First, we are a couple in our mid-late 30's. This was an amazing place to enjoy our wedding anniversary, from the river front scenery and sounds to the wonderful hospitality provided by Paula and her family. We enjoyed excellent meals prepared and served by Paula and a movie night for the wife and I, viewed in the relaxing theatre in large reclining chairs. We took a bicycle ride at the Virginia Creeper Trail on Friday, relaxed in the hot tub with mixed drinks to end the night. We then treated ourselves to a couples in room massage after a delicious breakfast on Saturday. Afternoon shopping in Abingdon and a great dinner to finish of the day. A new restaurant you must try ------->
128 pecan on Pecan Street in Abingdon, great food and friendly staff.
Staying at the River Garden is a must if your spending the weekend in Abingdon, Paula is truly one of the finest cooks around. We will most certainly spend another weekend at this wonderful bed&breakfast. Matt & Holly, Knoxville, Tn

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MattandHollyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
6.3 mi away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
7.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 10 in Abingdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#2 of 10 in Abingdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 10 in Abingdon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
6.5 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Abingdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
16.2 mi away
Millsap-Baker Estate
Millsap-Baker Estate
#4 of 5 in Damascus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Garden Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Garden Bed and Breakfast

Property: River Garden Bed and Breakfast
Address: 19080 N Fork River Rd, Abingdon, VA 24210-4560
Region: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the scenic bank of the North Fork of the Holston River, nestled in the foothills of the picturesque Clinch Mountains and just outside historic Abingdon, Virginia, The River Garden is a place where you can feel at home away from home. With only 3 guest rooms, we provide you with the personal attention you deserve. Each comfortable room has an interior door for access to the inn and a private exterior door which opens onto a covered deck. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
River Garden Hotel Abingdon
River Garden b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing