We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed great, tub drain lousy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Abingdon VA
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Abingdon
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    109
    113
    55
    39
See reviews for
148
99
58
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Clintwood
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I have never written a negative review for anywhere, but this is well deserved! I also know that this was a cheaper hotel, but I have stayed in many Super 8's and never had these problems.

Arrived to an indifferent staff member who wouldn't even acknowledge I was at the counter (2 ft away from him) until he was done typing whatever he was typing and then didn't even bother to look at me when he said, "help you?" He gave me my room key and told me how to get there, but didn't bother to give me any other information regarding breakfast times or anything else. I got to the room and was disappointed to find that it was in a state of bad disrepair. The carpet looked like it was the original and was flattened to the floor and badly faded and stained, with holes. The bedspread was also badly stained and there were cigarette burns on it. I removed that immediately. The refrigerator was so noisy, I unplugged it altogether. The room had a musty odor to it. There was a creepy centipede looking bug on the ceiling which I killed immediately, and I assumed would be the only one I saw, so I didn't freak out too much at that point. There was a light layer of dust on the old box television and cobwebs in the corners of the bathroom. However, the sheets and the bathroom appeared to be clean and I needed to get some sleep for an early conference the next day, so I stayed. I was lucky I woke up naturally, because the alarm clock failed to go off. THEN- I saw another one of those creepy crawly critters. This time, I took a picture. Then another one appeared. Then the forth one made an appearance. I was so creeped out!!! I got ready as fast as possible and got out of there! I had a bowl of cereal in the lobby before heading out (one of the few options, there were two types of cereal, apples, and gravy and biscuits. That was it.) I told the lady at the counter about the bugs when I checked out and she seemed somewhat amused at me. What a terrible experience!!!! I would never ever go back if someone paid me to!

Room Tip: Go to another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
96 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

we got there a 9 pm. sheri at desk was super friendly. little older in bathroom but was super clean. smelled good. brkfast was small but good good. staff excellent. highly reccomend if u are looking 4 a deal

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This was the cleanest and nicest room I have stayed in in years. The bed was the most comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. The desk clerks were warm and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

Just needed a place to stay, not hang out. It was clean and had everything we needed. Lots of pillow of varying softness, not sure is that is intentional. Beds were very comfortable memory foam or something like that. Coffee in lobby was good and always there. No problems with internet booking through price line.

It is right of the highway and somewhat noisy but with window closed, didn't bother us.

5 mins from historic Abingdon fur shipping and restaurants, and right next to supermarket, Kmart, gas, car wash and more fast food choices that anyone could need.

Great value and I will include this as a chain I would use again of course after reading these reviews carefully as I'm sure they vary be location. That is how I ended to here in the first place after all.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Smartabano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abingdon hotels
2.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 10 in Abingdon
175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#2 of 10 in Abingdon
445 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 10 in Abingdon
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
1.8 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Abingdon
203 reviews
2.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Abingdon
Red Roof Inn Abingdon
#9 of 10 in Abingdon
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Abingdon VA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Abingdon VA

Property: Super 8 Abingdon VA
Address: 298 Towne Center Dr, I-81 Exit 17, Abingdon, VA 24210-3251
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Abingdon VA 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is under new management since Aug-2014 and has done major renovation which includes, new bedding, new bathrooms, new flat screen TV, new carpet, new drapery, etc. We are located right in the center of the town of Abingdon, VA ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Abingdon VA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Abingdon Hotel Abingdon
Super Eight Abingdon
Abingdon Super 8
Abingdon Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing