We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My first time at a Bed & Breakfast and I was treated like a Queen”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abingdon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black's Fort Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 16 Abingdon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
CHARLOTTE
2 reviews
“My first time at a Bed & Breakfast and I was treated like a Queen”
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Prior to our trip I researched places to stay and kept on coming back to Black's Fort Inn. I am so glad that we selected this B&B and we were able to experience such a beautiful home! We stayed downstairs and loved every moment! Very clean and only the best of towels, and bedding. Breakfast was just an experience of it's own and very well catered to our needs.

We will be back next year!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auntieof112009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
68
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burnsville, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2011

If you are looking for a B&B that offers a warm and welcoming place to stay the Black's Fort Inn is the place to go! Cindy goes out of her way to make you feel comfortable and pampered even down to having a luscious dessert waiting for you in the evening. You should stay there just to experience her breakfast! The rooms are welcoming and clean, we had a wonderful time. And if you are a horse lover this is the place to stay - Cindy would love to introduce you to her beautiful horses. All this within walking distance to the VA creeper trail and downtown Abingdon. Thank you Cindy and Jimmy we had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rksmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at this B&B for an anniversary. We chose Black's Fort for the convenient location close to downtown and the great rates, but we loved it because of the owners! Jimmy and Cindy make you feel welcome and right at home.
The rooms are comfortable and beautiful..ours even had it's own private porch. The bed was so comfortable I had a hard time leaving it in the mornings!
And let's talk about the breakfast...!
Cindy is an awesome cook! No wimpy continental fare here..you better bring a hearty appetite with you to the table, cause she serves up real food!
We highly recommend Black's Fort Inn!

Room Tip: Upstairs bedroom has it's own private porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladydoc1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reidsville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Each year my daughter and I plan a trip together to celebrate her birthday. This year we chose Abingdon, Virginia, a charming historic town. We had the pleasure and opportunity to stay at Jim and Cindy Patterson's beautiful Bed and Breakfast, Black's Fort Inn. Such a lovely place. Pond filled with ducks, a cascading waterfall followed by a soothing stream of water, beautiful flowers, and of course Cindy's pride and joy, her beautiful horses. You could see all this on their spacious back porch. The bedrooms were wonderful with the most comfortable pillows and mattresses! My bedroom was connected to a sunroom - fabulous! Cindy just absolutely spoiled us with her delicious and creative breakfasts each morning. Missing that apple bread already! Upon arrival, Cindy had on the table, waiting for us, fresh baked cookies! Delicious! Black's Fort is located about two minutes from historic downtown Abingdon but it was so quiet and peaceful you would think you were miles away from the town. On top of everything else, Cindy makes her own candles, owner of The Dixie Candle Company! What can I say - they smelled so good I bought "several". Thanks Jim and Cindy for a wonderful and memorable stay!
Pam McLain and Kelly Watkins, Reidsville, North Carolina

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catlettsburg, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2010

This is one of the most scenic places we have ever stayed. Beautiful grounds with large pond filled with Canadian geese, Gypsy Cobs, Long Horn steers. The room was well appointed with some of the most comfortable bedding and pillows I have every slept upon. There was a sun room, cozy fireplace, and I have not even mentioned the food---wonderful southern cooking, the Biscuits as big as softballs, yummy breakfast fare, cakes, cookies, nut breads---and of course there are CINDY AND JIMMY our hosts--humor, manners, and an obvious dedication to service. WONDERFUL place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carriagegal59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
0.3 mi away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#2 of 10 in Abingdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 10 in Abingdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Abingdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 10 in Abingdon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black's Fort Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black's Fort Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Black's Fort Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 410 Green Spring Rd, Abingdon, VA 24210-3238
Region: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Black's Fort Inn is truly a very unique Bed & Breakfast. Our property looks as if we are out in the country but we are right in the middle of town situated on nine acres with sculpted hills, lots of trees and rolling hills. We are able to provide our guests with privacy as most of our Bed & Breakfast is designed for that purpose. Our pond is nearly an acre and has a waterfall where the water cascades down over the rocks makes the most soothing, relaxing sound, creating one of the most peaceful settings in the world. The outdoor balcony is very spacious and inviting overlooks our farm, pond and waterfall. The pond also serves as a habitat for several species of wild fowl and if you can relax long enough you can see the Canadian Geese fly in and land on the pond for their rest before leaving the next morning.Our outdoor balcony is very spacious and inviting. It overlooks our farm, pond and the lovely waterfall. We have a second porch that is equally spacious including a grape arbor that winds up at a cozy covered porch with the perfect view of our waterfall. Our guests tell us how peaceful and beautiful our property is.I love to cook for all of our guests and one of my most famous & favorite breakfast dishes requested is our "Cat Head" Biscuits & Gravy.Such wonderful memories are made here, and we make so many nice friends. All of the priceless memories we have of each of our guests make us so happy that we can share our beautiful place with our wonderful guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing