We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An outstanding experience.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abingdon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black's Fort Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 16 Abingdon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kissimmee, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An outstanding experience.”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Stayed at Black's Fort during the week before July 4th. Cindy and Jimmy couldn't have been better hosts. The suite was private, roomy, and very clean. The bed was unusually comfortable. The property is a small working farm. There are several horses, cats, and a big, friendly, Lab named Pepe. It was quite pleasant, in the evening, to sit on the balcony, munching on Cindy's homemade cookies, watching the horses and the lightning bugs while listening to the waterfall. We had three homemade breakfasts. Each was quite different, and each was delicious. Finally, Cindy is a font of information and assistance concerning the attractions around Abingdon. We have visited many B&B's. Our stay at Black's Fort Inn was among the very best we've experienced.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beelup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
68
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2013

My husband and I stayed here for our 39th anniversary.The Inn was immaculate-clean.The Inn grounds were breath taking.There is a beautiful rushing water falls in the back of property that you can see from the balcony.The most beautiful Gypsy horses are grazing outside your window.We had a private lovely porch to sit and relax and enjoy Gods nature.The atmosphere comes with 2 warm and welcoming down to earth Hosts, that make you feel like family.It is a country feel just outside the beautiful town of Abington.The location is perfect.It is right next to the Tavern restaurant and also the creeper trail.We would recommend the Inn highly.This couple works very hard to please you and the breakfast is awesome.I hope to visit again.Thank you Jimmy and Cindy Patterson.God Bless and continue to use you for his Glory.You were a blessing.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcellaoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weaverville, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I stayed here while I was in town recently researching a couple of magazine stories and couldn't have been happier. My rooms provided a quiet place to work, and I also enjoyed working on the back patio while watching the cows in the field across the way. The from-scratch breakfast were an excellent start to the day (oatmeal pancakes with maple syrup), and innkeeper Cindy Patterson was a wealth of information for me. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank paulfromasheville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotteville, Tobago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Stayed there this past weekend with my kids. perfect place for us. Rooms, linens & facilities were clean and neat. The food was great - REAL butter, Real Maple syrup, real OJ - etc. The best part were the owners - sweet, kind county folks doing their best to keep the homestead going. They made my girls feel welcome - showed off their horses. had some warm peppermint chocolate cookies for them the night we arrived. The house is about 100 yds from the Virginia Creeper trail - and as a runner - it was one of the nicest trails I had ever been on. My daughter said - "this is like staying at a grandma's house...except not our grandma's house." Hope to get back there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My husband and I enjoyed Ms Cindy's wonderful tea and cookies upon arrival. We just sat on the veranda swing overlooking the farm lands after a great day on the VA Creeper Trail.
The breakfast spread was fantastic. All home made and locally or home grown foods- fresh and flavorful. She really is a good. The stay was relaxing.
Thanks for the hospitality.

Room Tip: We stayed in a queen bed room and we are used to a King. The room was charming and had it's o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrisville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Cindy is a gracious hostess who is extremely accomodating of dietary restrictions, flexible on serving time for breakfast, and makes her guests feel at home. We were there for 4 nights, and there were no repeats on breakfast dishes, which I must say were all delicious, prepared with high quality ingredients, and best of all, a healthy dose of love. If time and circumstances permit you to do so, I highly recommend a tour of the barns and a visit with Cindy's gypsy horses. The grounds are well maintained, the porches are the perfect place to kick back and relax, and the pond and waterfall provide a tranquil respite. If you are a hiker or biker, the inn is very conveniently located a short distance from the Virginia Creeper Trail. Cindy's husband Jimmy is equally as friendly, and will also do his best to accomodate your needs.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Meadow Suite, which was very spacious, and included a mini fridge that was stocked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holly Springs, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2013

It has taken me too long to write this review. My husband and I had a delightful two night stay at this wonderful inn last fall. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and the food and hospitality could not have been better. It is a lovely, peaceful setting and the welcoming atmosphere is so appreciated. I strongly recommend that you schedule a visit at the Black's Fort Inn--you will be glad you did. Thanks Cindy!
Cindy, our lemon mint you gave us is thriving in our garden--thank you. We hope to come back soon.

Room Tip: We had the Waterfall Suite and it was very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Abingdon
0.3 mi away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#2 of 10 in Abingdon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 10 in Abingdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#4 of 10 in Abingdon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 10 in Abingdon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
9.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Bristol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black's Fort Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black's Fort Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Black's Fort Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 410 Green Spring Rd, Abingdon, VA 24210-3238
Region: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Abingdon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Black's Fort Inn is truly a very unique Bed & Breakfast. Our property looks as if we are out in the country but we are right in the middle of town situated on nine acres with sculpted hills, lots of trees and rolling hills. We are able to provide our guests with privacy as most of our Bed & Breakfast is designed for that purpose. Our pond is nearly an acre and has a waterfall where the water cascades down over the rocks makes the most soothing, relaxing sound, creating one of the most peaceful settings in the world. The outdoor balcony is very spacious and inviting overlooks our farm, pond and waterfall. The pond also serves as a habitat for several species of wild fowl and if you can relax long enough you can see the Canadian Geese fly in and land on the pond for their rest before leaving the next morning.Our outdoor balcony is very spacious and inviting. It overlooks our farm, pond and the lovely waterfall. We have a second porch that is equally spacious including a grape arbor that winds up at a cozy covered porch with the perfect view of our waterfall. Our guests tell us how peaceful and beautiful our property is.I love to cook for all of our guests and one of my most famous & favorite breakfast dishes requested is our "Cat Head" Biscuits & Gravy.Such wonderful memories are made here, and we make so many nice friends. All of the priceless memories we have of each of our guests make us so happy that we can share our beautiful place with our wonderful guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing