We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Weekend of 2013”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Abingdon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black's Fort Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 16 Abingdon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My stay here was amazing! Cindy & Jimmy made us feel welcome and shared so much history of the area.The rooms are beautiful and clean. The food was scrumptious (stuffed french toast, pumpkin pancakes oh and did I mention the three cheese eggs :) and the hospitality was out of this world! I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2013

My husband & I love staying @ Black's Fort Inn when we ride the Virginia Creeper Trail & visit the Barter Theater!!! It is a lovely setting & VERY conveniently located. The breakfast is COMPLETELY made-from-scratch & fabulous!!! The innkeepers are very friendly & professional, but the atmosphere is not "stuffy". We will definitely return again!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolLawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We had a wonderful time at this cozy, comfortable b and b. We had wonderful food and fun times with Cindy, the wonderful cook. A great time right beside the Virginia Creeper Trail. We enjoyed watching the horses, chickens, geese and wild birds that added to this relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kristen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My husband and I had a quick business trip & decided we would try a Bed & Breakfast stay for the first time! We picked the right place to start with Black's Fort Inn. Cindy & Jimmy made us feel welcome and shared so much history of the area. The room was clean, comfy and that feeling of home!! Wish we had more time to have stayed! Cindy even made special "veggie" breakfast dishes to accommodate my husband's healthy diet!!!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Shirley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Terrific location for Virginia Creeper Trail, Barter Theater, bike shop and Olive Oil Company store. Innkeepers are super friendly and accomodating. The breakfasts were tailor made to suit individual needs and were out-of-this-world fresh and delicious. We will go back!

Room Tip: Ask for the "suite" if you want 2 bedrooms and a kitchen. It is easily accessible on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at this B&B for an anniversary. We chose Black's Fort for the convenient location close to downtown and the great rates, but we loved it because of the owners! Jimmy and Cindy make you feel welcome and right at home.
The rooms are comfortable and beautiful..ours even had it's own private porch. The bed was so comfortable I had a hard time leaving it in the mornings!
And let's talk about the breakfast...!
Cindy is an awesome cook! No wimpy continental fare here..you better bring a hearty appetite with you to the table, cause she serves up real food!
We highly recommend Black's Fort Inn!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BLUEDUECE222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Stayed at Black's Fort during the week before July 4th. Cindy and Jimmy couldn't have been better hosts. The suite was private, roomy, and very clean. The bed was unusually comfortable. The property is a small working farm. There are several horses, cats, and a big, friendly, Lab named Pepe. It was quite pleasant, in the evening, to sit on the balcony, munching on Cindy's homemade cookies, watching the horses and the lightning bugs while listening to the waterfall. We had three homemade breakfasts. Each was quite different, and each was delicious. Finally, Cindy is a font of information and assistance concerning the attractions around Abingdon. We have visited many B&B's. Our stay at Black's Fort Inn was among the very best we've experienced.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beelup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abingdon hotels
0.3 mi away
The Martha Washington Inn and Spa
0.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Abingdon
Hampton Inn Abingdon
#2 of 10 in Abingdon
503 reviews
0.4 mi away
Summerfield Inn
Summerfield Inn
#7 of 16 in Abingdon
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Abingdon, VA
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 10 in Abingdon
193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Super 8 Abingdon VA
Super 8 Abingdon VA
#6 of 10 in Abingdon
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black's Fort Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black's Fort Inn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 410 Green Spring Rd, Abingdon, VA 24210-3238
Region: United States > Virginia > Abingdon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Abingdon
Price Range: £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Black's Fort Inn is truly a very unique Bed & Breakfast. Our property looks as if we are out in the country but we are right in the middle of town situated on nine acres with sculpted hills, lots of trees and rolling hills. We are able to provide our guests with privacy as most of our Bed & Breakfast is designed for that purpose. Our pond is nearly an acre and has a waterfall where the water cascades down over the rocks makes the most soothing, relaxing sound, creating one of the most peaceful settings in the world. The outdoor balcony is very spacious and inviting overlooks our farm, pond and waterfall. The pond also serves as a habitat for several species of wild fowl and if you can relax long enough you can see the Canadian Geese fly in and land on the pond for their rest before leaving the next morning.Our outdoor balcony is very spacious and inviting. It overlooks our farm, pond and the lovely waterfall. We have a second porch that is equally spacious including a grape arbor that winds up at a cozy covered porch with the perfect view of our waterfall. Our guests tell us how peaceful and beautiful our property is.I love to cook for all of our guests and one of my most famous & favorite breakfast dishes requested is our "Cat Head" Biscuits & Gravy.Such wonderful memories are made here, and we make so many nice friends. All of the priceless memories we have of each of our guests make us so happy that we can share our beautiful place with our wonderful guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing